We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, long wait time”

Uncle Joe's Barbecue
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in St. John
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First thing you need to know, call ahead!

This food is absolutely great, which you would not guess from the set up Uncle Joe has going! This would be a hole in the wall, if there were actually walls around the business - but it is actually a BBQ with a counter to take your payment. Many locals picked up their pre-ordered food while I waited, hungry, for my order. Seems like supply chain is a little sketch, which led to a long wait.... but it was still worth waiting for because the chicken and ribs were amazing!

Cash only, so be prepared and... don't forget to call ahead!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank readinJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2021

The captain on our fishing trip suggested this place. Glad he did since it is easy to miss it. We had a good lunch of ribs and chicken with various sides. Portions large enough to feed my teenage boys.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geomeg726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

it's a bonus that there are a few tables and the people there couldn't be nicer. would suggest picking it up for your first night dinner. you basically pick between chicken and ribs.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travel_w_myteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Ribs were awesome. Chicken and sides were good. Meals contained large portions that allowed for tasty leftovers even with teen boys.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021

Who would have thought, you go to VI to have BBQ ? We had the ribs and they top the charts in my opinion .

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 682margied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Uncle Joe's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Joe's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.