We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal family vacation house”
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture Newly renovated Kitchen breakfast nook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Newly renovated Kitchen breakfast nook
Fully equipped kitchen
Newly renovated Master with bath ensuite
Newly renovated Master  2 with bath ensuite
Master bathroom ensuite
Covered alfresco dining with amazing view
Private beach with seating and 2 kayaks
Chalk Sound view
Private beach
Outdoor dining with outstanding views!
Flat screen TV in beautifully appointed LR
entrance to main house
Powder room main house main floor
Cottage 1, twins convertible to King with bath ensuite
Cottage 2, twins convertible to king with bath ensuite, open plan kitchen and living ro
Cottage 1 open plan with veranda and stunning view
2nd cottage bath ensuite
Cottage 1 bathroom ensuite 1
Cottage 1 open plan kitchenette and diving room and veradah with views
Cottage 2 with bed, bath, kitchen, living room and terrace
Cottage 1 open plan with veranda and incredible view on the Sound
Bright entrance
Outdoor dining, loungers, covered veranda, BBQ, pool and views
Relaxing poolside
2nd cottage, main house and pool view from vantage of 1st cottage
View of main house and 2nd cottage from beach
Your outdoor chef!
Kayaks come with your rental
Taylor Bay beach, a 3-4 minute walk from Bright Idea
Location Map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bspagna
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal family vacation house”
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our family (5 adults and 3 children) just returned from a one week vacation spent at Bright Idea. Having never visited Turks and Caicos, we chose this villa based on limited reviews and limited options (due to late planning).  This villa, while having minor shortcomings, was nearly ideal accommodations for us.

Throughout the planning and stay, we primarily interacted with the gracious property manager, Basia. From the start, she was friendly and welcoming, always conscientiously addressing our needs and issues. There was initially some confusion about the owner's desire to only rent weekly from Sat-Sat, but Basia ultimately resolved it to book our rental from Mon-Mon.  She provided for all of our requests and had an escort, Myrtho, meet us upon arrival at the airport in order to lead us in our 2 rental cars to the villa.

After a short 10 minute drive, we pulled into the secluded driveway to arrive at the villa.  Upon exiting the cars, we walked up some stairs to stand on the deck of the pool, overlooking the stunning turquoise waters of Chalk Sound.  This initial experience creates quite a positive impression.  Myrtho led us into the main house, explaining all protocol regarding the rental.  Don't worry if you're too mesmerized by the view to pay complete attention, as all pertinent is contained in a well organized binder.  He gave us a full welcome tour and left us to get settled.

The villa itself is pretty well described in the internet listing.  Essentially, it is a comfortable home, well appointed for accommodating 8 people.  Highlights for us were 1) the well stocked kitchen (could use sharper knives), 2) the gas grill and outdoor dining table, 3) the clean, refreshing pool, 4) the private beach with 2 kayaks, and 5) the separate cottages with ample amenities. Lowlights for us were 1) uncomfortable king bed in the main house 2) lack of light-blocking shades in all bedrooms 3) lack of an outdoor water source for rinsing bodies and gear, 4) worn outdoor lounge chairs, and 5) the malfunctioning Internet router which resulted in poor, infrequent connection.

During our stay, we had to call Basia for two issues, which she promptly addressed.  Initially, the water in the shower of the westernmost cottage was yellow due to a lack of recent use. Myrtho came out and flushed the tank, and we had no subsequent problems. The other issue was the Internet router, which Basia first had serviced and then completely replaced. While it worked for a day or two, the last couple of days we resorted to going to Turtle Cove to the Green Bean Cafe (an absolute gem!) in order to get connected.  We did not call Basia, who undoubtedly would have addressed it, purely because our stay was almost over.

As for the location, we found it perfect. We liked the seclusion of being on Chalk Sound, a purely residential area.  Thankfully, we enjoy cooking our own meals and eating at home (even on vacation) because essentially all restaurants are a minimum of 15 minutes drive away.  We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the pool and at the private beach as well as kayaking on the sound. The beach at Taylor Bay is a short walk away and is an idyllic scene, rivaling any other on the island.  Regarding safety and security, we never experienced anything to give us cause for concern.  The fact is that the island is fairly small, and most of what a traveler would want to experience is but a short drive away.

We'd like to share a few of our additional favorites of what the island offers.  The main grocery store, Graceway IGA, which is about a 15 min drive away, has everything you need, albeit at somewhat inflated T&C prices. The wine shop on the way back from the IGA has a surprisingly extensive international selection of wines as well as beer and liquor (the local Bambarra rum is probably the best value). Keep in mind, a case of beer is outrageously expensive ($40 for local Turks Head, $60 for Heineken).  Da Conch Shack is a sweet spot on the beach to grab some tasty fritters and rum punch. The snorkel park at the Coral Gardens is a tame shore launch to see some beautiful, healthy coral and a variety of local fish in Grace Bay.  Provo Divers was a respectable dive operator with a great staff, boat, and rental gear.  In town on the way to the airport, local fisherman sell fresh-caught grouper and snapper out of coolers on the side of the road - they'll even fillet them for you.  You won't be disappointed!  

Certainly, Providenciales offers plenty to pursue, and Bright Idea offers the perfect base to either launch your adventures or simply relax. Bright Idea was unquestionably the right fit for our family. Although it is somewhat isolated, we were seeking that experience for this vacation.  Full-time rental cars are essential, but as summed up by my 10 yr old niece, "I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else."  After some careful thought, we'd all have to agree.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2013
Thanks to Bill and the Spagna family for this wonderful review.

Bill, the owner is coming on island next month. I have copied her your review so that she can reflect on addressing the 'uncomfortable king bed in the main house, the lack of light-blocking shades in all bedrooms, some sharper knives, the lack of an outdoor water source for rinsing bodies and gear and the worn outdoor lounge chairs'.

Please know that I deeply appreciate your opinion and your thoughts as they will assist in making Bright Idea an even better rental than she is now!

As for the internet, unfortunately, this was a service provider problem as WIV had a main terminal go down, causing lots of problems in the Chalk Sound area. I'm so glad you found Green Bean!

And just so you know, the owner has been doing lots of updates to the villa and I know she has more planned for March, so we are quite excited about that. I have no doubt that she'll take your thoughtful comments to heart. :)

Bright is, as you say, a wonderful property. And we were delighted to assist in any way possible to make your vacation in Provo one to remember. You are now part of the Tranquility family and we look forward to welcoming you 'home' again.

Wishing you all the best for 2013, I send you fond regards. Basia,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeleak
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It just wasn't for us.”
Reviewed 23 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We did not enjoy our stay here. The difficulty in reviewing a property is that so many things are subjective, dependent on the experiences of the traveler and that is certainly the case here. To be fair, some issues we have with the property are not the fault of the owner and are just part of the Turks & Caicos experience, I suppose. I will try to be as objective and fair as possible.

First, the good things, or, at least the things which were true to representation. It was very private. The view from the rear of the house is great. The exterior landscaping is beautiful. It is, relatively speaking, very moderately priced compared to other places I looked at. I was able to book it late when nothing else was available. The water around the Island was the most beautiful I have ever seen. Taylor Beach, across the road, is spectacular and secluded. I thought the property management was extremely responsive to complaints and helpful. There is a great restaurant only 1/4 mile down the road. The Island as a whole had a lot of very good restaurants.

Now, the things that made our stay not so great. Upon check in, you are instructed on the use of the security system. Part of the security system are "panic buttons" which are recommended to be with you at all times on the property. You are instructed to use them if you see something that makes you uncomfortable. You then sign lengthy waiver forms pertaining to third party criminal acts. I think it is commendable that the owner/manager place so much emphasis on security. It really doesn't, however, make you feel secure. Because of the villa's seclusion, you feel vulnerable. It is more than a little disconcerting. It doesn't help that within 1/2 mile of the villa are some of the worst parts of the Island, which you must drive through each time you want to go anywhere.

The kitchen is serviceable, but it is by no means "gourmet." The living room is cramped and the furniture very uncomfortable. The beds and pillows in the master are in serious need of replacing. The pool was green the entire time we were there, so the kids (girls, ages 12 and 15) didn't use it at all. Though the property manager had the pool company out several times, the condition couldn't be fixed. Water pressure in the showers is almost non-existent, as is hot water. Luke warm is the best you get. On a couple of days, there was no water at all for periods of time due to outages. I take it that the water problems are not the fault of management or owner, just part of Island life. I will add that property management was responsive to complaints, there was just nothing that could be done besides waiting it out.

If your kids want to do any activity (parasailing, snorkeling, etc...) you must make a 20-30 minute drive to the resort areas. If you want to eat anywhere else other than the one restaurant on Chalk Sound, or at the house, you must drive 20-30 minutes. This was why the property really didn't work for our kids.

To sum it up, though this house was moderately priced, we did not believe it to be a value. It is by no means a 4 or 5 star accommodation, maybe 2 1/2 at best. If you want a secluded vacation in which you cook all but one or two of your own meals, sit on a secluded beach, or sit on a patio overlooking Chalk Sound with your panic button in hand, this property is for you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2011
My regrets in the lapse of time between the posting of this review and my reply, but I was flighted off the island April 6th for emergency surgery and am only now back on my feet.

Bright Idea is a wonderful villa and is generally one of my most problem free. Unfortunately, the fates conspired during this guests' visit, presenting us with a mechanical pool failure, the parts for which were unavailable on island. Despite every effort, we could not bring the pool under control. The clients received a partial refund as a result.

In addition, while water pressure at Bright is great, the service provider was upgrading their system during this guests' stay; a problem above and beyond our control.

As per the balance of the review, I will agree that villa rental is a subjective experience. Pool and water pressure aside, I must take reflect on some 'observations' made.

In any country, one will find high and low economic areas side by side. That does not, however, make the latter "some of the worst parts of the island." Economically challenged, yes. To suggest, however, that one is vulnerable in a proximal villa rental as a result is both an unfair and untrue categorization; a comment that I have no doubt that the hard working residents of Five Cays would take grave exception.

As for the stated drive of 20-30 minutes to join in any activities held on Grace Bay, I can, without hesitation, declare the comment as overstated. There is a 10-12 minute ride to get to Turtle Cove or the Gansevoort from Bright Idea, as an example, and an 15-18 minute ride to get to the one of the furthest points - Coco Bistro for dining, as an example.

I do, however, understand buyer's remorse. This was a last minute booking. When I spoke to the client, I stressed her privacy as I always do when there are children included. You'll note that while we had another property available right in the middle of the 7 mile stretch of Grace Bay with a higher per night price, Bright Idea was chosen.

Finally, with respect to the security waiver form, it relates to the use of the alarm system. This waiver originated as a result of multiple false alarms by renters, creating high penalty charges for the owners. It explain use of the system, the obligation to cancel false alarms, and includes general safety suggestions that are based on logic and common sense.

Bright was, and remains, one of the most popular honeymoon and family rentals. She underwent planned renovations and upgrades in April, when the owners were onsite, with particular emphasis on the creation of a large private beach. New pictures will be taken and posted at the end of the present family rental.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Reviewed 3 June 2010 for a stay in April 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: right on the water
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you 'home' again soon. The staff send fond regards. Basia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$849
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing