We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, nice friendly staff, clean facilities.”
Review of Thirlestane Castle

Thirlestane Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lauder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A unique 16th century turreted castle in the Scottish Borders offering castle tours and use of the grounds and children's play area. Thirlestane Castle is now closed for the winter season. Our open dates for 2018 are Sunday - Thursday from 30 April - 30 September from 10am to 4pm. Thirlestane can also be used for weddings and events, along with holiday lets through use of the castle's luxury Lauderdale Apartment.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Lovely village location . Spacious site. Clean toilet /shower block but very cold. Friendly helpful staff.
The static caravan park was really nice.
The touring pitches were very narrow. When you step down from the van you step on to grass which was very wet and muddy. The cars are parked in front of the caravan so instead of looking over the site you are looking on to the car.
I think if a bit of money was spent on widening the the hard standing pitches so you could sit out at the side and put better lighting on the site it would bring it to a higher standard.

Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Thirlestane Castle Caravan Park which is based on the castle estate. We will pass on your kind comments to the staff there and we are glad you had a good stay. We are always striving to improve our facilities and welcome the very practical comments you have made on how we can continue to do that. We already have plans to upgrade the toilet and shower block this winter along with resurfacing the roads. We hope to welcome you back to the site soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tea room"
in 13 reviews
"plaster ceilings"
in 4 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 12 reviews
"tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"volunteer guides"
in 3 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 5 reviews
"great visit"
in 4 reviews
"soup"
in 5 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 3 reviews
"state rooms"
in 2 reviews
"historical importance"
in 2 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 3 reviews
"ancestral home"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful architecture"
in 2 reviews
"two floors"
in 2 reviews
"answer any questions"
in 2 reviews
"return visit"
in 2 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We are staying in the caravan site at Thirlestane Castle and decided to view the castle. It is a short walk along the drive to the castle and you pay at a small hut half way along the drive - the entrance fee is very reasonable and great value for an afternoon out compared to other stately homes we have visited. On first impressions it is a beautiful building with two floors available to view the rooms in. The antiquities themselves are very interesting and the staff were very friendly and knowledgable. There are interactive sections for children and something for everyone in these rooms. It was a rainy day so we didn't see much of the grounds which are large and have wonderful woodland and livestock within. We stopped for a cup of tea, home made soup and a fruit scone also home baked. The cafe is also very reasonable and offers high tea and afternoon tea options as a special treat. The girls in the cafe were also lovely. This castle could easily charge more and hopefully in the future they will be able to open up even more rooms so we can see and feel the upstairs downstairs theme. It is a family home and does have a lovely story of how it has come down the generations. Well worth a visit and we will be back.

Thank newto85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. It is good to hear that you found plenty to see and do. I will pass on your compliments to our volunteer guides and our tea room staff. We are glad to hear you will be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Interesting place to take a wander around. Rooms are interesting and staff very informative and helpful. Pleasant visit and very relaxing

Thank BD_in_TO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

In a delightful setting, the Castle is very attractive and rather unusual compared to the "standard" castle with battlements etc. The stone is a lovely colour giving it a warm appearance. Plenty of car park spaces at the front. Easy access to the lovely tea room and cute gift shop. Note the bells high up on the wall near the shops Assume they were to call the servants. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank 2010mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The castle is certainly very unique compared to many in Scotland. We have a large car park on site and several spaces at the castle for those with mobility issues. You are right, the bells in the passage were the original bells to call the servants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is the home of the Maitland family. The castle has a fine collection of paintings, furniture and porcelain. It is well worth a visit.

Thank Marietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona J, Marketing Executive at Thirlestane Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for you kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirlestane Castle also viewed

 

Been to Thirlestane Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing