We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good indeed”
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges Jump for joy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges
Jump for joy
Sango Bay
Local wildlife
Sitting room
Lodge site
Glenmorangie distillery
Bedroom
Duncansby Head cliffs
Can you count the stars?
Kitchen
View from the site
Salmon Leaping Shin Falls
Dornoch beach and sky by Keith Kerr
From the rope bridge
Pony Trekking Brora Beach
The Big Burn, a favourite walk
Royal Dornoch golf course
Winter stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rogart, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Orangefar...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Highland Glen Lodges is perfectly situated for a relaxing holiday. It is easy to get to but remote enough to be tranquil. We were welcomed and given excellent instructions on how everything worked and where things were. There was also ample documentation in the lodge that ranged from information about the lodge to leaflets about things to do in the area. While the lodge is somewhat off the beaten track the directions we were given were excellent and we found our way easily.

The location is beautiful with majestic views from the lodge. The lodge had a balcony from which to savour the view and tranquillity. It is far enough from roads that the only sounds that could be heard were sheep bleating. At night it is pitch black outside. This allows one to see the stars clearly, a sight that a city dweller like me rarely sees.

The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and came with tea and coffee making facilities (and biscuits). Each lodge has a dedicated parking space. The lodges are far enough apart and positioned in such a way that you are unlikely to catch sight or sound of your neighbours.

There is fee wifi at the lodge which was fantastic. I can think of a number of large hotels that don't provide wifi that is free and so easy to connect to.

This is well kept accommodation that is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodges and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the lodge. We are fortunate to live in such a beautiful part of Scotland and it is really gratifying to know that you enjoyed exploring the North Highlands of Scotland and we do hope that one day you will return to visit those parts that you did not manage to see.

Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in early August 2014 for one week and had a great time. The lodges are spotless, very comfortable, have everything you need and have the most stunning view across the glen to far beyond. It is an amazing view to wake up to each morning. The lodges are in a perfect location to explore Dornoch, Golspie and the Highlands. Adrian and Trude are lovely and always on hand to offer tips and recommendations of places to visit or restaurants to go to.

We have no hesitation in recommending the lodges for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay at our lodges. We really do like to hear that you all had such a great time and as there is so much to do in the North Highlands, we do look forward to welcoming you back and suggesting a few other places that you may want to explore. Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore the northern highlands.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

With the lodge having fantastic views, perched on the hillside, we found it to be the perfect base to explore the northern highlands. It's central location allowed us to take in all the stunning scenery with most of the roads meeting at Lairg, which is just down the road.
The lodge itself is modern and very comfortable and has all you need, and has that incredible view...
Thank you Adrian and Trude, we had a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our lodges and it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. The lodge's location makes it an ideal base to explore the Northern Highlands and we do hope you will return one day so that we can suggest other little gems for you to visit.
Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren B
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plenty of R and R”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How to explain the excellent week we had, dramatic views, sunny weather, fabulous walks, welcome greeting from both Adrian and is Wife Trude. We had to think long and hard to really try and give a flavour of our time at the Highland Glen Lodges.
We have travelled to Scotland for the past 6 years as a family staying in lodges in various parts, from lowlands to highlands and one thing we all agreed on, was that this was the very best by far.
The pub / restaurant in Pittentrail was excellent with Hector dishing up fabulous local cuisine.
The Lodges perched on the edge of a valley were amazing, extremely comfortable with a very high standard of décor with all the comforts of home. Hugh patio doors onto the patio framed the views down the valley to the local town of Pittentrail about a 10 minuet drive. The wildlife was amazing with rabbits, and wild mountain goats, to entertain our beast (Frasier the westie).
Every day was an adventure and we drove to all the well known spots John O Grouts and many more. The Lodge is fully stocked with an array of books on local tourist hot spots so your never stuck where to go and Adrian is a great source of knowledge on the rare occasion you did get stuck. The species of bird which came to snack on the bird feeder was a source of great entertainment for all of us and the bird books also stocked made it easy for us to identify. With out a doubt this is a stunning location, with fantastic lodges and excellent hosts. Thank you Adrian and Trude for a great time. Darren, Karen, Olivia (11) and Fraser the westie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, exceeded our expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and delighted to read what a great time you had. The North Highlands are a superb place to visit. The walks, beaches and wildlife are amazing and it is always a pleasure to suggest the best places for visitors to explore. We can not guarantee the weather but always try to make our guests time at the lodges as memorable as possible. Once again we thank you for your comments and hope that you may stay with us again on another visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion U
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a view!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Adrian, the owner, might have been explaining the facilities when we arrived, but all I could look at was the view! Sat on the top of the hill above Rogart the Lodges look right across the glen to the hills and it is spectacular! Sunrises, evening sunshine (yes, we were lucky to have both!) meant a huge pile of photos but you just had to keep taking! Even the dog sat agog at the window trying to take it all in! Lovely lodge with all the facilities you would need and great that you can take dogs too. They do have cream carpets in the living room/bedrooms which means you feel obliged to take your shoes off at the door every time you come in so take slippers or something similarl! Limited Sky tv package but wi-fi available and worked fine. Not sure how I'd feel about driving up or down the hill in winter - it is steep in places and one of the access roads is not for the faint hearted. However the second road along is much more user friendly so if you are of a nervous disposition go to that one! I can highly recommend these Lodges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing - all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
So pleased you had a great time and many thanks for taking the time to send in a review. All of the lodges are slightly different so furnishing do change but what does not change is the spectacular views! Winter can be a challenge but the more gentler access road is gritted daily so normally open to most types of cars but do bring some extra milk and other provisions then if you do get snowed in you can just sit snugly in your lodge and enjoy the peace and tranquility!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$128
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing