We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
7
20
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
20
13
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend this clean and cheap hostel which is located just outside the Mulu Park entrance and a 15 minutes walk from the airport.

A good breakfast is included in price and, if you want, you may choose among a dozen dishes made in their restaurant.

Mulu Park is great: the only problem is that internet just doesn't work so, when you take off bound to Mulu, you had better advise your relatives that you will be isolated for a couple of days (the same airport area has no connection...).

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Betancourt_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We organised our booking via whatsapp which was very easy. We originally booked the dorm but we were put in the twin which was the same price. Clean comfy beds with mozzie guards on the windows. The best bit about this is that it is literally right outside the park entrance. The food is tasty and cheap. Breakfast was an egg chicken sausage cold beans and toast. They have a problem with the water pressure in the (cold) showers but it isn't too bad and you can wash in the river next to the lodge. It is very difficult to get fruit in Mulu so I would recommend picking up some before you fly in!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank AmyH484
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

This hostel located just outside the park and it cost 35rm per bed/night with free breakfast! It's a great deal! Margeret is a lovely host, she and her adorable nieces did a great job cleaning the bedroom dorm.

Yay :) - this is a good place to stay because:
- 35rm - cheapest stay in mulu!
- Beautiful wooden long house on stilts located next to park and the river - peaceful.
- Clean beds
- Insect screens placed on the bedroom windows, prevented us from bitten by mosquitos
- Good breakfast
- Provides airport pick up

Meh :( - the toilets:
- the water pressure is weak, I had trouble showering.
- The windows in the toilet were not covered with insect screens, so insects can fly in the bedroom if you open the toilet door.

There is only electricity from 6-12pm, but that's alright since you'll be out adventuring in the day time.
Also the power generator was pretty loud, so it was good that it turned off at night so we had a really goodnight sleep after 12.
Don't worry, its pretty cooling during the night time.

This is an ideal place for backpackers,
make sure you bring your own towel and toiletries!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Strawberrytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Very affordable price and very near to the mulu HQ, just a 100m walk.
Paid RM35 per night for the dormitory bed. They also have room for private or couple/ family.
Got 4 washrooms and plenty of space to dry your clothes.
They provide transport to airport for Rm5 each person.
Free breakfast, Western style. Although you can find foods in other cafes with roughly the same price.
You can buy/refill water. Better to refill, because it's much cheaper.
The workers there were friendly and ready to assist each time.
They have curfew. 9:30 pm lights out in the dorm, 11pm cafe closed. By 12pm, all lights out.
Also, don't forget to bring ur power bank because when people's were out, they cut out the power.
Since it's dormitory style, u also have to accept that u're sharing sleeping area, so it can be quite uncomfortable with the snoring, morning person..
Still, u can meet up with all kind of people, mostly travelers, locally or foreigners looking for adventure in mulu.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank wenah_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The hostel is located less than 5min walk from the Gunung Mulu National Park entrance. It is also close to the airport but easier to get a taxi.

We stayed in one of the private rooms and also in the dorm. They both share the same bathrooms but the private rooms are quite far away and you need to go outside. You don’t get towels or toiletries in either case. The dorm has about 30 beds but during our stay less than 10 were occupied. Electricity is available from 17:30 to midnight. The windows are not well screened for bugs and we had to plug some holes. There is no wifi.

The bathrooms are very clean but there was a water problem with restricted the number of showers that could be used. There was low occupancy so this wasn’t a problem.

The breakfast is a standard tea/coffee, toast, cold beans, fried egg and a sausage.

There was a homely atmosphere and the people who run the place are very friendly.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 781KevinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews