We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunshine and sand [and lots of seaweed.]”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This resort was really very nice. We did the all inclusive so meals were not a worry. Both the Lobster Grille and Iggy's had good food and attentive service.
We chose to visit this resort because the St. Thomas dive Club is on the property and we didn't want to haul gear around the island.
Boat captain was fine but some of the dive staff needed to know how to set up gear. It's all different and we realized after day 1 of diving to set up and check our own gear. [a good idea for any diver]. I know where the weights go in my integrated BC, not in pockets! I would return to St. Thomas but try another resort [because we can!] We also went to this island because of the tourism promotion. $300. to spend in SELECT places. Never did find a taxi that took vouchers and the dive operation, though advertised they did, the staff did not honor the vouchers. We could have saved $100. All in all though we enjoyed our week there. Would definitely recommend the St. Thomas food tour. Gerard had a wealth of information about the island history and the food was superb!!!

Room Tip: further from the pool area as there is a pool bar and get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikael D, Manager at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hello Karen!
Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're happy to read about your positive experience with our all inclusive plan. It's definitely the most relaxing way to enjoy a trip to the islands! We're sorry for any hiccups with the Dive Shop, but please know they are a separate company and not part of Bolongo Bay. Regarding the seaweed you saw, it's a rare occurrence that affects tropical destinations, literally, from Texas to Aruba. Luckily, it never stays long, and our landscaping team gets up early to clean up the beach, but we do apologize that it occurred during the time of your stay. You have to respect and love mother nature! Thanks again for staying with us, Karen, and we hope to see you back at Bolongo Bay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Bolongo bay is a great resort. It offers a few restaurants that have great food. They offer amenities like sailboat and kayaking. They have catamaran rides and 2 pools. The best part is you don't even need to rent a car because everything you need is right at the resort. Very friendly service and there's a restaurant that offers happy hour drinks and music right next door. This is right in the water and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikael D, Manager at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Amanda,

On behalf of our entire staff here at Bolongo Bay, thank you for your shining review. We work extra hard to make sure your time with us is just how you described it: relaxing. From dining to amenities and entertainment, we always want to make sure you feel right at home with us. We're pleased to read that you experienced just that. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to St. Thomas in the future! Relaxed regards, Mikael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a week on St John at the Westin, this place is 100x the deal for the price....

Great location with all the adminities, staff has a great attitude.....

Day sail trip to Buck Island to see the sea turtles was amazing

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikael D, Manager at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Todd, on behalf of our team here at Bolongo, thank you for this great review.

While we hope your time at the Westin on beautiful St. John was great, we're happy to hear that you appreciated the value Bolongo Bay has to offer. Our staff - and their great attitudes - absolutely lead the way here at Bolongo. After that, it's simply about making sure you have comfortable access to all the amenities you need. From our original Swim with Sea Turtles sailing trip to the laid back vibes at Iggies, we always aim to create a positive and fun environment that everyone can enjoy! Thanks again, and we hope to see you back at Bolongo Bay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I can't say enough about this resort. We had an amazing and smooth experience from the moment we showed up. As we met other people on the island staying at other resorts they were jealous of everything that our all inclusive package had! We are active and like to stay busy and we had PLENTY to do at the resort between getting drinks at the 2 bars, paddle boarding, laying in the water hammocks, snorkeling around the point, kayaking, etc. Cornelius was usually around and was so sweet and brought us fresh coconuts and cut them open for us! Ashley at Iggie's was fun to talk with during our meals and 007 made an AMAZING mud slide (and hangover concoction) at the Lobster Grille bar. Travis and Grant were friendly and helpful with all of the water activities and Keith was very attentive to our needs everywhere on the resort. Ms Viola made you feel like you were family anytime we saw her around and Renita in the gift shop was our go to person to help us figure out our excursions and give us directions so that we could explore the island in our rental car! We were there for 1 week and felt like family by the time we left. There was a big storm one night we were there and we lost power for a few hours in the morning which didn't cause any problems. However, our ceiling did start leaking at one point and dripped onto our bed but maintenance came very quickly and solved the problem (a leak in the solar panels on the roof) and the resort did all they could to make it up to us! they offered us a bottle of wine which we refused but they were very generous. We have absolutely no complaints and I can honestly say I had the best experience! If you're looking for a 5 star fancy hotel with updated rooms, this isn't the place. But
If you're looking for an island paradise and beachy get away with clean rooms, attentive staff, and the feel of a home away from home.. this is the place! I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shannell91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikael D, Manager at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Shannell91, thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review!

You perfectly captured so many of the things that make Bolongo Bay such a special place. From cutting fresh coconuts to creating delicious hangover concoctions, every member of the Bolongo team is here for a purpose and we love how beautifully you were able to highlight some of their unique roles. We appreciate your description of "an island paradise and beachy getaway" - and we agree! On behalf of all of us here at Bolongo, thank you for being such wonderful guests, and we're thrilled to officially count you as part of the Bolongo Family! We look forward to welcoming you and your companions back soon! Sunny regards, Mikael D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This was our 8th trip to St John and we decided to go a day early and stay on St Thomas for the night, so we booked a room at Bolongo Bay. We arrived around 2:30 and received a free rum punch. Our room wasn't ready so we walked over to Iggie's to have lunch. The food and our waitress were ok, it was a nice a view and outdoor restaurant. We walked back over to the resort and checked out the pool, which has a swim up bar.
As for our room, the furnishings and bedding were dated and "tired". The shower was so small that I was banging my elbows while washing my hair and the bathroom overall needs a major overhaul. The view from the room was beautiful, but we could not get the room to cool down or get the a/c remote to work. So when we went down for dinner at the resort restaurant, The Lobster Grille, we stopped at the desk to tell them about the a/c.
Our table at the restaurant wasn't ready, so the host brought us a complimentary glass of champagne! Once seated,our table had an amazing view, the food was delicious and while having dinner, the manager, Keith, came and told us our a/c was working and our room was quite cool, which it was when we returned to it.
Overall, the wonderful staff at Bolongo Bay are what really made our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
4.6 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
4.8 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
5.5 km away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
2.9 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range: RM874 - RM1,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing