We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, exceeded our expectations!”
overlooking the Caribbean Sea on the southshore of St John
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
overlooking the Caribbean Sea on the southshore of St John
8 bedrooms, 4 pools, 2 hot tubs and a tennis court fabulous sunsets into the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
156 reviews
overlooking the Caribbean Sea on the southshore of St John
8 bedrooms, 4 pools, 2 hot tubs and a tennis court
fabulous sunsets into the ocean
our infinity pool is spacious enough to swim laps
living, dining and kitchen are separate from the bedrooms for maximum privacy
Great Room has a 75 inch High Definition TV with complimentary Netflix video streaming
complimentary WiFi High Speed Wireless Internet (view, but not laptop, included)
not 1, but 4 equal Master bedrooms, all air-conditioned with spectacular views of the Caribbean
another Master bedroom configured with 2 Twin beds
bedroom bathrooms each have double sink vanities with oversized mirrors
one of our architect-designed indoor-outdoor showers with private views of the Caribbean
each bedroom has a private patio overlooking the Caribbean
The Club Room can be used as a bedroom for a single adult or 2 teenagers
The Owners Suite on the top floor of the Guest House overlooks the Caribbean Sea
the Guest House 1st flr bdrm has a Queen bed and 2 futons
The Sun Room on the Guest House 1st floor can be set-up with a King bed or 2 Twins
tennis court with professional basketball hoop and backboard
an ideal setting for weddings  and anniversary celebrations
Guest House has its own pool and hot tub
shady hammocks abound
great views overlooking the Caribbean to the east (hammock, but not drink, included)
romance awaits (that's our daughter and son-in-law)
we have hosted lots of weddings (the bride and groom returned for their anniversary)
plenty of room for dinner inside (our family at Thanksgiving)
you can hear the waves breaking over the rocks below in Hart Bay
spectacular water views
even the hammocks have great views
the hand-painted mural by local high school students (as seen in the St. Thomas Daily News)
come, sit in the sun, put your toes in the Caribbean, contemplate Life.
within walking distance of the Villa is Chocolate Hole with some of the best snorkeling on St. John
also within walking distance is Hart Bay for great beachcombing with a coral reef just offshore
Beach chairs included
Trunk Bay, one of the 10 most photographed beaches in the world (how they know that, I know not)
NO SNOW
some of the most beautiful rainbows you will ever see
our fabulous housekeeping staff (Josie, Veronica & Marie)
please come see for yourself -- your hosts, Kristin and Chuck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 156 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gramapenn...
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
“Perfect, exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family of 19, ranging in age from 2-72 recently spent 10 days at Great Expectations and it met all of our expectations and then some. The space was great for all of us to spread out. We really appreciated the multitude of patio areas and hammocks tucked away around the grounds where we could relax with a good book or just enjoy the views which were spectacular! Our grandchildren spent a lot of time in the 3 pools. We are a family that likes to cook so the very well equipped kitchen was much appreciated! We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy L
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Very comfortable vacation villa for a multi-generational family!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This comfortable villa was our home away from home for 14 family members who came to Cruz Bay to attend a family wedding. The expansive space of Great Expectations allowed every age to relax, play, laugh and enjoy the expansive views.The property manager was very helpful and responsive to our questions and needs. The location is perfect, close to shops, restaurants and beaches. On our last night there, everyone from ages 5 to 75 agreed they'd love to come back! Thanks, Chuck and Kristen for sharing this beautiful spot with all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and that it could accommodate our entire family very comfortably
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawna0310
Salem, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa - Great location”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is our second time staying at Great Expectation and it's always an amazing experience! We love the layout and the way the Master Room is separate from all the bedrooms! With a large group this works great as early risers get up and moving around without fear of waking up those wishing to sleep later! The views from Great Expectation are just beautiful and the entire villa is just so livable! We are already working on planning our next vacation to Great Expectations! I promise you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunsets from the Villa patio are just beautiful!
Liked least: Having to leave and go home!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“You have got to stay at this place!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What an amazing first trip to Great Expectations! We have heard glowing reports from family members who had stayed there before and we were not disappointed. The Great Expectations complex sits high on the ridge (saddle) of a small peninsula between Hart Bay to the east and Chocolate Hole Bay to the west just a couple of minutes south of Cruz Bay where the ferry comes in. It is convenient, yet very private. The private outdoor showers with a view of sunrise is matched only by the views of sunset (with a refreshment) by the infinity pool above Chocolate Hole at the front of the compound.

Six of us stayed for the week. We all had our own rooms with private bathrooms and the outdoor showers. There is nothing modest about these bedrooms: each is well appointed with custom made teak furniture from Bali and imported Italian tile in the en suite bathroom. There are large glass doors on either end allowing a really pleasant tropical breeze and great views of the ocean. The ceiling fans and transoms allow natural cooling, we never used the AC. The rooms afforded privacy, yet you were only steps from the central building with the great room and the pools and lounging area.

The center piece of Great Expectations is the great room and the kiddie pool and infinity pool to the west with plenty of space to do yoga or just lie around in the many lounges or hammocks (you can also slip into the hot tub if you get worn out playing at the beach and snorkeling). Inside the great room is a very well appointed kitchen with good pots, pans and dishes, dishwasher, large fridge, plenty of counter space and good bar supplies. There’s an island with bar stools so it’s easy to migrate from cocktails, to dinner prep, to feasting, to the sitting area for dessert with movies on the flat screen. We could easily have accommodated several other couples in the space (as well as kids). The great room has a size XXL ceiling fan (literally: it’s about 8 feet across!) as well as many screen doors on the east and west sides so lots of breeze. There’s also an excellent stainless steel gas grill right outside the kitchen.

On top of the great layout are all the extras including camp chairs to bring to the beach, a tennis court, kids water toys and coolers for the beach.

It is hard to believe there could be better views, breezes, or accommodations anywhere on St. John (and we looked). We can’t recommend Great Expectations enough and look forward to our next trip back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rqsa
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Great Expectations is perfect, every time!”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

So glad to be back at Great Expectations, and to bring new members of the family, who are now also hooked and can't wait to return! There is nothing modest at all about the bedrooms each of which are furnished with custom-made teak furniture from Bali and imported Italian tile, have large glass sliders offering ocean views, fully-screened with ceiling fans and transoms for natural cooling as well as central air-conditioning, architecturally-designed clear story windows, and even indoor-outdoor showers! All that, sun and sand, views and relaxation--what more could you want? We love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$4,750
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing