We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
79
56
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
56
9
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2019

Really enjoyed our stay at DCave with Robert and Dina, arranged by WhatsApp a few weeks before we arrived, due to the lack of WiFi and network signal in Mulu we arranged our stay in advance.

We walked from the airport for 10mins ish and arrived at Dina and Roberts homestay. Such a lovely place to stay and rest your feet after exploring Mulu national park. Robert has a wealth of knowledge of the park and tours and Dina always so happy and full of joy making such a lovely space to stay. Making it feel like a home from home, so welcoming and lovely.

Location isn't always correct on internet searches but we walked to and from the airport no problem, transport is available if required for a small fee just mention it when Booking.

We enjoyed the breakfast too, pancakes and ommlette, perfect for a day exploring.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kirstylW3725JI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2019

We spent three nights with Robert and Dina at D'Cave Homestay. Their warmth and hospitality made this stay one of the memorable highlights of visiting the Mulu caves. It was such a privilege to be accepted into their home and we soon felt like part of the family. We booked directly with them through Whatsapp (as delayed responses through online booking sites can be an issue due to limited electricity, phone and internet accessibility in such a remote but beautiful part of the world). We also opted to eat all our meals with them and thoroughly enjoyed their home-style local cuisine, eating foraged ferns and fruits from their garden. We opted for a private room with ensuite, but they also have dormitory beds available with a shared toilet and bathroom block. The facilities are basic but clean, with fans, cold showers and electricity provided through a generator at night. The climate in Mulu usually means rain in the afternoons and evening, cooling down overnight to make sleeping with a fan comfortable enough, and after a long day hiking through the park in the heat and humidity, the cold showers are nice and refreshing. Robert has over 20 years experience as a guide and ranger and is very knowledgeable. We learnt so much about the caves and national park through our numerous conversations with him. We enjoyed our stay with this great family and could not recommend staying with them more during your visit to Gunung Mulu National Park :)

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _tiffany_tiph_anie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Dina and Rob. Communication to book was initially difficult however when we arrived, we clearly understood the reason why; phone signals are poor and electricity is only available for certain hours during the evening. Dina and Rob are a fantastic couple happy to share tales of living in Mulu and Malaysia. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and some evening meals but Dina also treated us to some other delights which were completely alien to us but delicious. We were one of only 2 couples saying at the homestay. While the accommodation is basic, the price reflects this, both Dina and Rob know the market that they are attracting and do not claim to be anything else. We opted for a private bathroom however we also used the toilets available to other guests. Yes this is a separate building all 5 paces from the main house to the back. We enjoyed fussing the family’s well behaved feline friends in the morning out front. The location is a 10minute walk from the airport ( head right after exiting the airport and the homestay is on the left before the turning/sign to walk to the National Park). The Park was a further 10minutes walk from the homestay. We opted to arrange our tours as this was cheaper than with Robert only for the fact that we needed 4 people as a minimum. We had a mixed bag of local guides and would have preferred to use Robert as we would discuss what we had done that day and he was far more informative.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2018

I stayed for 3 days in the homestay. The homestay is basic, but there you pay for. The meals for dinner were amazing, the breakfast was excellent (pancakes with eggs, local food with bread and always fruit). Robert and Dina were so nice,friendly, lovely and they know alot from the park. Amazing and chill vibe near the Mulung rainforest.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We travelled already to many countries and slept in many hostels and homestays, but this beautiful place beats all others.
The moment we arrived Robert and Dina where so friendly. We felt very welcome. Robert is already more then 24 years a guide and give you lots of information about hiking, local tribes, ... He speaks amazingly good English and I had beautiful chats till late in de evening.

They can organise also the tours in the parc and for the same prices. They will offer you tea and snacks, what the parc doesn't provide. You get also more time to ask questions etc.

My wife and me are both vegetarians and we can't eat wheat. It is amazing how Dina made everyday healthy meals in a vegetarians and glutenfree way. She made even pancakes with rice flour instead of wheatflour.

For my bday she also made a wheat free cake.

She learnt us the traditional local dance, we sang karaoke, ...

So no words can describe the beautiful atmosfere during or 7 days in D'Cave Homestay.

Important note: if you want to make a reservation please call them! There is a very bad internetconnection in Mulu.

Michaël - Yirka (Belgium)

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stuerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews