We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,097)
Filter reviews
3,097 results
Traveller rating
1,024
1,080
513
251
229
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,024
1,080
513
251
229
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street breakers cay ocean view infinity pool all inclusive package lighthouse point cigar bar cruise ship day pass beautiful resort grand celebration swim up bar per person banana boat straw market pool side fish fry
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 3,097 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The Grand Lucayan did not start off well with a solid 45 minute wait time to check in. Followed by an "all inclusive" package that was anything but and a staff that looked at you like you just killed their dog if you ask for any service at the bar or restaurants. The website is complete false advertising as around 75% of the resort is shut down and will not be reopening, but they still advertise it to you as open so you will book the trip. A very shady and unethical practice. They had one buffet even though they advertised several and it was filled with the most bland food that one would never expect on a buffet. One night they served tuna casserole. Is this a bahama vacation or a weekend at my grandmothers? The room was extremely musty, although to be fair most beach front hotels get that way with time. They only had one poolside bar and one lounge bar. That was it for the whole resort. Two small bars when they advertised several. Overall its very disappointing and I could never recommend to stay overnight here. It may be fun for a single day trip but it is absolutely not worth the all inclusive package to stay at the hotel. Staff is rude and slow, 75% of the resort is closed down and the rooms are average at best.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Tyler Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi Tyler Y,

We are deeply sorry to hear about your recent experience at the Grand Lucayan. We have sent you a direct message requesting your contact information so we can personally reach out and resolve this matter for you. You are a valued customer and we do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Visited this resort on a day trip from our cruise ... it was infinite fun in the infinity pool .... the wide expansive view of d Ocean merging into the sky on one nd & d pool on the other was spectacular...totally worth it

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank HarmeshK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Karmesh K,

We're thrilled to hear you had a great time here at Grand Lucayan. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We've stayed at Breakers Cay many time and have enjoyed the time there very much. Normally stay 6-8 days. The recent hurricane forced the closing of BC, thus we stayed at Lighthouse Pointe, suitable but not the same. We anxiously await the reopening of Breakers Cay and will return once that happens. We walked around Breakers Cay and found little damage, Churchill's restaurant even had the table set waiting for guest. The bar near the main lobby was fully stocked and again, waiting for the next customer to walk in. Everything lock up tight, actually a guard came to us and asked us to leave the property.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Al S,

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I went when they were running promotions with Airtran, which tells you how long ago it was. Very nice place and as a bonus we watched a wedding from the infinity pool. A nice place to visit indeed it is.

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank charleyb418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi charleyb418,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We'd love to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel, the wait time to check in was longer than usual. We stood there for almost an hour before someone took care of our reservation. Secondly, the customer service in general was below average quality. I felt I was being treated with disdain. As if it wasn’t enough, when we went to sleep in our bed there was distintictive smell in our room. It smelled like urine, but we weren’t sure of this until late in the night when the air conditioning broke down and the smell really hit us. We decided to uncover the sheets and sadly discovered there was a huge stain of pee in the bed. We had been sleeping on urine all night! Well, of course we complained to the manager about this issue and her attitude wasn’t the best. She seemed defensive at first, and she had no choice but to refund us for our stay. Even though she gave us our money back, I have to say she didn’t handle the matter properly. If a customer had a bad experience, she should have made an extra effort to make up up for the bad experience, beyond just refunding us for the terrible service.

I know for a fact that we weren’t the only ones who were given a disgusting room. I met a couple who were given a room full of bugs, and when they were moved to another room, the sheets were dirty.

Lastly, the tardiness of the staff who picked us up from and to our cruise ship was also an issue. They were late both times.

It is a pity that our experience was a nightmare at this place. The beaches in Bahamas are beautiful, I know because I’ve been to it’s beaches many times, and not once have I had my vacation ruined due to the bad quality of service offered. It was just a waste of our time and money, and being exposed to pee in our bed was a risk you our health and well being.

I would just say that if a customer has a bad experience like we did, then management should go above and beyond to compensate us for our bad time. A refund is just not enough. Of a course a refund should be given, but also, management should shown care and a deep concern for their bad service, and in this case, their attitude was just unacceptable. If I was the manager, I would have begged the customer to come back, and to please give me another chance to make it it up to him or her.

I would have offered and extra day at the hotel, or something special that would have shown care and commitment.

Here are the pictures with the mattress full of urine.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Jose,

We are deeply sorry to hear about your recent experience at the Grand Lucayan. We have sent you a direct message requesting your contact information so we can personally reach out and resolve this matter for you. You are a valued customer and we do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews