We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location, bad advice on where to walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

It is a beautiful hotel right in downtown Nassau. The hotel and services were very good. They suggested we walk to a nice restaurant they recommended (Luciano's). The one criticism is that there are areas on the main street (Bay Street) that are unsafe to walk after dark that we should have been warned about. It would have been safer to take a taxi.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank geneking331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCHiltonNassau, Public Relations Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm Hilton Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We appreciate your positive critique and will share your feedback with the relevant departments for review and action.

We look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,013 of 3,447 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasant 7 night stay. Staff were very friendly. Checked in by Levado who was very welcoming and accommodating. Beach was very clean with plenty of loungers and water was crystal clear despite proximity of cruise ships. The hotel provided complimentary snorkels and kayaks which were great for the children. The pool was also nice with lots of loungers. Halfway through our stay a number of the cushions disappeared from the pool loungers and cabanas which was disappointing.

We did not eat at the hotel but the central location meant that there was plenty of choice for bars and restaurants a 2 minute walk away. The adjasant construction site was not problematic to us. The room we had was large and housekeeping did a great job.

If you want glitz this is probably not the hotel for you but if you want to relax in nice surroundings I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCHiltonNassau, Public Relations Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm Hilton Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. It warms our heart to know that our Team Members helped to make your stay an exciting and memorable one. We will extend your commendation to our Team Member Lavardo!

Thank you for highlighting our private beach and pool and our prime location in downtown Nassau. We have found that our new and repeat visitors love our proximity to the heart of the city as well.

We look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Our family of 4 (with 2 teens) booked an Exec Harbour 2-double bed room, with corner view on the 6th floor. We upgraded on the second night to an Exec one-bedroom king with double pull-out sofa and rollaway in separate room, which not only also had the lovely harbour view but loads more space, for a minimal additional charge. This location can't be beat with museums and galleries, restaurants, and shopping from local artisans to designer shops all within a couple blocks, not to mention the hotel's private, groomed beach and lovely garden/pool area. HHonors membership free wifi was excellent everywhere on the property, even the beach. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly, food and service at beach cafe and Aqua restaurant were better than we expected, and beach staff and housekeeping always smiled and asked if we needed anything. Exec lounge had light, tastey options that suited our needs, with unbeatable views of incoming and outgoing cruise ships - perfect with a cup of latte and croissant at sunrise and a glass of wine and canapes at sunset. Thank you to all the staff, and especially Jaimi at the front desk for taking such great care of us!

Room Tip: Always ask at check-in about upgrade availability/cost. Exec lounge well-worth the additional cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the4travellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCHiltonNassau, Public Relations Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm Hilton Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. It warms our heart to know that our Team Members helped to make your stay an exciting and memorable one. We will extend your commendation to our Team Member Jaimi!

Thank you for highlighting our Food & Beverage outlets, our private beach and pool and our prime location in downtown Nassau. We have found that our new and repeat visitors love our proximity to the heart of the city as well.

We look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Only one might there but pleasant experience. All staff very friendly and willing go help. Nice pool area with view over the huge cruise ships arriving in the morning and leaving same evening.
Works in progress so a bit of a spoilt view, but no noise from the work site.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank 270,766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCHiltonNassau, Public Relations Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm Hilton Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. It warms our hearts to know that our Team Members helped to make your stay an exciting and memorable one.

Thank you for highlighting our private beach and pool areas.

As a developing island there are lots of projects currently underway in the Downtown area which, in the end, will boost the overall experience for our visitors. We expect that when construction in the area is complete there will be additional parking, entertainment and dining options for all to enjoy.

We trust that you will return in the near future to witness the growth of our property and Downtown, Nassau.

We look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

In short, not up to Hilton standards (I have stayed at many of them) and deeply flawed under the new Chinese ownership. It is a stately old building feel, has a beautiful small beach, but there is nothing to do - strictly a nice business hotel.

We had one of the best suites in the house with a stunning view. The room was attractively furnished, Hilton style with just a tiny bit of flair and with a couple of exceptions (deep gouges in the wooden floor) well maintained. Most of the staff were exceptionally nice. The air conditioning was perfect - the latest renovation has the rooms up to modern standards (except for the water pressure on the 6th floor). It is a shame the windows could not be opened - there was a marvelous breeze the whole time.

The hallways are meticulously maintained, all but the ceiling. On the sixth floor a number of the cheap ceiling tiles were sagging, and several had water stains. I could see improvised roof repairs from the Executive Lounge - looks like they didn't care enough to clean up water damage inside.

Mold in the sink trap was not removed despite a request so I got a whiff of black mold with every use of the sink. Water pressure was so low the nice bathtub became just a decoration. The shaving mirror was worn out (pointed to the floor) and an attempt to fix it failed - useful only for someone under 5 feet. The ice machine broke and took days to fix. A request for ice was never honored.

Be prepared to be nickled and dimed to death. Even booking on a huge number of Hilton Honor points did not save me from many fees. Be aware there is a mandatory tip for the maids - $5.00 - which I agree with, but keep it in mind if you are polite enough to tip separately. $2.50 delivery fee for anything.

The Executive Lounge is quite nice by Hilton standards - just a little small - with a spectacular view of the harbor and cruise ships. There is an open (free) bar 5:00-7:00 PM - rail drinks, nothing better. Burt breakfast food at the lounge would be embarrassing even for a Hilton Express.

For six dollars plus a whole look of tax and service charge, you can get an Executive Upgrade for breakfast in Aquos. The breakfast buffet is not up to Hilton standards, not even Hilton Garden Inn standards. And if you want eggs, there is always a long line for made to order eggs - none are prepared in advance. The coffee is not up to standards. The highlight was the bacon - cooked American style to perfection. At least service was a tiny bit better than at night.

The Chinese are building a major extension, but at a glacial pace. Looks like the locals have to train Chinese laborers working for a Chinese contractor. Expect construction noise on the West end for a couple of years. The only sign of rapid progress is on the new restaurant being finished in the complex - Chinese of course. It looks very nice on the outside, fitted out with Crate & Barrel on the inside..

There is almost no entertainment in the hotel, just singers in the bar. Keep in mind that there is absolutely nothing to do in Nassau at night except eat and drink. One of the TVs hooked up to my computer by HDMI cable, so at least we had Netflix. But the older TV was so old it did not have HDMI, only USB.

The restaurant Aquos serves very good but horribly overpriced food in the evening. Service is really bad. The wait persons were the least friendly of the Bahamians we met. Probably comes from the mandatory 15% service charge.The décor is good.

I was so dissatisfied with hotel food I ordered Pizza delivered from Pizza Hut - it was good and being able to buy beer for delivery at a reasonable price was a plus. But I now know that several really good (although expensive) restaurants are within a couple of blocks closer to the dock and not that busy once the boat people leave to dinner on ship.Arriving Sunday evening, the bell staff consisted on one Bellman and a young man out of uniform who delivered the bags. No receipt for bags left with the Bellman. Nice young man, but a bit disconcerting that he did not look like a hotel employee.

There is a small but very nice beach, a very nice pool, and the grounds are well maintained if entirely boring. Not as good as the Hilton Curacao or Caribbean Hilton.

The daily parade of monstrous ships in and out of the small harbor is by far the best feature of the Hilton.

Room Tip: The west end is a little noisy due to construction but has the better views. Lower floors might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCHiltonNassau, Public Relations Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm Hilton Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us.

We appreciate your positive critique. Your feedback is very valuable to us. It plays a crucial role in helping us to pin point areas of improvement.

Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for immediate review.

We look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.5 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,672 reviews
5.5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
416 reviews
4.8 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
2.9 km away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: RM882 - RM1,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing