We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEH”
Review of El Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Greco Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 25 July 2017

This is by far one of the worst places i've stayed. Dirty, unfriendly, bugs...and frankly, it feels a bit unsafe. It's in a street corner that looks very unsafe and messy. While waiting for my room, the lobby was filled with bugs that wouldn't stop pestering me. The 'lobby' was open and HOT AS HELL! Now the room looked basic; i'd say you get what you pay for but i've been to hotels for the same price in the UK and it was sooooo much better. I got a used roll of toilet paper; the water smelled awful the first night; there were 3 locks on the door which terrified me--i only had the key for one; only ONE button worked on the remote; the bathroom window opened up into the HALLWAY! The balcony was a mess! It was not the best experience but if you're on a budget, i guess, don't expect too much.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jo-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

i loved it. they get the best staff award .my room was larger than my room at the hilton. thought they should have warned me i would be sharing the balcony . luckily that happened with only 2 days left on my trip. you are a few steps away from augusta liquor store ice cold water for a 1 dollar. the daily grind on the corner Wi-Fi food and cocktails. and across the street from beach 5min walk to downtown. my room was clean and bed was comfortable. the tv is tricky. because you cut the power off from the switch on the wall but they had no problem with helping me and you do get one remote because you only need one and there was plenty of channels to choose from. the front desk staff was friendly and kept up with me .letting me know where to get the best conch salad or whatever i wanted to see or do. yes the bathroom fixtures could could be replaced so that didn't ruin my experience because everything is clean and i had no water issues. not sure why someone said you need to bring towels i had towels. several times i had to turn the air off it worked fine in my room. You have to go to front desk to get ice but i didn't know till 4 days after because when housekeeping saw me they took my ice bucket and got it for me. warning there is no elevator there is only 2 floors so if you don't do steps make sure you get a 1st.floor room .most of the rooms balconies open to the pool area only a few to the street. my room faced the street. it would be nice if they had drinks and snacks at the tiki hut at the pool .Im sure guest would enjoy that. The beach charges you 25 dollars for umbrella chase lounge and 2 cocktails but you can just lay out on a towel . Or walk about 2minutes towards the fush fry snd there are benches under coconut trees .i don't come to Nassau to stay in the room so clean comfortable everything worked and friendliness worked great for me. I'll be back for junkanoo

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank jackiebisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Slightly worried after reading reviews but I loved this hotel! Location awesome right across from beach, water hot despite what others said. Tv/remotes fine. Staff Wonderful!!! The ladies on reception were amazing- our family of 5 arrived early and they stored all our bags whilst we had lunch. Our room was always clean and our shared balcony was lovely. The evening staff offered to book a taxi for our trip with pigs the next day and the day we left they stored our cases until 4pm. OMG I love this place and I will definitely be back - amazing people amazing place and I had a wonderful holiday- thanks guys xx

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks vacation here and we loved the place! As we arrived the staff were mopping the floor, everywhere was clean and the staff were very friendly. Must apologise for my wife covering the carpet in sand daily but the rooms were cleaned every day! The location couldn't be better, right opposite the beach, couple of bars and cafes across the road, 10 min stroll to the fish fry one way and town centre the other. Enjoyed it so much we are booking again in December for the Junkanoo festival! Thank you for a memorable stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LewisNicholl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at, and it comes from a person who doesn't even mind staying at hostals, not only it's dirty and dusty... they charge you $20.00 upon arrival for "resort fees" is far from a resort, they say they have wifi but it comes and goes the signal is awful, you can only watch one channel on the tv because they only have one remote for al tv's and they know all this in advance... I got to Nassau after so many hours of travel and I only needed some rest which I couldn't get because I was sneezing all night from so much dust around me and not only that, there were mosquitos inside my room flying around which wouldn't let me sleep and the first thing I saw when I arrive it was roaches! I wouldn't even eat there, here are some pictures of the dirtiness that I encounter

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stefka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.5 km away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#20 of 36 in Nassau
256 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
0.2 km away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#19 of 36 in Nassau
405 reviews
15.6 km away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
3.4 km away
Bay View Suites Paradise Island
Bay View Suites Paradise Island
#14 of 14 in Paradise Island
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Hotel

Address: West Bay St | At Augusta St, P.O. Box N-4187, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: RM474 - RM580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Greco Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Greco is Nassau's premier historic boutique hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Nassau, across from fun-filled Junkanoo Beach and in short walking distance to shopping, entertainment and historic sites. Our prices include all taxes, free telephone calls to the US and Canada, free local calls and free use of the internet. At the El Greco each and every guest is treated like family and made to feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Greco Nassau
Hotel El Greco
El Greco Hotel Nassau, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing