We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk Back in Time..”
Review of Thirlestane Castle

Thirlestane Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lauder
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A unique 16th century turreted castle in the Scottish Borders offering castle tours and use of the grounds and children's play area. Thirlestane Castle is now closed for the winter season. Our open dates for 2018 are Sunday - Thursday from 30 April - 30 September from 10am to 4pm. Thirlestane can also be used for weddings and events, along with holiday lets through use of the castle's luxury Lauderdale Apartment.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lovely , Wonderful. ... feeling.....Grounds are beautiful... Home is warm and comfortable..... is a very picturesque fantasy looking Scottish castle packed with history. It is excellently furnished The Ancestral home of the Earls of Lauderdale. and Maitlands.... well worth a visit if you're in the area.... Thirlestane Castle is just a short drive from Edinburgh. the guides are knowledgeable and entertaining.

Thank Katarinasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are glad you find the castle inspiring too. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tea room"
in 11 reviews
"plaster ceilings"
in 4 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"volunteer guides"
in 3 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 3 reviews
"state rooms"
in 2 reviews
"soup"
in 4 reviews
"historical importance"
in 2 reviews
"ancestral home"
in 2 reviews
"pleasant visit"
in 2 reviews
"two floors"
in 2 reviews
"lovely location"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"cakes"
in 3 reviews
"car park"
in 2 reviews
"short drive from edinburgh"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Thirlestane Castle is just a short drive from Edinburgh. They very kindly opened specially for my small group of American visitors who had associatons with the Maitland Family.They were normally closed on this specific day,but we had a very warm welcome from Edward, the owner of the castle and Rhona and Jean took my visitors around the interior.There are a number of furnished rooms to see and the guides are knowledgeable and entertaining. Well worth a visit, there is a tea room serving delicious home baking and a well stocked gift shop too.

Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to show your guests around and we are very happy to do private tours such as this by prior arrangement. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Went to thirlestane castle for the weekend beautiful gardens and castle with great walks 5mins from the town of lauder we took our motor home and stayed in there caravan park clean showers and toilets well recommended nice and quiet also dont drive past it good value for money

Thank tevia406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments about both the castle and the caravan park. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This is a very picturesque Scottish castle packed with history.
Ancestral home of the Earls of Lauderdale. Inexpensive and
well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Thank EdwardHarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Lots of rooms to go round. Impressive front as you arrive here. Spectacular ceiling plaster work in a number of rooms.Amazing how much can be suspended from the ceiling - intricate designs.Helpful guides in the rooms.

Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit and we hope to welcome you back again soon. The 17th Century Dunsterfield plasterwork ceilings are certainly something to behold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirlestane Castle also viewed

 

Been to Thirlestane Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing