We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Had a dinner with close friends and I must admit I didn't know how affordable it was to have buffet dinner there. The service was good and the food wonderful​. For a hotel so long in the business I can understand why they have survived this long. Keep up the good work

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank chubbywubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Trinidad to find the hotel we actually booked in had lost our booking but they were going to pay for us to stay in another hotel. We had been travelling for 3 days almost solidly at this point and were exhausted.
When we arrived at reception there was noone behind the desk, we could see someone in the office but we were waiting a good 15 mins for them to come out and attend to us.
Once we arrived in the room I found the windows covered with pretty bad blinds, and people could see into the room if they tried. There was a door leading to outside, which could be unlocked from the outside as well. You could not lock the bedroom door properly and there appeared to be damage where it had been forced open before.
The walls were dirty, with bugs splattered and then left, and what looked like drinks stains down them. The bathroom had mould on the tiles.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank vixfalk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I was part of a group which had many rooms booked and was sharing a 3 bed split level room in the original hotel block with my kids. The bathroom and tub had mildew and the mattresses and sheets were literally the thinnest that I've ever experienced in a hotel. Breakfast buffet was fine and the restaurent area was very pleasant although the staff was not overly friendly - far different from the front desk staff who were good. I noticed though that there was no help with bags on checking in- I delivered one elderly guest very late at night and he was simply given vague directions to a room in another block but no assistance was offered to him. I was not pleased. However on day 3 We were moved to a new block and the improvement was . These rooms were standard size and configuration, clean, well appointed. and furnished as one expects from a mid-level hotel. It also looked into a pretty courtyard. Normandie is well close to cultural sites and convenient for families and business travelers alike, with a top restaurent next door (Chaud). There is little else available in that St Anns area though so guests need their own transportation or willing friends.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank KiminGranCouva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Stayed for the weekend. The staff was polite, but I thought the room was ridiculously outdated. It seemed to me that the only thing which was updated was the lock on the door to allow the use of a card key.

I thought that there was so much potential with this hotel, but simply very little attention paid to creating a great atmosphere. (an elevator) Larger beds, a small refrigerator in the room, upgraded television, better water pressure. Small things which would make a big difference

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area if you need quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations N, Manager at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Lisa-Marie G,

We are grateful for your feedback and regret that the room selected was not to your expectations. The Hotel Normandie has several room types and we are quite certain that we do have one to match your likes and needs. Only six weeks ago, we completed a new wing of rooms that is geared towards the group traveler, so we would encourage and hope that you might visit with us again.

Thank you.

Ray Chin Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Whenever I get a weekend or time off from work like to do something with my sons and after a wonderful time for my birthday the year before, I decided to bring my children. A quite hideaway is what I call the Normandie. No distractions from the busy street, a quite time at the pool, comfortable and clean rooms and environment, reasonably priced dinner and wide and tasty variety for breakfast topped with friendly and courteous staff. Additionally, it's only a few minutes away from the zoo, botanical gardens, down town Port of Spain and a variety of other places to visit which also includes movie town. My children ranges from 21 years young to 11 years young and they were not bored and had a fantastic time.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Meldrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations N, General Manager at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. At the Normandie we enjoy having families visit us because they bring so much energy and cheer, and it means a lot to the staff that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We continue to add to our offering to make your next visit more memorable, like our recently renovated rooms which have living rooms and boutique style bathrooms, to create relaxed and tranquil environments. We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ray Chin Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
322 reviews
2.2 km away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
686 reviews
3.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
3 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Nook Ave 10 | PO Box 851, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: RM455 - RM613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between the rain forest and Queen’s Park Savannah, Hotel Normandie features 70 rooms, 6 meeting and conference rooms, an outdoor swimming pool and bright, attractive accommodation. Just 1 Km from the Savannah and 3 Km from Ariapita Avenue, at the end of The Nook Normandie manages to relax you with its tranquil surroundings. Each stylish, air-conditioned room and suite at The Normandie has colourful décor and includes a coffee/tea station, cable TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi; some of the rooms include a refrigerator. The Normandie also has a restaurant that offers a continental/international breakfast and an Italian flavour for lunch and dinner, a 24-hr front office, 24-hr security, complimentary parking, a concierge, a spa, and provides a tour desk and the only pilates studio in Trinidad through our in-house partners, Island Experiences and Madeleine Miller Pilates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normandie Hotel And Conference Centre
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing