We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!”
Review of Concha Woncha Tours - CLOSED

Concha Woncha Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turks and Caicos Premiere Land TourEnjoy a delightful historic tour of Providenciales in the cool comfort of air conditioning. In just over 3.5 hours, you will tour our world Famous Conch Farm, meet our famous conchs "Sally & Jerry", enjoy a native dance and cultural show, visit the beautiful Chalk Sound National Park, and have native lunch at the island hot spot Da Conch Shack
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Concha Woncha Tours was the perfect choice for a 3-4 hour land excursion. Our hotel desk clerk called Desmond, the tour company owner and tour guide for us, put us on the phone, and we made our reservations by credit card. The next day, the air-conditioned trolley picked us up at our hotel, and away we went! Desmond's energy, enthusiasm and pride about his island home were evident, as well as his good humor and bubbly personality.
Rum punch was offered throughout the tour, which stopped at several points of interest. First, the Caicos Conch Farm, which had an informative tour, and where we purchased some beautiful conch shells to take home for family gifts.
Then, Desmond took us to the Turks and Caicos Cultural Center, where we listened to a very interesting presentation about the island's culture and music, and Desmond even got up to play the ripsaw with David, the presenter, on guitar. It was horribly hot in the room (that place could have used air-conditioning!) but it was still a rewarding visit. Next stop was Chalk Sound, a national park with water that is the most fantastic color of green-blue, it glows! Absolutely amazing. Finally, we went to Da Conch Shack, a local eatery right on the beach. The location was gorgeous, the epitome of a tropical haven on the beach. The food was great, as were the rum punches (all included in your tour price),
and then after lunch, there was a demonstration on the beach of how they removed the conch meat from the shells. I bought another gorgeous shell there, and off we went, back to our hotel. Honestly, I jokingly said, "Can't you just leave me here on the beach?"... Truly a great way to spend part of your day. To get to all those places ourselves would have involved renting a car, and a lot of stressful driving on the left, which we were not up for doing. I highly reccomend this tour, and Desmond is the greatest. He saw us walking in town the next day, and went out of his way to come over and say hello. Truly friendly and warm, like all the locals we dealt with in Providenciales. I know you will enjoy the tour, and meeting him!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank NadiaS394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2015

This tour was just right for us. It's a great way to learn about the island and the people while taking a little rest from the water activities. Desmond was super and made you feel like family! The Conch Farm and the Cultural Center add to your Provo experience. It was on the expensive side but so is everything else on Provo! We are very happy we took this tour. It adds to your overall experience of one of the most beautiful places on earth!!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I thought this was a very good and informative tour. We were picked up at the front lobby of our hotel and immediately handed a very good cup of rum punch. It was definitely the best batch I had of it all week. The tour guide Desmond was pointing things out constantly and a perfect combo of interesting and funny.

The first stop we were taken to the conch farm, which was pretty interesting and great for pictures

The tour proceeded to a cultural show in a smaller hotel. This tour would be the only way you would be able to see it. It was full of artifacts and stories about the island.

The tour continued onto a great scenic photo spot, before ending at a local restaurant for a lunch and a conch shell removal demonstration.

We were alittle apprehensive because of the higher price, but once you realized the cost of entrance to the conch farm, our lunch, the unlimited rum punch and water, the money given to the cultural guide, the bus driver, bus itself, a free photo, etc, it really breaks down to a very fair price. Very glad we decided to take the tour.

Date of experience: May 2015
4  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

A wonderful tour with Desmond being very informative but also entertaining. The Conch Farm was excellent as well as the other stops.

1  Thank Love2photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2015

What a great tour! Not too long, very informative, relaxing and most of all fun! You're picked up and dropped off right in front of your hotel. Skip the pool and beach for a day and explore more of what this beautiful island has to offer by taking this tour. You won't be disappointed! You'll learn a little bit of history, enjoy a great meal and a little (or a lot) of rum punch which was NOT watered down and you'll meet some new friends in the process. And guess what, you'll still get to enjoy the sun! Desmond, the tour guide was GREAT! I went on my birthday and Des and David Bowin at the culture center, sang happy birthday to me! WHAT A GREAT TIME!

Date of experience: April 2015
5  Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Concha Woncha Tours also viewed

Leeward, Providenciales
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing