We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as clean as some others we have been in!”
Review of Y Dic Penderyn

Y Dic Penderyn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We were glad to find this place as the hotel (The Castle) we were staying in was disgusting. At least we can get consistently cheap and good quality food at a Wetherspoons, and this one did not dissapoint. My only complaint was that a lot of tables had not been cleared, and there were chips all over the floor.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bayleywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018

Called in for coffees and were served quickly by friendly staff, Usual good value drinks in a slightly run down pub needing a refurb. Tables not very clean and needed clearing, Saw a group of younger people walk in and go to the coffee machine and steal handfuls of nescafe coffee packets and walk out, Not a good sign to want to go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 2010mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Guess what - no steaks available on Tuesday Steak Day !!
Also, on fish available last week on Fish Day
Are Wetherspoons trying to close this venue by withholding their menus ?

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Later had to change order as only one steak left, later told no pepper sauce, then told chips not included in that menu choice. Weatherspoon website not accepting complaint hence this post.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

First vist to Y Dic Penderyn and have to say first impressions weren't great. The table was so sticky. It had been cleared of galsses and dishes but obviously hadn't been wiped unfortunately. That said, the food came quickly even though it was busy and it was hot and enjoyable. The service was good too. Would I go back? Possibly but if the table was sticky again I'd probably go elsewhere.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Dic Penderyn also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 
Treharris, Merthyr Tydfil
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 

Been to Y Dic Penderyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing