We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The resort was clean and the food was great!! The service sucked....most of the time...and big time. It took a long time to get a drink at the bar...to have a server bring your drinks at a meal, things like this. You could be 1/2 way trhough breakfast before your drinks would show up. And this lack of service was pretty consistent...among all servers....among all restuarants...day in and day out. If they get their service in order, they will be tops!

Room Tip: Go with Morningstar and you get to stay by the beach...otherwise...the beach is a haul and there are...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ODonn1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Although we appreciate your opening compliments and suggestions for our restaurants, we really would like to extend an apology for not meeting your expectations overall. Please know that we take all these comments seriously and are diligent in our efforts to understand how we can improve. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and we hope next time you visit the islands, you will choose to give us an opportunity exceed your expectations in all aspects!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,416)
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,140 - 4,144 of 4,416 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 4 night stay here. I never write reviews but was so happy with our stay I thought I should. We stayed at the Morningstar property which is a 5 minute walk along the beach and up some stairs to the Frenchman's Reef. The views from both properties are absolutely breathtaking. At MS, we had a really clean, spacious and comfortable room which was right on the water. MS seemed less crowded compared to the lobby and pool areas of the FR. We preferred the "quieter" atmosphere of MS but could enjoy the amenities of the FR. We ate off property every night, so only ate at the hotel for breakfast or lunch. Meals here were perfectly fine, just remember you are on island time. Service is somewhat slow, but since we were on vacation, we were perfectly happy to take our time.

Finally, the staff was absolutely fantastic. We read that in St Thomas a "good morning/afternoon/evening" goes a long way. Be friendly and polite and they will return the favor! We were really blown away by how great the staff was.

Room Tip: Morningstar was pretty quiet though we could still hear our neighbors. Turning on the A/C helped dr...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindsA708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

We are so pleased to hear your positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to describe your enjoyment of the Morning Star atmosphere. We will definitely celebrate your compliments with the staff as well. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I spent a few days at this resort last week, and it is beautiful. The outside area of the pools and beach are just beautiful and the views are stunning. The staff that we had contact with were all very nice, and snorkeling in St. John was a great experience. The food at Havana Blue was very, very good. The food at the Sunset Grille was not as good. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for your generous compliments on our resort setting and staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share with the online community and our future guests. We hope your stay will inspire you to plan another visit! When you do, please call ahead so that we can greet you as a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel was nice! Pool and ocean was a bit cold ! Convenient having ferry to town and the cat ( great crew and snorkeling trips) right at hotel! Beach a bit small ( I'm a Long island girl so I have great beaches). Staff was terrific ( taneisha front desk) Jose hotel manager was very visible and pool people were nice! Overall I was a bit disappointed for having a renovation no towel rack in bathroom ( but they want you to conserve water and reuse towels ugh no!) no bathing suit line. Dumb things but somebody missed those in the plans! Coco joes was good food, but skip the seafood buffets at all restaurants!! Havana blue excellent food and great service and desserts! Aqua terrace was great for breakfast buffet! Not much to do if you are shopped and touristed out! Relaxing at pool and beach were the best!!!! Good for a quick escape!!!

Stayed: March 2012
8  Thank Agulha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and suggestions. Taiesha, Jose and the pool team will appreciate being recognized for their efforts! We look forward to your next escape and don’t forget to call ahead so we can greet you as a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel's recent renovations were top notch.
Room
The room was a great size. We used the refrigerator to fill it with beer and soda from the grocery store. We ordered room service every night for fresh fruit. The bathroom was clean and updated. The shower had excellent water pressure.

Fitness Area
This hotel was equipped with some of the best fitness equipment. There were lots of treadmills, elipticals, bicycles, free weights, and weight machines.

Pools
The 4 pools were very nice. But, we spent most of our time in the ocean.

Tennis Courts
The tennis courts are right on the ocean.

Beach
I loved the beach at the hotel. Two bars/restaurants were beachside. So, drinks were plenty. The resort fee included towels, umbrellas, chairs, and rafts. We tried to see all the beaches in St. Thomas and St. John, so we didn't spend as much time at this beach as what we wanted.

Service
The waitstaff is definitely on island time. But ... they were very nice. We were starving the first night we arrived. The dinner took forever to be served. But, the filet was delicious once we got it. The server was very nice and told us about places to see.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexisHershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. The photos you posted are just beautiful! Sounds like you sampled many of our amenities and enjoyed them all. And what a great idea to order in fresh fruit every evening, a great tip for future travelers. We hope pleasure will bring you back again to the islands and to our resort! Thank you again for the 5 star satisfaction rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,812 reviews
6.9 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: RM1,100 - RM2,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50" TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing