We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk Back in Time..”
Review of Thirlestane Castle

Thirlestane Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.14*
and up
Thirlestane Castle Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lauder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A unique 16th century turreted castle in the Scottish Borders offering castle tours and use of the grounds and children's play area. Thirlestane Castle is now closed for the winter season. Our open dates for 2018 are Sunday - Thursday from 30 April - 30 September from 10am to 4pm. Thirlestane can also be used for weddings and events, along with holiday lets through use of the castle's luxury Lauderdale Apartment.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lovely , Wonderful. ... feeling.....Grounds are beautiful... Home is warm and comfortable..... is a very picturesque fantasy looking Scottish castle packed with history. It is excellently furnished The Ancestral home of the Earls of Lauderdale. and Maitlands.... well worth a visit if you're in the area.... Thirlestane Castle is just a short drive from Edinburgh. the guides are knowledgeable and entertaining.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Katarinasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are glad you find the castle inspiring too. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tea room"
in 17 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 13 reviews
"plaster ceilings"
in 4 reviews
"tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"volunteer guides"
in 3 reviews
"short drive from edinburgh"
in 2 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 5 reviews
"state rooms"
in 2 reviews
"worth seeing"
in 2 reviews
"soup"
in 5 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 3 reviews
"spent a week"
in 2 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 3 reviews
"historical importance"
in 2 reviews
"cake"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful architecture"
in 2 reviews
"pleasant visit"
in 2 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Thirlestane Castle is just a short drive from Edinburgh. They very kindly opened specially for my small group of American visitors who had associatons with the Maitland Family.They were normally closed on this specific day,but we had a very warm welcome from Edward, the owner of the castle and Rhona and Jean took my visitors around the interior.There are a number of furnished rooms to see and the guides are knowledgeable and entertaining. Well worth a visit, there is a tea room serving delicious home baking and a well stocked gift shop too.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to show your guests around and we are very happy to do private tours such as this by prior arrangement. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Went to thirlestane castle for the weekend beautiful gardens and castle with great walks 5mins from the town of lauder we took our motor home and stayed in there caravan park clean showers and toilets well recommended nice and quiet also dont drive past it good value for money

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank tevia406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments about both the castle and the caravan park. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Lots of rooms to go round. Impressive front as you arrive here. Spectacular ceiling plaster work in a number of rooms.Amazing how much can be suspended from the ceiling - intricate designs.Helpful guides in the rooms.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit and we hope to welcome you back again soon. The 17th Century Dunsterfield plasterwork ceilings are certainly something to behold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Entered the driveway of the Castle Grounds, very grand - elderly lady attends to cars taking payment for the tickets for entry, no rush, lo-ng queue formed seemed flustered and dithery. Small car park short walk to the entrance -made very welcome and short chat on the history of the place and the Maitland family. First room there is a tour guide who I felt was extremely knowledgeable and could entertain as well as being very informative about any item of furniture, were they originated, why they were at the castle, the paintings who they were of why they were done - he opened things and explained the contents going on to say what parties and ceremonies took place there, he carried on into all rooms on the ground floor.

On the first floor there was a further tour guide but this lady seemed very awkward on her approach almost embarrassed to address you. What she said was very brief - she did explain the oldest part of the castle and where the rooms lead.

I felt the public were only allowed in a quarter of the building - possibly because it is still occupied? There was a tea room - which sold cakes/biscuits tea coffee but nothing substantial and was a flop really. Overall I have to say the visit was average no sparkle towards other castles visited.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank wheelsofsteel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry that you experienced longer than normal queues to get in. We believe this was due to a car rally that was taking place at the castle that day. Thank you for your kind comments about our guides in the front hall and we are glad you found them informative as well as entertaining. Parts of the castle do indeed remain a private home while other areas are used for events or are undergoing restoration. It is a very large building and visitors have access to a large section of the central wing. While our tea room sells drinks and a selection of homemade cakes, it also sells light lunches such as soup and sandwiches. A full menu is on all tables and available on our website. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back to Thirlestane Castle again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirlestane Castle also viewed

 

Been to Thirlestane Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing