We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place on earth to re-boot your engines.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spirit House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cat Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
danny b
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best place on earth to re-boot your engines.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in March 2013

This house sits on a hill overlooking the most amazing beach I've ever seen anywhere. You can walk for an hour in any direction and not run into another person. The ocean is calm and crystal clear on this side of the island and we experienced the most incredible sunsets every night and then laid around under the stars that looked like they're so close you could touch them. This is a great place to slow down, take a step back and really get of the grid for a bit. Great place to be creative, write, read, think, enjoy the people you're with without the phone ringing every I've minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The crystal clear water and beach's.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamiraWit...
Poznan, Poland
1 review
“Wonderful place - paradise on Earth"”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2013

It is not easy to find words to describe paradise... It's incredible. I flew from London to Nassau, stayed there three nights and then took short flight to Cat Island. The owner - Andrew picked me up from the airport and drove me to the house. Amazing experience to have the ocean so close, everyday... sand on every beach is so delicate, the ocean so beautiful, and what is the most important thing - it's so peaceful and quiet, perfect place to relax. And if you have to, or want to, you can also work - internet is working, so I could finish my publications looking at the ocean. The house is very luxurious, I loved my bedroom. And I loved fresh fruits from the garden for breakfast... After 10 days I wanted to stay there forever! Now I am planing next visit, this time with my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beach and homelike atmosphere
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessandr...
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A magical place nestled on a hill top between the ocean and the Bahamian forest.”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had the luck of getting to know about this hidden and magical place. The house is spacious and beautifully decorated. The host, Andrew is super nice and makes always sure you are having the best time and gives you plenty of suggestions on what to do in the island. My room was great, loved the shower and the bed so comfortable. But more than anything, the beauty of this place is in the location, away from anything, immersed in the nature and with beautiful beaches just steps away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the house
Liked least: the bumpy road to get there, but To get to Paradise you got to suffer a bit!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise - an experience like no other”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Spirit House for 6 days on our Honeymoon. Words cannot describe the experience - just incredible! We flew from London to Nassau, stayed two nights in Nassau and then took the 40 minute flight to Cat Island. Andrew, the owner, picked us up from the Airport and drove us to the house, stopping on the way at the local super market to pick up some extra food. We also brought food from Nassau, but the local shop has most of what you need. When we arrived at the property we were just blown away. The property itself is extremely luxurious, with all necessary amenities, but it is the miles and miles of virgin sand beaches, with pristine blue water, all untouched by humans, that really takes your breath away. We organised a trip on a boat with a local islander, who took us to catch fresh fish - highly recommend too. He also brought us fresh coconuts every day.

In summary, if you want the perfect relaxing vacation, miles away from any disturbance, but completely safe and secure, the Spirit House is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach/Comfort/Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellynett...
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, quite and design”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in February 2013

I had the privilege to stay at this house, on devil's point, Cat Island. The experience was memorable. Not only the house itself is a piece of art, but the location is a dream, with a private beach and a vast garden. I would recommend to anyone, I cannot wait to go back.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$715
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing