We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Mamre(Maraval)
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$94
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
The Chancellor Hotel(Port of Spain)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$139
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapok Hotel(Port of Spain)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$131
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
US$164
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
2
2
2
3
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
2
3
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

During my stay this carnival season it was DEFINITELY an experience to remember, For beginners there is NO taxi service there available for when you need it. If you want the hotel to call a taxi for you, it's 5tt per minute. YES!!! YOU the guest have to pay the hotel for them to call you a cab. The phone in the room did NOT work, the tv had TWO channels (mind you it's supposed to be cable). We killed two roaches, one when we checked in on the FIRST DAY and one a day later. Just do yourself a favor and don't stay here. You'll be pissed at the money you spend for the service that is rendered to you.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Manda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan345, Public Relations Manager at Royal Palm Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

I am sorry to see that you have placed such a negative review of the Royal Palm Hotel, despite our best efforts to help all guest during that very stressful carnival period for the hotel industry, where our occupancy was almost 100%

Because of the high occupancy, management took the decision not to open any phone lines and all phone calls had to be paid for in advance.

We do not have an in-house taxi service and have never advertised having this facility. Sometimes taxi drivers may choose to park on the compound with the hope of getting business. Guests can also obtain local taxis for free on the road outside of the compound.
We DO NOT HAVE CABLE television programming. Only Satellite. On Monday, we were made aware that the Satellite system went down on part of the property and we had a technician fix it within 24 hrs.

We had back to back reservations and it was a very stressful period especially for the housekeeping department. Only one guest told us about the satellite and we promptly attended to it. That guest was not you.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous to all the guests and it would be nice to be appreciated rather than deriding all of their efforts.

I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, but management was on the compound during the entire period, and if you had problems and complaints, it would have been more professional to address them to management, rather than complaining on trip advisor after the fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My friends and I had stayed here over the Carnival weekend and we were completely dissatisfied by what we saw upon entering. The room was dirty and the bathroom was even worse. It was indeed a task to take a shower there! The toilet tank cover was broken and there were cracks on the walls! The aircondition was very obsolete and noisy! I do not recommend that anyone stays here no matter how desperate you are!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MAC_92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Where do i start. i stayed at this hotel during a business trip for 2 weeks and it was horrible.

after the first night i was ready to leave. but was unable to get a refund from the manager regardless of the reasons i stated. instead she moved us to a bigger room but it was still a mess.

1. the rooms are dirty and are not regularly cleaned. cleaning for this place is changing towels and making up the bed. the floors are dirty. rooms has a mouldy stuffy smell. my toilet leaked and a container was put under it to catch the water.

2. sleep quality terrible. the night staff was noisy. 1 in particular used a bug zapper all through the night and kept me awake. the sound of drilling also kept me up most of the night.

3. definitely not worth the price i paid for a room. this hotel serves 1 purpose. i observed that no one stayed more than a couple hours when i was there.

i could go on and on but i prefer to let pictures do the talking

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clutches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan345, Manager at Royal Palm Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

I am sorry that you had to degenerate into word slinging, but there is always two sides to every coin.

You were given kitchen facilities for which you were not charged.
The rooms were serviced by housekeeping daily.
Unfortunately there was a leak in the bathroom and we offered to move you to another room, but you said you were comfortable and prepared to wait for the plumber to fix same the next day.

The leak was fixed the next day.

You never indicated you had any further problems.
You were out working everyday and was in no position to judge who our clientele were and what business they came to transact. Therefore libelous statements will not be encouraged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Booked for 6 nights but didn't even stay for one. Our rooms were absolutely filthy, mould in bathroom. Filthy carpet, broken window and furniture and dangerous light fittings. This was a hovel and I would recommend anyone not to stay at this hotel. Any websites featuring this hotel to book would be wise to remove it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janee_winters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan345, Manager at Royal Palm Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

The hotel has been upgraded in 2010 with a new roof and new room upgrades. Most of the rooms contain tiled flooring with a pleasant decor.

Its location is very central and very safe and very lively.
It is clean and comfortable with satellite television programming.

We welcome one and all to view and visit our premises to see the upgrades yourself.
While not a 5 star hotel, it is clean, comfortable and provide basic and friendly service to fit the budget-minded guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

appaling , I could write a book about the awful hotel . It has had no upgrading since it was built many many years ago . No service , awful breakfast , noisy area+++ , noisy old-fashioned air-con ,it made "faulty Towers " look luxurious !!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank taffyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan345, Manager at Royal Palm Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

The hotel has seen continued upgrades over the years and extensive upgrades have been carried out between 2010 and 2011. Upgrades continue and will continue from day to day.
New air conditions have been installed.

We offer a full breakfast which consists of eggs/ sausage/ ham/ bacon/ toast/ fruit/ butter/ jam/ coffee; tea; juice

The breakfast varies depending on the guests we have at any one time. Eg...we may offer a local fare of bake and buljol etc

We try to offer breakfast according to the guest preference, taste and culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews