We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Recently, my husband and I had our dream wedding on St. Croix. We stayed at Tamarind Reef Resort and have nothing but great things to say about their accommodations, amenities, and wonderful staff. Cathy is one of the assistant managers, and she helped us plan our wedding from beginning to end. She gave guidance on getting our marriage license and helped us find the perfect location to get married on the beach. With the ocean, Green Cay, and Buck Island as a backdrop for our nuptials, I must say it was quite beautiful. Cathy arranged the officiant, florist, photographer, hair stylist, and she was even one of our witnesses. It was a magical week and we couldn't have done it without Cathy's help. As another perk, she upgraded us to the oceanfront honeymoon suite....which was awesome! We loved having a room where we could hear the ocean, feel the tropical breeze, and see the beautiful turquoise waters of the Caribbean. We loved it! Thank you, Tamarind Reef, for your wonderful hospitality. We'll be back again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lv2snorkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017

Nothing pretentious here. Large, comfortable rooms on the ocean. This is not a "resort" hotel with room service, beach service, etc. Nice place on the ocean with a great open air restaurant/bar, and good beach. We felt more in touch with the island and culture in this place verses a larger, more luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We were recently at the Tamarind for a couple of days and enjoyed it greatly. The high point was the large room with plenty of space to relax and we had a great view of the ocean. The on site bar provided a good breakfast (for a reasonable cost).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BruceMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights early in May and we loved it! The room was huge- would be great for those with kids. The view from our room was gorgeous (see photo) and I believe it is the same view for all of the rooms.

Room Details: Great size, lots of storage areas, locked safe in the closet, small but nice bathroom. Amazing view with chairs outside to enjoy. Beautiful fresh flowers were on the table to greet us. Only complaint: King size bed needs a new/better mattress. Definitely been used for a while and therefore quite sunken in.

Resort Facilities: Lots to enjoy. Fitness center was quite nice, with decent machines and weights for those who like to lift heavy. Pool is right on the beach-such a beautiful view. Water sports including Paddleboards, Kayaking, and Snorkel Gear were free, easy to access and even more fun to use.

The Restaurant: Was pretty tasty. Simple menu, but tasty. The wings are delicious. Order them dry, b/c they marinate them for 48 hours and are so tasty. Breakfast was great with awesome coffee! Service was great. Everyone was so friendly- including staff and guests.

Overall: I definitely recommend this hotel/resort. It's relaxing, inviting and allows you the freedom to roam about the island while still having a safe and great place to come home to while visiting.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

The highlight of the hotel was the view. The view of Buck Island and Green Cay was beautiful. I really enjoyed the views and the breeze on the balcony. I would consider the rest of the hotel to be average to good. The room was large in size; however the furnishings were a bit outdated.

The beach was on the small side, though while we were there we never saw more than a few other people on it so there was no issues with crowding. The beach was not suitable for swimming as there was lots of rock and coral; however it has plenty of lounge chairs suitable for sunning and covered areas great for lounging.

My biggest disappointment with my stay was the lack of general customer service. The gentleman that checked me in barely spoke a word to me. When staff would pass us on the grounds they didn’t speak to us. The only hotel staff that exuded good customer service were the grounds crew. They greeted us every time we walked by. They were very friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JumeirahJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
5.3 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
216 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,427 reviews
17.1 km away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
6.2 km away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: RM692 - RM1,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing