We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,636)
Filter reviews
8,636 results
Traveller rating
6,720
1,445
316
88
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,720
1,445
316
88
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bungalow our waiter sea plane our honeymoon kuredu island fish white party sunset cruise white night main reception room boy allocated restaurant beach restaurant north side main area all inclusive package a la carte restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
5,875 - 5,880 of 8,636 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just come back from 2 weeks at kuredu! and i have to say the island is an amazing place!

Rooms!
We had booked into a garden bungalow for the 2 weeks, when we got there we arrived in our room (378) and i had to say i was quite dissapointed with it, we payed alot of money and it just wasnt what you would expect for that amount of money! but it was ok! we then had a run in with a little furry creature in our room! a rat! i called reception and they sent someone down straight away to sort the problem out, only problem was that they couldnt find it! they then said they was a hole underneath out minbar (which was covered up in most other rooms but not ours) and that maybe the rat was coming in and out! so i went to reception and they instantly moved us to room 386 which was a beach bungalow, this room was much nicer, sam funrishing as the garden bungalow but just alot nicer! we then upgraded again in our last week to an O beach Villa which i have to say was absoultley gorgeous!!! i wish we had booked this in the first place! by staying in the o resort you were allowed to eat in any of the buffet restaurants and drink in any bar! where as in the beach and garden bungalows you could only eat in one restuarant and drink in limited bars, i do think that was quite silly as its the same all inclusive in the o resort! but never the less we were landed with out room! 263 right by the O pool and all the facilities so it was like a 2 second walk to it all! PERFECT!!!

Food in the hotel was exceptional! each night during out stay there was always something different! we ate in the francos a la carte restuarant which was lovley the pizzas are to die for!!!!

Weather
the weather was great for about a week and 1/2 of our holiday but it did rain for 2 days constantly which was a bit depressing!! i dont think id go in august again but then the weather is very unpredictable and booking in august you have to gamble the weather!!

The island
the island itself it beautiful and i cannot fault it in the slightest, the staff are amazing and will do anything to make you stay pleasent!

I would definalty go back to this place its pure paradise!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank efvalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Totally beautiful, staff went out of their way to be helpful & polite, they enjoyed serving you. Food quality amazing & something different every day. We stayed in O beach villa which was perfect location, quiet & luxurious ( although using outside bathrooms took some getting used to). Wouldn't haved wanted a garden villa, they did looked scruffy in comparison & didn't have views. Waking up to look through palm trees to the sea was breathtaking. Special touch, they decorated the bed 1 night with petals which was amazing. You are expected to tip but the staff make you feel happy to do so. Would rush back tomorrow with out a doubt. Tip for sunbathing as sun was unbearable at times, put the room sunchairs in the sea & stay immersed - you get an amazing tan through the water as well as watching all the different fish swimming past.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank P1x1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My wife and I treated ourselves to 11 nights on Kuredu between 31st July and 11th August 2010. It ain't cheap but it is a very special place and was well worth the cost.

This was our first trip to the Maldives and I suspect that Kuredu is not particularly typical of other resorts. As one of the biggest of the 1200 odd islands that make up the Maldives, Kuredu has approx. 600 staff and 750 guests at full capacity, and there are obviously many smaller, more exclusive, more luxurious (and certainly more expensive) options. Having said that, we were always amazed at how uncrowded the island felt when wandering around, and even the restaurants never seemed to be full and enjoyed a relaxed service.

We also deliberately chose Kuredu as we're not ones for pampering and lazing around day in day out. The ability to have a decent walk round the island, the ProDivers 5* PADI dive centre, the gym, the watersports, the golf etc. all attracted us. Furthermore, with our package we could eat in any of the restaurants and wander the island enjoying drinks at any bar - choice and interest you simply wouldn't get at a smaller resort.

We'd originally spotted a great sounding deal on the www, which, of course, when we rang was no longer available. Surprisingly, however, a considerably more expensive option was....but we succumbed! In hindsight, the extra was all good as we ended up with direct (BA from LGW) flights, seaplane transfers included and staying in a Jacuzzi Beach Villa (JBV) etc.

Having read many reviews on TripAdvisor I actually sent an e-mail direct to Kuredu in advance requesting a Sangu JBV, as they sounded to be at the quieter end of the island. I was told they'd do what they could but couldn't guarantee this. I'd decided I wasn't even going to bring this up at check-in as I figured any JBV would be pretty special, but we were in fact given Sangu JBV no. 150. This turned out, in our humble opinion and after all our wanderings, to be more or less the best spot on the island - very quiet, close but not too close to Sangu restaurant, the best beach/sand and on the South (sheltered/calm) side of the island.

Despite being in a Sangu JBV we were actually allocated Koamas as our main restaurant for dinner (we could breakfast or lunch at any). This wasn't a problem, as by dialling 740 you could book a table at either Sangu or 'O' for that evening (though they only allow 14 tables of 'outsiders' at each per day so get in early). Overall, we only had dinner at Koamas twice, as, although the food was equally as good, it was in our opinion the brightest, loudest (only option for under 12's), least attractive option. We ate at 'O' 3 or 4 times but primarily at Sangu, which we felt was quieter, more romantic, had the nicest setting and, by a small margin, also the best food.

This is getting very wordy, so here are some other observations in brief:

* We didn't see any rain (or much cloud) for our first 5 or 6 days, and then only a short (max. 40 mins) if heavy shower or two most days thereafter. We were expecting daily monsoons but there was nothing of the sort and the rain was actually quite exhilarating and refreshing.
* The standard of the food was consistently excellent with themed evenings and a huge choice of fresh salads, fish, meat and veggie options. My wife is a vegetarian and enjoyed by far and away the best food we've ever had on holidays around the World.
* The staff were extremely friendly and English was spoken throughout!
* The JBV's were magical, and I can't imagine what more you'd ever want - comfy 6 foot 4-poster bed, safe, A/C, big flat screen TV, small stereo (take a 3.5mm aux lead for an iPod), 'outside' bathroom/shower, small decked private 'garden' with double jacuzzi. Very comfy, very clean, straight out onto white sand and the azur lagoon.
* The 'O' resort also has cracking facilities (pool, bar, huge decked area over the ocean) and position. It's the 'trendy' option on the island.
* The main pool and bar area was very nice but predictably full of families and all day drinkers (though in no was was it like Costa del Wherever).
* We received free vouchers for a Sunset Cruise and meal at Franco's a la carte restaurant from our booking agent (DreamTicket, who were excellent but had no presence on the island, if that bothers you). Franco's was superbly romantic with great food (go for the sushi starter) served at a table on the beach, but barely worth the cost if paying yourself ($50ish per head) given the standard of the AI food.
* ProDivers were a very professional outfit, if slightly more formal than we're used to. All Instructors and boat crew were very friendly. The visibility was slightly disappointing (15-20m) but we did 10 excellent dives with some ripping drift dives and many sightings of sharks, turtles and rays. The coral isn't the best you'll see but the fish life is superb.
* The 'house' reef is great for diving and snorkelling - plenty of fish, turtles and the potential to see a Manta Ray even.
* Expect to see big bats patrolling the island at all hours, and baby (upto 2') black tip reef sharks and various types of rays cruising the shallows round the island (they'll stay well out of your way if you do the same).
* The sandflies were virtually the only pain of the whole holiday - I'm not sure there's a solution as they didn't particularly seem to object to 50% DEET. Expect to have polka dot, very itchy legs by the end!
* The golf was fun and a unique experience, though it's barely a pitch 'n' putt really and it's virtually impossible to hold the astro turf greens unless you can spin the ball like a pro!

All in all Kuredu is paradisiacal and I'd recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MRJSinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We arrived in Male after an overnight flight from the UK. The service was amazing and hassle free at Male and they efficiently got us to the right place to await our seaplane transfer. The whole experience of flying in a seaplane was amazing and the views over the Atolls were breathtaking. We didnt have any problems with waiting for our luggage after the transfer as our luggage flew with us on the same seaplane. Our first glimpses of Kuredu were so good and we honestly felt that we had arrived in paradise. It was exactly like the pictures and better and you really felt like you had arrived on a desert island. We stayed in a beach bungalow (435 - had some of the better views for a beach bungalow) and we were so pleased with it. We have read a few reviews saying that they are too basic but for the both of us who had never been anywhere even close to as exclusive/luxurious as this it was everything we needed and more. OUr beach bungalow was situated about 10m from the water's edge and had a spacious bedroom area and lovely outdoor bathroom. The food was absolutely out of this world and the chefs were really friendly. We ate in the Bonthi restaurant each night and didnt feel the need to spend any money at the A la CArte restaurants as the food was so good in our all inclusive one. We could only eat in the Bonthi restaurant because we weren't staying in the other villas (which would mean you had access to other restaurants) but this didnt bother us at all and we really didnt feel that there was a divide between the different areas as other people have reported as we were just so amazed with being in paradise! The snorkelling was amazing and we would highly recommend going on a few of the snorkel trips organised by the dive centre as they took us to some even better reefs. WE were slightly disappointed by the watersports centre as we had some problems with the 'free windsurfing equipment hire'. They said that you needed a basic knowledge of windsurfing to borrow the equipment for free but we soon found out that they were quick to tell you that you didnt have enough experience so that you would pay for a lesson which was quite overpriced (our idea of basic knowledge and theirs was somewhat different). WE also struggled a bit with the mosquitos and did get bitten quite badly - I would suggest taking plenty of repellent (eg 4 bottles if you are prone to bites which I am) and possibly even look at other things to keep them at bay. Other than that I wouldnt have a bad word to say about Kuredu and all the staff etc. We had a perfect honeymoon there and it was more than we ever could have imagined. What can be bad about it when you wake up to white sand and blue clear water everyday!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOBRY24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Just returned and here is our review.
Be prepared if arriving on a Monday no main luggage until about 8 at night so take sunscreen bathers etc. If you forget there is a chemist in Male on the left as you come out of arrivals hall, better than paying $48 on Kuredu for sun protection!
If departing on a monday you will be getting up early ie 0545ish if on Thomas Cook. All Monday departures need to leave luggage outside room on Sunday night for boat transfer to male.
Stayed in Water Villa no negatives just positives room 520 Mohamand room boy excellent. Best restaurant by far was Sangu smaller better atmosphere than others. We tried O which was OK but queues formed at dinner!
Main swimming pool mobbed towels on beds but no people! Lots of kids at that end being kids so better off at Sangu or O Resort if avoiding children!
The main are is generally very busy and in our opinion very gloomy in the bars and restaurants. Although you can eat in other restaurants other than that allocated you have to call to call Franco's early and then go all the way down there to pick up a ticket.
The all inclusive could be improved to include some cocktails(as in The Caribbean0 rather a penny pinching attitude on Kuredu's side not to do so.
Snorkelling great just from the beach especially by the blue pipe to the left of the quay where you are almost guaranteed to see turtles.We went on the manta trip and swam with a manta wonderful experience it was so good we went again the next week and did not see mantas but saw a humpback whale at close quarters, the first on the guide had seen in 17 months at Kuredu.
No bites at all but did use B1 and Avon Skin So soft.People in beach villas seemed to get bitten a lot there is a lot of vegetation there which could be the reason.
Suggest walking along the shore at night to see the plankton especially round the sand spit and Sunset Bar.
Weather good most of the time but rained a lot last few days. Would suggest taking giant black dustbin liners to use as improvised macs as the jackets supplied aren't very good.
The one thing which made our holiday was meeting some wonderful people they will know who they are, they mainly came on BoB's Tours with us! Also Lyndon/Angie, Ade/Margaret and Ryan and Cristal thank you all for the company and laughs too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redvanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews