We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The biggest "Plus" for Bluebeard is that it's off the beaten path, and pretty secluded. The small beach is clean, and uncrowded with serene currents.

The on site restaurant (Lanai) can provide some SERIOUSLY magnificent sunsets (Photo's soon to follow). The food, and drinks were pretty good, and priced about par for the course for the island.

The only real negative, and that the entire resort is in pretty dire need of a facelift. Having stayed at their Sister-Site (Margaritaville), on our first visit to St. Thomas, we were significantly underwhelmed by Bluebeard's aesthetics, both indoors, and outdoors.

Nothing was unsafe, or dysfunctional (Although, we did have about an hour delay getting into the room because of a faulty door lock - In all fairness, the staff was very responsive, and apologetic).

It's also worth mentioning that unlike Margaritaville, Bluebeard, by virtue of being off the beaten path, does not sit along the island safari route, which my wife and I found particularly useful on our first visit. SO, you'll need to rent a care (Drive on the left, yield to the right), or rely on taxis.

If the latter, I can wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Nice Guy. His rates are competitive, and he's quite friendly. I can also recommend Prince Taxi.

Overall, overdue facelift not withstanding, I give Bluebeard a thumbs up, would stay there again, and in all likelihood will probably make it out "2nd-Look" for our next visit to St. Thomas after Margaritaville.

Room Tip: Higher floors near the center of the property offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennethlJ4993NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I hesitate to say how great this location rates! It's nice, now, that crowds aren't swarming! THE best resort beach on the island!! Accomodations are adequate, with stairs. If you want 5 star, go elsewhere- we don't want your snobbery anyway. There is a relatively new restaurant on site (Lanai) getting discovered by locals- great food, good prices, with special nite activities. The Lime Tree pool bar is awesome- with great staff and daily specials. They also serve good food at reasonable prices. Speaking of, Lime Tree Market has almost everything for your grocery/personal list. No need to pay for taxi to town for groceries! (Resort won't tell you this). Be sure to check the beach hut for an outstanding day on Second Wind- an all day charter with 3 meals, 2 snacks, 2 desserts, snorkeling, fishing, open bar- and, a real toilet. Our trip also had a marine biologist in the crew to explain what we were seeing. Shh..... this is the best bargain on the island! Visit Aqua Marine- also the best rated dive shop on St. Thomas! There is a huge grill available for cooking- so with your 2 burner stove & microwave, you don't necessarily need a car. A cab, Mr. Nice Guy, is available if you want to venture out for other options. This is our favorite resort for relaxing!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Family stayed there 1st week of july, 1 bedroom unit. It's a timeshare. I came with relatively low expectations but we really like bluebeard's. It's a small development, maybe 80 units total. located about 15mins from charlotte amalie. You'll need a car. Beach is really beautiful and private to the resort. Pool area is adjacent to the beach and also really nice. Plenty of shade and chairs. There's a beach bar that's open to the public on the property but it wasn't too loud or disruptive. As for the unit itself, it's older but clean and comfortable. All rooms are oceanfront and have a nice view. We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony every morning drinking coffee. The kitchen was really small. Bed was king size and comfy. It's a loft-type design so expect stairs in your unit. Wifi wasn't free so we didn't try it. You can use free PC in the lobby. They also have a small selection of free movies. They're affiliated with the Wyndham timeshare and we opted for the margaritaville tour to get free passes for a sailing/snorkeling trip ... we were very happy with the free trip and didn't mind going to margaritaville because it's next to a great snorkeling beach we were planning to go to anyway. Overall we were very happy with bluebeard's.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OldPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The resort grounds are well kept. There is a dive shop onsite. There is a little store and a restuarant onsite. There is Wifi at a fee of about $39.00 for 7 days. I really enjoyed the swim up pool bar. The beach is georgous. The unit we stayed in was clean and well maintained.

My wife and I love this place! I hope we can get back there.

The only thing I didn't like was the $25/day electricity fee and the $20/day resort fee that USVI charges.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. So if you don't like stairs get a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kscdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

First of all, I will say, we read the reviews and we were prepared for the outdated rooms and room and energy surcharges. That is not the reason for a low rating.

First, our room wasn't ready when we got there so we were greeted by the concierge who was "supposedly" going to help us plan a good vacation. What we were sold was a tour of Margaritaville and then a sales presentation to swindle us out of more money to up our points. Not appreciated!

Second, as others have said, since we didn't know the pool bartender's name we got crappy service. He never checked on us one bit. I had to yell down to him if I wanted anything.

Third, the restaurant is on the wrong side of the resort. We went for dinner twice and the sun was in our eyes and the screens they pulled down did not really work. I get wanting to have a view of the sunset, but at the wrong time of day it will ruin your dining experience.

Fourth, the only redeeming quality is we were secluded from all the hustle and bustle of St Thomas. The location was great for us and the vacation we were wanting to take. There are definitely better places to stay so make sure you know what you are getting in to before you book here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Owner Care at Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Erik,
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We're sorry that your unit wasn't ready, and that the service you received wasn't what you were hoping for. Please know that these issues will be addressed. Thank you for providing valuable feedback that will allow us to improve our Count on Me service to our guests.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Thomas hotels
6.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.9 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
7.1 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,225 reviews
7.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
5.9 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas

Address: 7511 Frenchman Bay # 100, 00802-2810, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Thomas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range: RM612 - RM816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bluebeard's Beach Club and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeard`s Beach Club And Villas Hotel St. Thomas
Bluebeards Beach Resort
Bluebeards Beach Hotel
Bluebeards Beach Club
St Thomas Bluebeard
Bluebeard's Beach Club And Villas St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing