We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably, Beautiful and Tranquil”
Review of The Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangattock Lingoed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Walking Offa’s Dyke with my family, six adults in total, we had booked B & B’s along the way and by far the most outstanding one was The Old Rectory at Llangattock-Lingoed. Run by Karen and Paul Bell they have done a staggeringly wonderful job of converting it to a B & B. We had three rooms between us, two in the main house and one in the converted barn. All rooms were spotless, extremely comfortable and nicely furnished. Karen and Paul could not have done more to make us welcome. We had booked an evening meal at the B & B and Karen proved to be a superb chef. We stayed across the Jubilee weekend and watched events unfold on a huge TV in the extremely comfortable sitting room and later went out to see the beacons alight on the hillsides. The Old rectory is perched high on a hillside with amazing views and a wonderfully large and beautiful garden. It is also adjacent to 13th century Church of St Cadoc which we all spent a fascinating hour looking around. Karen also provided each of us with a packed lunch that we all enjoyed the next day when we continued on our way. All of us said we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

After a long days hike on Offa's Dyke, we arrived at an exceptional B&B - The Old Rectory - with an exceptional host - Karen. She's originally from the ares and she and her husband bought the old rectory and conveted it to a B&B. What an outstanding job they've done! The grounds, driveways, lawns, shrubery, flowers .. all done with great taste and design. The rectory itself retains its charm and Karen says they want it to be just like a country home .. and it is. Karen was gracious enought to pick us up further along the hike that afternoon and return us to that spot the next morning. We had arranged to have our evening meal at the B&B and were treated to a gourmet dinner! Karen is a great chef and served us the best salmon dinner we've had in quite some time. Her home made dessert is to die for as well! There was one other couple staying there and after dinner, Karen joined us in a great conversation about the local area, her family ties to the area, the Welsh language and history, travel and many more topics of great interest. Our room was quite large and very comfortable and we felt well rested when we left the next morning, to continue our walk. Later that day, we enjoyed the delicious packed lunch that Karen had prepared for us. She was a treat and a very gracious host plus one we could admire for her continuing service to the surrounding community and commitment to giving back. To do all that plus offer great service to her guests makes Karen very special indeed. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Jim & Joyce Hanson
lancaster, PA

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Whether you are walking Offa's Dyke (the location could not be more convenient), or enjoying the beauty of the Welsh countryside this is an ideal stopover which is both convenient and comfortable. The Rectory has fantastic views, an expansive (beautifully kept) garden, and a sense of the past in the style and furnishing as the old rectory. The welcome is genuine, the food good (the hostess is a professional chef), bed comfortable and everywhere spotlessly clean. An evening meal is offered, which is wise as other catering is a long way away if you want a degree of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Llangattock Lingoed at the Old Rectory as this was the mid point to a 3 day walk along Offas Dyke. Our hosts Karen and Paul were fantastic. From the spotlessly clean barn to the taxi service to and from villages and the local knowledge and information from Paul, our stay was truly enjoyable. Paul and Karen have done a fantastic job renovating their barn and we look forward to staying with them in the future. We only wished we could stay longer!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A beautiful house, warm welcome and fabulous breakfast. We loved staying here.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Annieg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Llangattock Lingoed NP7 8RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Llangattock Lingoed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock Lingoed
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Llangattock Lingoed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing