We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$161
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$297
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Guest House(Charlotte Amalie)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebeard's Castle Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,427)
Filter reviews
4,427 results
Traveller rating
1,690
1,416
758
359
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,690
1,416
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning starfrenchman's reefaqua terracoco joesthe main hotelharbor wingsunset grillrum barswim up baradventure centermain poolsea cliffinfinity poolnight kayakinggarden viewst thomastennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
4,223 - 4,228 of 4,427 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Mhy wife and I recently spent a week at the hotel. About a week before we left -- I signed onto TripAdvisor to read some reivews. They were scathing and I thought we had made a 'big mistake'. Good news -- it was a great experience. The hotel was recently renovated and the facility was beautiful. We stayed in Frenchman's Reef and had a beautiful well-appointed room. Maid service was good and the room was very clean. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and friendly. We ended up eating in every restaurant (at least once) and they all offered good food and service. Pools were all beautiful -and there were plenty of chairs and no rushing to 'reserve' as at some hotels. The beach at Morning Star was wonderful. Clean and quiet and a pleasure to be at. We recommend the hotel without any qualms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

We’re very happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for wholeheartedly recommending Frenchman’s Reef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Absolutely great experience at this hotel. The service was great from the get go. Angel at the pool took amazing care of us, our housekeeper was amazing, and overall the staff was genuine and pleasant at all times. We stayed in Morning Star in room 5114 which was right on the beach and the view was fab. We ended up eating every night at Havana Blue where the dishes were very well prepared and presented with really cool flavors, spices and combinations of ingredients. Eat at the bar with Lindsey she's very quick witted (a bit of New York still in her) an incredible server and just a good sole, she made our valentines day very special. Overall a good experience, don't be oversold on the renovation publicity, at least at Morningstar it felt like a new coat of paint and a few trim pieces. I think the bulk of the money went into the restaurants and common areas. All in all a great trip for us and we will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chazzer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

We’re so glad to hear you had an absolutely great experience with us! Thank you for mentioning Angel and Lindsey; we will pass your compliments onto them. Regarding your comments about Morning Star, we’d like to clarify (for your next visit and the Tripadvisor community) that our recent renovation took place at the Frenchman’s Reef portion of the property. We renovated the rooms, pool complex, spa, enclosed public space and opened a new lounge and restaurant. For your next visit, call ahead so we can greet you as a returning guest! Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Needed a break from the cold, cloudy, wet days of Winter, and we definitely got just that, & more! This was wonderful to be somewhere that you did not have to dress in layers. Relaxing in the warm sun of the Caribbean Ocean both on St Thomas & St John was therapy in an of itself. Then getting into the crystal clear/turquoise waters of Trunk Bay was soulfully healing. Temps were perfect, 85 day 72 night! Staff at this hotel were very helpful, especially Robert Fulcher, whom I met the first night and worked with throughout out stay. Very attentive and always on an even keel, even after the person before me was irrate over towels or something trivial... Remember, you are on Caribbean time, so relax, the pace is slower. Don't go somewhere and expect it to be like home/work pace, Otherwise why go!?!
Beautiful setting on the cliffs overlooking Charlotte Amalie Port to watch the cruise ships come and go each day from the infinity pool's edge and waving at the passengers, yes that close! Or spend the day on the beach and eating at Coco Joe's right on the beach. All was good, including each restaurant & friendly staff. So plan ahead, go soon and enjoy and return refreshed like we did !!!!!!

Room Tip: We first were in the main tower connected to lobby with 'property view'. Newly renovated and very spacious and nice. Since we did not spend much time in the room, it was to nice out, we did not mind the view. But for last two nights we did move to Ocean Tower to get 'ocean view'. Paid a bit extra, but worth it. Room not as big, but has balcony overlooking beach, tennis courts and colorful Ocean!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naturalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for giving us a 5 star satisfaction rating and mentioning Robert’s attentive service. Sounds like you really enjoyed the warm climate and made some lasting memories. We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for the past 6 years. I think the hotel looks great now - much cleaner. I like what they did with the pools - however I got there earlier a few mornings to ensure a spot right near the pool. Ended up getting splashed by a bunch of kids all morning. There parents didn't seem to be around either.

The food at the hotel is expensive so be prepared - and the service is definitely on island time. If you know that going in, you shouldn't get surprised or frustrated with the experience.

I visited the spa, and agree with other reviewers. The quiet room is not quiet or peaceful as you wait for your appointment. However, i definitely recommend using the spa facilities for a shower before heading to the airport - allowing you check-out earlier and still get one more day at the beach or pool.

I can always be found stopping for a drink at the Rum Bar each evening. The bartenders are great! I wish they would bring back the DJ though. Much nicer atmosphere with music playing at night.

I have always gotten great rooms with great views at this hotel - but I am also I Marriott Platinum member so usually end up with an upgraded room.

Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay at the Harbor View wing.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for recommending Frenchman’s Reef. The generous compliments you gave us on our renovation and pools go a long way. We also take your suggestions seriously and be rest assured that each time you visit, you will experience improvements. Again, thank you for taking the time to post, and we hope your travels bring you back to St. Thomas very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at the Marriott over Christmas. The hotel is amazing. Staff is nice. Great location. We had so much fun there. One of the best things we did was the clear kayak night tour, which departs from the hotel dock. I had never done anything like that before. We saw two turtles and a ray. Nate was our Clear Discoveries guide - he was awesome. We booked the tour through the Adventure Center and plan on taking the tour again when we return. We enjoyed the beautiful view from our room and are recommending the Marriott to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews