We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$179
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
US$311
US$265
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$133
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,124
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
98
97
25
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
97
25
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep endgreen caybingo nightbuck islandpaddle boardsst croixbar restaurantrooms are largefish tacossnorkel gearlaid backsea urchinsfun activitiesscreen doorgreat view of the oceanthe beach is niceeast end of the island
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Nothing pretentious here. Large, comfortable rooms on the ocean. This is not a "resort" hotel with room service, beach service, etc. Nice place on the ocean with a great open air restaurant/bar, and good beach. We felt more in touch with the island and culture in this place verses a larger, more luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We were recently at the Tamarind for a couple of days and enjoyed it greatly. The high point was the large room with plenty of space to relax and we had a great view of the ocean. The on site bar provided a good breakfast (for a reasonable cost).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BruceMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights early in May and we loved it! The room was huge- would be great for those with kids. The view from our room was gorgeous (see photo) and I believe it is the same view for all of the rooms.

Room Details: Great size, lots of storage areas, locked safe in the closet, small but nice bathroom. Amazing view with chairs outside to enjoy. Beautiful fresh flowers were on the table to greet us. Only complaint: King size bed needs a new/better mattress. Definitely been used for a while and therefore quite sunken in.

Resort Facilities: Lots to enjoy. Fitness center was quite nice, with decent machines and weights for those who like to lift heavy. Pool is right on the beach-such a beautiful view. Water sports including Paddleboards, Kayaking, and Snorkel Gear were free, easy to access and even more fun to use.

The Restaurant: Was pretty tasty. Simple menu, but tasty. The wings are delicious. Order them dry, b/c they marinate them for 48 hours and are so tasty. Breakfast was great with awesome coffee! Service was great. Everyone was so friendly- including staff and guests.

Overall: I definitely recommend this hotel/resort. It's relaxing, inviting and allows you the freedom to roam about the island while still having a safe and great place to come home to while visiting.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

The highlight of the hotel was the view. The view of Buck Island and Green Cay was beautiful. I really enjoyed the views and the breeze on the balcony. I would consider the rest of the hotel to be average to good. The room was large in size; however the furnishings were a bit outdated.

The beach was on the small side, though while we were there we never saw more than a few other people on it so there was no issues with crowding. The beach was not suitable for swimming as there was lots of rock and coral; however it has plenty of lounge chairs suitable for sunning and covered areas great for lounging.

My biggest disappointment with my stay was the lack of general customer service. The gentleman that checked me in barely spoke a word to me. When staff would pass us on the grounds they didn’t speak to us. The only hotel staff that exuded good customer service were the grounds crew. They greeted us every time we walked by. They were very friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JumeirahJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Tamarind was a treat. There were 8 people in our group and each couple grabbed a cabana for $20 each. The beach is nice although getting in the water directly in front of the cabanas was not advised due to small urchins. There was only one real point of access on the beach to get out to swim/snorkel but there were plenty of reefs and fish to see once you swam out. It was a very chill laid back atmosphere. We had drinks and lunch at the bar by the pool and everyone in the group enjoyed the food. Fresh fish, fish tacos, chips/salsa, drinks, and even a grilled peanut butter and jelly, all were fantastic. The food was certainly worthy of repeat visits and made it a destination. We stayed in Judith's Fancy in a villa so it was about a 25 minute trip to Tamarind. Also, due to where we stayed, I can't be of any help on the accommodations at the Tamarind Resort.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindReefResort, Assistant General Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed our tikis on the beach and the fabulous marine life that we have by our reef. It's also great fun to rent a kayak and paddle out to Green Cay Island where you'll find additional snorkeling spots. The Deep End Bar and Grill is a guest and local favorite for good food and great cocktails....very happy you all enjoyed it.
We're thankful that you picked Tamarind Reef Beach to come and chill out and we'd love to host you as a guest at the resort next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews