We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, rooms are poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I spent a lot of time researching the best area to live in while in St Thomas. I picked the East End because the snorkeling and beaches are reportedly much better than in the other parts. Here are the pros and cons of Sapphire Beach Resort:
Pros:
- The East End is a good location on the island, and driving to and from here is a scenic drive.
- The resort is right on the beach; my unit was mere steps from the beach and the patio was lovely to sit on because of the ocean a few feet away.
- There is snorkeling right off the beach so you don't have to drive for it. According to many locals, the snorkeling off Sapphire Beach Resort is the best (or at least top-2) on the island (but that is not saying much!)
- The resort is a condo resort so each unit is very spacious, with a kitchen, living area, and patio
- The resort is 5 minutes drive to Red Hook town which has many restaurants and food options

Cons:
- The resort has not been updated; the beds were awful, the bathrooms were basic, the rooms were dark despite being on a sunny beach, the furnishings were terrible
- The snorkeling was sub-par. I hardly saw much marine life; and certainly nothing compared to other islands in the Caribbean or in Hawaii.
- The beach bar had mediocre/poor food, and nothing for vegetarians

Overall: I would not stay here again. But I would probably not visit St Thomas again!

Room Tip: Ground-level beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank InformedDecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We rented a studio off of vrbo.com. There were four of us total. 27 year old females. Overall I think this is the best place to stay at on the island. I have previously stayed at Margaritaville and secret harbor. I definitely think this has the best features overall. It is sitting on a nice beach. No, it is not the best beach on St. Thomas or St. John. However, it is extremely nice. Especially if you just want to walk out the door and go straight to the beach. We stayed in Building C. It is between the pool and the beach bar. Overall, I did like the location. However, I think I would have actually preferred building B or A because they are in front of the nicer part of the beach. There were always taxis waiting outside next to building A. It costs $4 a person to go into Red Hook. The beach bar was nice to have. They were open each day until 6. However, there is talk that next year they will stay open until 10:00. They do serve food and have waitresses that walk the beach. We packed a cooler most days with our own beer, but occasionally we would like to have a mixed drink from the bar. There is also a pizza restaurant called Slice. They serve drinks as well. They are open until 10:00. The resort is also close to Lindquist Beach or Coki Beach. Lindquist is more of a quiet beach and costs $2 a person to enter. Coki has several vendors and isn’t nearly as quiet as Lindquist or Sapphire, it doesn’t cost anything to enter. If you are looking for high end 5 star quality this isn’t the place for you. But, if you are looking for a place with a great beach, a good location, friendly people, and decent housing then this is the place for you. I would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 22Hannaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We loved our stay at the Resort. Being on the beach was important to us and we spent every waking moment on the beach.

The resort itself is a little run down and needs some care. Our room also needed some attention. Because the weather and beach were so gorgeous we were able to look past the flaws and have a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The beach is awesome with nice shaded areas and coral reef to snorkel. Plus, our rental unit was very nice with excellent views.

BUT - something is wrong and the resort appears to be falling apart.

First impression is a tennis court that looks like it hasn't been used in years with weeds growing up through and around the courts. (See pic). Then, the parking lot looks like it has been mortared. Regarding the buildings, the most sketchy one is the one closest to the marina. Many patios were overflowing with junk and beat up furniture.

The pool area has an abandoned bar and grill that has apparently been abandoned for years. The old chairs are laid in there sides to act as barriers.

The marina next store is adjacent to another condo property with one entire building deserted or condemned. The units available team with junk filled patios so one wonders what the interiors look like.

I bet in it's day this resort was one but those days are behind it and I'd suggest they do something with the condo fees to bring it back.

Good news is the beach is splendid so I'd suggest lodging somewhere else and drive it taxi over to the beach area.

At $400+/night for 1 BR you have many choices of higher quality.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank RobNCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Resort for a week in late July/August. We stayed in the B building on the second floor. We were traveling as a family with two small kids, an infant and a 6 year old. We would definitely stay at Sapphire Beach again. The things we loved about the place * the views and access to the beach can not be beat! You are right on the beach with views to St. John and other islands. You can be in the water in less than one minute from your room. Sapphire beach is a fairly large beach with plenty of space to spread out and not feel too crowded. There is excellent shade under the sea grapes. The snorkeling is also very good * the location is very convenient, close to Red Hook, lots of restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, ferry, etc. * my son loved the pool and we swam in it at least once a day, usually late afternoon after the beach. * free beach chairs available from the concession stand, snorkeling equipment in the room, full kitchen, large balcony and with a king bed and pull out couch it was definitely big enough for 4. Things that could have been better *the overgrown tennis courts as you come down the hill into the resort are definitely an eye sore, but not really a big deal, * the boarded up bar/restaurant by the pool is pretty sad to look at (so I just looked the other way out to the sparking ocean), * the food and drinks at the beach bar by building A are way overpriced. I paid $12 for a rum drink. After that we didn't get drinks from there anymore. It's not that big of a deal because you can always go back to your room to mix a drink and be back in a couple of minutes but I wanted to be able to mix it up a bit and get some drinks from the bar. At every other bar we went to, drinks were $8.50 or less so $12 was definitely too much. It would be great if there were a better restaurant with more food options and reasonably priced drinks. We really liked the restaurant/bar at Secret Harbour beach and resort. Overall, I would definitely recommend Sapphire Beach Resort. In spite of the rundown tennis courts and abandoned restaurant, the rest of the place was well kept. The beach was very clean and the areas around the condos were clean as well. I really think it is unbelievable to be that close to an amazing beach at such an affordable price. If we go back again, we'd probably rent a different unit on the ground floor. We think that would be better with kids to be able to go straight out the sliders to the beach instead of around the back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
12.8 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
1.8 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.9 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
12.1 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
2.1 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: RM746 - RM1,782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, Caribbean - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing