We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 17 April 2012

awesome awesome place to visit. Very relaxing and we enjoyed our stay. It is located in down town Nassau and close to pretty much everything. The staff was very attentive but we found the food was over priced and just so so. They have their own private beach which we liked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always grateful for your feedback and are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our location and the friendliness of our staff are often the highlight of many reviews. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,574 - 2,578 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I must start by saying that this was a holiday I won so I wasnt not having to pay for the room, just the food and drink so in that sense I couldnt have been more happy really. I am not sure if some of the more negatives are due to the fact that it was a prize and not paid for so my review may not reflect the hotels normal standards.
The beach is beautiful and its nice seeing the cruise liners going in and out although this could be a negative for some.
The room was very small and dark and had no balcony so if you didnt get showered and go out, you was stuck with doom and gloom. I quite like to sit on the balcony for an hour or so with a drink and relax in the early evening.
The reception staff seemed disorganised and didnt have a room for us or really know what was going on. I assume thats because it wasnt a standard booking but not sure. It was pretty frustrating at times.
The staff on the beach were lovely and also in the bar and I can highly recommend the buffet breakfast!!!!
We went most evenings to Atalantis most evenings as there is lots to do and its a amazing place.
I think it would be fair to say that there are many more nicer holiday hotels on the island and this seemed more like a business hotel for me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allibongo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach and that our staff took great care of you, however, we are disappointed that we didn't meet all of your expectations. Please be advised that we do offer different room types and we encourage our guests to specify their preferences at the time of booking.

Thank you once again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and courteous. The grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed the pool and beach immensely. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We take great pride in providing our guests with the perfect stay and are delighted to hear that you loved our property. Thank you for this wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at the British Colonial Hilton. While the employees are very nice (as are most of the Bahamian people), we would stay elsewhere if we visited again. The hotel is situated in downtown Nassau which we found good for only two reasons: 1) it's a close walk to Awack Cay for their delicious fish fry and 2) it's a close walk to the ferry we took to get to Paradise Island. The British Colonial Hilton's beach is approximately 300' wide and is not connected to other beaches so romantic walks on the beach are limited as are the chances of collecting shells. It was somewhat interesting to see cruise ships enter and leave port, but that is truly the only view you have. We dined at the hotel's restaurant, Aqua, one evening which was mediocre and over-priced, as were most meals in Nassau. Bottom line: we wished we would have stayed on Paradise Island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

While our location has been considered to be prime by many reviewers, we regret that it did not prove to be advantageous for you. We are pleased however that you experienced the niceness of our staff and the Bahamian people in general.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We visited Nassau via the Brirtish Colonial Hilton based on the centralized location to downtown Nassau. After previous trips staying at the Wyndham Crystal Palace on Cable Beach, this trip was designed to change things up a little bit. In some respects we were verey pleased - the location to downtown Nassau with the shopping and restaurants was very cool. We could see the massive cruise ships coming and going in the morning and evening, but at the same time the hotel had a quiet isolation to it - there was a very small private beach area and a nice sized heated pool. You had plenty of lounge chairs, thatched huts and cabanas to choose from - all at no additional cost, and the service around the pool and beach was very good. Everyone pretty much snorkled and we saw many schools of fish, including some small swordfish swimming right up against the walls of the pier. My wife used the complimentary kayak and she had a blast. The room itself was kept clean (the maid service was very good), but as others have noted, the water pressure was very low and hard to maintain a hot shower for more than 20 seconds at a time. In addition, the A/C was preset to 78 degrees (could not open any windows in our room) and we had to call downstairs on 4 occasions have the temperature adjusted to a cooler range, ending up with an energy surcharge on our bill. There is a McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, and a local restaurant right across the street giving you some more modestly priced options for eating out. The hotel is a short 25 minute ride from the airport. It is an older hotel but has been modernized as of 2009. It really depends on what you are looking for - this hotel had its own beach, but it was not nearly as good as Cable Beach or over at Altantis. But, as said before, it was very peaceful and quiet - you did not have to fight for chairs or spots around the pool area, and services were good. For Spring Break, the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.5 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,671 reviews
5.5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
403 reviews
4.8 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
2.9 km away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: RM877 - RM1,848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing