We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Seas Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Islander(Freeport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,398)
Filter reviews
1,398 results
Traveller rating
241
398
321
197
241
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
398
321
197
241
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleport lucayabedroom condobeautiful beachlaid backlobsterrented a carpool and hot tubthe resort offersgold rock beachrelaxing vacationparadise covebad reviewsnice resortwater sportshamburgertory
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,398 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Every year we plan 2 trips to the Island Seas Resort. While it's not the Ritz, the accommodations are clean, well appointed and maintained. Overall the resort is beautiful and is recovering well from the hurricane damage. There are lots of activities right there on the resort and the staff is exceptional. Sonya, Trenetta, Winton and Navarro are consummate professionals, who greet everyone in such a friendly way. Adrian does a great job making sure the beach and pool area are maintained well. The bartenders (Jermaine, Renaldo and Corey) are very friendly and Tim does a great job during karaoke on Tues and Thurs nights. While the restaurant menu is not extensive the food is good. Also, there are other places to eat within walking distance along the beach, which is beautiful.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank debc424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

After reading the reviews I was prepared for a bad hotel. I found Island Seas to be perfectly fine. It is not luxurious by any means but our room was very large and clean, the grounds were well maintained, the staff was welcoming, and the beach was quite beautiful.

We spent most of our time at the beach where staff is ready to provide you with free lunge chairs. The beach is a bit sparse - only a few palm trees and no umbrellas, so if you want shade get there early to stake out a spot. There are women selling things on the beach who will approach you, but they are not too aggressive. The sand is white, clean, and soft. There are areas where there are many small rocks and shells from the tides, but overall it is quite nice and easy to talk on.

The water itself is extremely beautiful and clear. Upon walking in we saw fish right away. It stays quite shallow - we were mostly up to our knees. No matter how far I went, the deepest it got was to my shoulders. You run into rocks and coral pretty quickly, but it is easy to avoid and did not bother us.

Happy hour at the bar is from 2 - 7 and drinks are only $4, so we tried to keep it to those hours. It does take a pretty long time to get a drink, but oh well - it's a time to relax and not hurry anyway.

Food here is perfectly fine, some of it even quite good, but there are also 3 restaurants in walking distance along the beach. You can also take a $12 cab to Port Lucaya for shopping and restaurants, or rent a scooter from across the street for $68 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms on the ocean side are cleaner and nicer vs rooms on the canal side
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank saragrace2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Do not go here if you expect an beautiful unit. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The floor of our unit was really dirty. I washed my feet every night and the wash cloth was black with dirt. I did not want to get dirt from my feet on the beading. I walked with bare feet in the unit most of the time. The unit did not have cooking tools. The staff did deliver mostly what we needed after it was requested. The dish soap did not effectively clean the bowls etc. The pool was large and well maintained. The air conditioners were rusted and dripping water. The beach was adequate, but it is right on the ocean. The snorkeling great and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank shirleywb4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The grounds at Island Seas are immaculate, from the lawns, to the pool to the pristine beach. We requested a main floor unit, as there are no elevators. While the room was dated and in need of some repairs, it was clean and the kitchen was fairly well appointed (4 each of plates, bowls, cups) however there was a distinct lack of cutlery. When we arrived there was one towel, face cloth and hand towel. A staff member was quick to add more, once requested. The proximity of all rooms to the pool and the beach was excellent as the buildings form a courtyard effect.

If your goal is to do the tourist stuff, rent a car, as there is very little within walking distance. The resort does have on site water sports (run by a private company, not the resort) and does have excursions available, however other than the one "grocery run" on Monday, you have to hire a taxi or rent a car if you want to visit places in town (i.e. Lucaya Marketplace or International Bazaar).

Check in is at 16:00. We arrived at the resort at approximately noon and did not get into our room until almost 17:30. Would strongly recommend having a swim suit/shorts in your carry-on luggage so that you can change and enjoy the pool/ocean while you wait for your room.

We went in search of sun, sea and quiet and rewarded with exactly that.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Island Seas Resort is comfortable & fun. Right on the beach, warm gorgeous water. The pool is large & there is a hot tub. There are lounge chairs & some palm trees if you don't want to lie in the sun, the beach is small, but you can walk in either direction for long walks. The rooms are clean & spacious, fully equipped kitchens. Coconuts has Happy hour every day at 4:00, the drinks are fun & substantial. There is a restaurant on site & the food was good, especially for breakfast. Coconuts fast food was great. There's a free shuttle to Port Lucaya. Five restaurants in walking distance. There are lots of options too for tours and excursions. You can never please everyone, some of the other reviews are ridiculous, if you want a relaxing vacation this is the place, reasonable & quiet, if you want to complain about every little thing, go somewhere else. I have been to many resorts in the Bahamas & this measures up to any of them. We really enjoy Island Seas Resort, by the way, this is a resort, not a hotel, you don't get housekeeping every day, once a week, to obtain more towels etc, just ask, they are more than accommodating in bringing them to you. Remember, this is an island, everything is laid back.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank b0bbie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews