We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Hilton British Colonial”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I always stay at this hotel due to its proximity to downtown, to ferries for Paradise Island, and to an ADEQUATE beach. It is not an expansive sandy beach but if you are just coming or going from a trip, it is a GREAT place to relax. Drink prices on the beach are high ($10.35, includes gratuity, for one drink). Pool area now has "upgraded" to cabanas with white sheets on foam mattresses, surrounded by muslin curtains. I did not care for these. How often are these sheets freshened? Beach chairs had adjustable "hoods" to protect bathers from sun rays. Rooms are immaculate. Beds are so so so comfortable. It may not be 5 star but it has charm. Balconies would be nice but ... they don't have them. Very secure... need a valid room key card to even get in the elevators. I will ALWAYS recommend BC...

Room Tip: Nassau always gets a "bad rap". Nassau is a great city. You see real life workers, student...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank platelet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,548 - 2,552 of 3,438 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I rate this property as average as it is really suited only for business travel. It is located right downtown so for business this is quite convenient but if on vacation I can't imagine staying in this location. The majority of the rooms don't have balconies and half of the rooms overlook the busy downtown street. Rooms have been renovated and are clean but bathrooms are really tiny. There are add on costs such as resort fees, power fees, cleaning fees plus taxes. A quoted price of $269 ended up costing $330.
There is no beach and you are downtown overlooking the cruise ship terminal.
Vacation property? I think not.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrimeTimeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We not only offer the conveniences that business travelers find useful, but also the comfort, atmosphere, dining, proximity to everything, and the staff that can assist in planning and realizing the leisure vacation of your dreams. We regret that we did not showcase the later to you.

Should you decide to return, we would be happy to set up a canopy and a bucket of ice cold beers on our 300ft private beach to get your vacation started.

Thank you again once again.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Checked in the hotel day of and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were fabulous, great views of the harbor and cruise ships, very comfortable beds, and a fantastic bathroom. Bathrooms have tub and shower and plenty of room in between. Appreciated the tile floors in the rooms as opposed to carpeting. Much cleaner feeling. Front Desk staff was very helpful in securing room. Lindale in the Bullion bar was wonderful. The beach was lovely, the grounds were very well manicured and lush, and the entire resort was immaculate. My best experience was at the restaurant Aqua. The Conch Trio appetizer was great as was the Pappardelle Pasta dish with Shrimp, Chicken and Kielbasa. Best meal I have had in a long time - kudos to the Chef and staff. As a Hilton Honors member I try to stay at Hilton properties whenever I can, and am so glad I chose the British Colonial Hilton. Thank you to the General Manager and all the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely want a water view if possible with view of Cruise Ships!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our staff, in particular the team at Acqua, is very pleased to hear such great feedback.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just returned from Nassau, Bahamas. My husband and I stayed at the British Colonial Hilton. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked a room on the Executive Floor, which gave us access to the executive lounge - well worth it. Morning continental breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks and nibblies in the evening - most days we had a big lunch and the food served for cocktail hour was enough. The lounge is on the 7th floor (no kids allowed) and has great views both inside and a balcony to sit outside. The hotel staff were very pleasant and the beach and pool were not very busy. Great views and great location. Paradise Island ferry ($4/person) is a 5 minute walk as is downtown Nassau. If you plan to buy any jewelry - haggle for the best price - it is expected. Plan a day at Paradise Island - I recommend Cabbage Beach - no crowds and you get some waves and a constant breeze. Versailles garden was a hidden gem as well.

Room Tip: Choose the executive floor for access to the executive lounge - you'll save on breakfast and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Executive Lounge is indeed considered a great asset by many of our guests. Furthermore, thank you for including tips on the island as I'm sure other readers will find them useful.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Me ( 60 Y old ) and my wife (52 Y old ) from Montreal,Canada book a trip via Vacance Air canada to travel for one wk April 24th, 2012 and we stay in this fantastic, clean hotel. There Mrs Maria Marquez,hotel journey ambassador, was extremly helpful for us. In the room you have an empty fridge and a cofee/tee maker for your own uses. A nice LCD TV screen, air conditions and a huge bathroom, very very clean room and the bed is confortable. This Hotel has everything we wanted, a spectacular beach, crystal water, a view on the huge cruize boats ( 4 or 8 / day ) which are not polluting the beach, barely you can hear the boats. Then you , can have an open buffet breakfast for $ 20 or à la carte , or have Mc Donald and Dunken Donats , 100 feet infront of the hotel. We try three restaurants outside the hotel ( all very very good food ) and we walk every nite to the downtown, it is 300 ft from the hotel. We took the ferry ( $ 4 /each - one way ) to Altantis hotel, and we went to a trip to Rose island ... so, we prefered this formula , to be near bahamas charm, and far from Atlantis complex ( as you will feel you are @ Las Vegas ). For your budget , if you go to any restaurant , be ready to spend $ 50 / person ( including 15% added tips ) . There is a grosserie market near the Hotel ( 5 minutes walking)- ask a local person where to find , prices are the same in Canada.
Taxi to Atlantis ( $11 + $ 2 bridge entrance ). People are very nice ... Definetly we are coming back as we could not finish our trips there ( we had 3.5 days rain out of 7 days ). but the temperature is warm .

Room Tip: We were in a room facing the harbor ( pool & beach view )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NassauHiltonManager, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

It was a pleasure to read of your positive experience and I am sure many readers will find details included to be helpful.

Maria sends her regards and wanted me add that it was a pleasure serving you.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.5 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,671 reviews
5.5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
397 reviews
4.8 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
2.9 km away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: RM878 - RM1,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing