We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Secret Harbour Beach Resort(Benner)(Great Value!)
US$286
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$345
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gallows Point Resort(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$385
US$364
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elysian Beach Resort(East End)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
195
239
126
76
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
239
126
76
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssapphire beachdive shopbuilding bst johnthrough vrbocrystal coveprivate ownerstayed in buildingtwo storygrocery storecharlotte amalieday tripother islandscorner unitlaid backsnorkeling equipmentper person
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We rented a studio off of vrbo.com. There were four of us total. 27 year old females. Overall I think this is the best place to stay at on the island. I have previously stayed at Margaritaville and secret harbor. I definitely think this has the best features overall. It is sitting on a nice beach. No, it is not the best beach on St. Thomas or St. John. However, it is extremely nice. Especially if you just want to walk out the door and go straight to the beach. We stayed in Building C. It is between the pool and the beach bar. Overall, I did like the location. However, I think I would have actually preferred building B or A because they are in front of the nicer part of the beach. There were always taxis waiting outside next to building A. It costs $4 a person to go into Red Hook. The beach bar was nice to have. They were open each day until 6. However, there is talk that next year they will stay open until 10:00. They do serve food and have waitresses that walk the beach. We packed a cooler most days with our own beer, but occasionally we would like to have a mixed drink from the bar. There is also a pizza restaurant called Slice. They serve drinks as well. They are open until 10:00. The resort is also close to Lindquist Beach or Coki Beach. Lindquist is more of a quiet beach and costs $2 a person to enter. Coki has several vendors and isn’t nearly as quiet as Lindquist or Sapphire, it doesn’t cost anything to enter. If you are looking for high end 5 star quality this isn’t the place for you. But, if you are looking for a place with a great beach, a good location, friendly people, and decent housing then this is the place for you. I would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 22Hannaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We loved our stay at the Resort. Being on the beach was important to us and we spent every waking moment on the beach.

The resort itself is a little run down and needs some care. Our room also needed some attention. Because the weather and beach were so gorgeous we were able to look past the flaws and have a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tobylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The beach is awesome with nice shaded areas and coral reef to snorkel. Plus, our rental unit was very nice with excellent views.

BUT - something is wrong and the resort appears to be falling apart.

First impression is a tennis court that looks like it hasn't been used in years with weeds growing up through and around the courts. (See pic). Then, the parking lot looks like it has been mortared. Regarding the buildings, the most sketchy one is the one closest to the marina. Many patios were overflowing with junk and beat up furniture.

The pool area has an abandoned bar and grill that has apparently been abandoned for years. The old chairs are laid in there sides to act as barriers.

The marina next store is adjacent to another condo property with one entire building deserted or condemned. The units available team with junk filled patios so one wonders what the interiors look like.

I bet in it's day this resort was one but those days are behind it and I'd suggest they do something with the condo fees to bring it back.

Good news is the beach is splendid so I'd suggest lodging somewhere else and drive it taxi over to the beach area.

At $400+/night for 1 BR you have many choices of higher quality.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank RobNCata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Resort for a week in late July/August. We stayed in the B building on the second floor. We were traveling as a family with two small kids, an infant and a 6 year old. We would definitely stay at Sapphire Beach again. The things we loved about the place * the views and access to the beach can not be beat! You are right on the beach with views to St. John and other islands. You can be in the water in less than one minute from your room. Sapphire beach is a fairly large beach with plenty of space to spread out and not feel too crowded. There is excellent shade under the sea grapes. The snorkeling is also very good * the location is very convenient, close to Red Hook, lots of restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, ferry, etc. * my son loved the pool and we swam in it at least once a day, usually late afternoon after the beach. * free beach chairs available from the concession stand, snorkeling equipment in the room, full kitchen, large balcony and with a king bed and pull out couch it was definitely big enough for 4. Things that could have been better *the overgrown tennis courts as you come down the hill into the resort are definitely an eye sore, but not really a big deal, * the boarded up bar/restaurant by the pool is pretty sad to look at (so I just looked the other way out to the sparking ocean), * the food and drinks at the beach bar by building A are way overpriced. I paid $12 for a rum drink. After that we didn't get drinks from there anymore. It's not that big of a deal because you can always go back to your room to mix a drink and be back in a couple of minutes but I wanted to be able to mix it up a bit and get some drinks from the bar. At every other bar we went to, drinks were $8.50 or less so $12 was definitely too much. It would be great if there were a better restaurant with more food options and reasonably priced drinks. We really liked the restaurant/bar at Secret Harbour beach and resort. Overall, I would definitely recommend Sapphire Beach Resort. In spite of the rundown tennis courts and abandoned restaurant, the rest of the place was well kept. The beach was very clean and the areas around the condos were clean as well. I really think it is unbelievable to be that close to an amazing beach at such an affordable price. If we go back again, we'd probably rent a different unit on the ground floor. We think that would be better with kids to be able to go straight out the sliders to the beach instead of around the back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great rental in the "B-house" and have no complaints whatsoever about the standard of the condominium. It was very good. The beach is also a very nice place to be as well as the newly opened bar. We rented our flat via VRBO fyi.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Birgitta-Kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews