We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Pass”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spend the day here in March 2012. The staff was friendly. The bartenders seemed very busy, but took care of you quickly. The beach area was a little more crowded than we thought it would be. There were also a couple of broken chairs, which was disappointing, because that was the only two chairs available by the time we arrived around noon. My children enjoyed the "beds" beside the pool. We were able to secure one of those to lounge on later in the afternoon after some of the crowd thinned out! The pool area was nice and well maintained. I appreciated the nice clean poolside restrooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JenPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your day visit with us and hope that you will return.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,575 - 2,579 of 3,445 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Spent two nights here. Beautiful old hotel and grounds. Rooms nicely appointed (but small). Restaurant and food prices and quality average for a hotel. Nice outdoor pool, small beach on the bay. Staff very attentive and helpful. Recommend highly and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghharriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that you will highly recommend and return. Hopefully your next stay is an extended stay.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

awesome awesome place to visit. Very relaxing and we enjoyed our stay. It is located in down town Nassau and close to pretty much everything. The staff was very attentive but we found the food was over priced and just so so. They have their own private beach which we liked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always grateful for your feedback and are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our location and the friendliness of our staff are often the highlight of many reviews. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I must start by saying that this was a holiday I won so I wasnt not having to pay for the room, just the food and drink so in that sense I couldnt have been more happy really. I am not sure if some of the more negatives are due to the fact that it was a prize and not paid for so my review may not reflect the hotels normal standards.
The beach is beautiful and its nice seeing the cruise liners going in and out although this could be a negative for some.
The room was very small and dark and had no balcony so if you didnt get showered and go out, you was stuck with doom and gloom. I quite like to sit on the balcony for an hour or so with a drink and relax in the early evening.
The reception staff seemed disorganised and didnt have a room for us or really know what was going on. I assume thats because it wasnt a standard booking but not sure. It was pretty frustrating at times.
The staff on the beach were lovely and also in the bar and I can highly recommend the buffet breakfast!!!!
We went most evenings to Atalantis most evenings as there is lots to do and its a amazing place.
I think it would be fair to say that there are many more nicer holiday hotels on the island and this seemed more like a business hotel for me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allibongo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach and that our staff took great care of you, however, we are disappointed that we didn't meet all of your expectations. Please be advised that we do offer different room types and we encourage our guests to specify their preferences at the time of booking.

Thank you once again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and courteous. The grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed the pool and beach immensely. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We take great pride in providing our guests with the perfect stay and are delighted to hear that you loved our property. Thank you for this wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.5 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,672 reviews
5.5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
416 reviews
4.8 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
2.9 km away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: RM882 - RM1,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing