We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel a lot for business and was really happy with my stay at this hotel. I am very picky about the places I go and I am easily disappointed, BUT this hotel was GREAT! I was greeted by a lovely staff. The rooms were clean and cozy. And the location was perfect (I even got to enjoy some time on the beach). I would definitely return to this hotel for any of my business trips... maybe even for a little get-away.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle8324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is scary. And not because of the location.

I checked in and was offered a ocean side room by a trainee Samantha and her staff mate. Once inside the room- they had given me a view of the other building, where people could clearly see into my room as well- the room phone didn’t work and the WIFI was stolen from another property, also not working. I called down to explain, ask for the room they offered me and waited for new keys to be brought up. After 25 min no one came and i called again. Samantha then told me the keys were coming again and hung up.

THEN i went downstairs and all three female staff suddenly became deaf and mute. They directed me to “rui” the general manager who told me if i wanted the proper room i would have to sit and wait until 5pm. Obviously not acceptable. At this point i explained that check in time was several hours before and he THREATENED TO CALL THE POLICE.

At this point the female staff said they were on the phone trying to get housekeeping to make the proper room if i would sit and wait. After being threatened by this 60 year old man, i wanted a full refund and goodbye. He agree to the refund then again told me i would spend a few hours in jail, and also refused to give his name. I️ have this entire conversation recorded on my cell phone.

He refused to provide paper work stating that a refund would be processed and refused to call hotels.com to confirm the refund directly.

This place is really really not where you want to be. Whoever is marketing it, needs to restore the staff, cleanliness and ATTITUDE which does not represent Bahamian culture at all. The location is incredible, but the hotel is empty and that says a lot about the experience they provide and bad reviews they receive continuously. I stay in 50 hotels a year, if not more and am a gold member of hotels.com, an AIRBNB super host and have travelled to dozens of countries. Don’t go here, don’t even step foot on the property or you could be arrested for calling someone an idiot.

BTW RUI, swearing isn’t illegal in any country. Look it up.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank rideshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui D, General Manager at Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rideshare,

I am glad that you have the forum to express yourself and how your hotel experience transpired, from your point of view.

We never want anyone to have a bad experience with anything we do, but language that is insulting, should not be used.

Thank you for writing.

Rui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I travel in the Caribbean on business and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Plenty of outlets to plug in electronics. Friendly bartender and tasty food. I only stayed one night but will be back when I am in Nassau. For the price, it cannot be beat.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Normally stay at British Colonial Hilton - prices there have gone up and in the past coworkers have had issues with inconsistent billing.

So, when our group chose this one (BTW nice to see BCH has some competition), we were not sure what to expect.

The lobby/bar/restaurant area is nice and open with plenty of tables, chairs, and TVs - very conducive to friendly conversations.

Rooms were very comfortable.

Staff seemed a lot friendlier than the staff in BCH - IMHO.

Only complaint would be excessive heat in the elevator.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank gmp696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui D, General Manager at Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear gmp696,

We were glad to read that you now have an alternative of hotel choices with our property, The Marriott Courtyard in Nassau. We strive to make our guests enjoy themselves by being friendly and providing the appropriate service.

Please return soon.

Rui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Rooms are spacious and clean and the food is excellent. The entire staff from the check-in desk to the maids are so accommodating and helpful. Just loved being a part of the "junkanoo" experience. At anytime you can stroll down Bay Street and get a rich taste of what Nassau has to offer

Room Tip: Ask for pool side. You get a bonus by also seeing the rich turquoise waters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenderick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruidomingues60, General Manager at Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Kenderick K,

We were glad to read that you had a good stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Nassau.
Indeed we are centrally located and are happy that the check-in and room attendants were helpful.
Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,672 reviews
13.1 km away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
417 reviews
5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range: RM882 - RM1,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most out of your Bahamas getaway with a stay at Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach. Outfitted with modern Caribbean décor, our spacious rooms offer a serene and relaxing atmosphere by providing welcoming beds and stunning coastal views. Satisfy your cravings with the delicious on-site cuisine at our hotel restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, serving healthy breakfasts, dinner entrées and evening cocktails. Relax after a busy day in Nassau at our resort-style pool under the sun or walk just a few steps to the famous Junkanoo Beach. Stay fit at our on-site fitness center, providing free weights and cardiovascular equipment. Whether stopping by one of the small shops around downtown, our hotel provides easy access to experience the authentic local flair of Nassau. Following an adventurous day, unwind in our sleek lobby lounge and stay in touch with friends and family back home via our free, property-wide Wi-Fi. Join us for a stay in the Bahamas and create unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing