We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TravellingTwenties
London, United Kingdom

Only a short bike ride from the park!

Review of Mulu Village
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2017
Run by friendly couple, the longhouse is a great option to stay at if you are on a budget. They do a great and varied breakfast, something different every day.
The bike ride to the park in the morning is pleasant and only takes about 5 minutes.
It has a good common area for the evenings and a few restaurants close by selling yummy food in the evenings!
Would stay again!

Only downside - power only between 6pm-12pm, so cannot shower until 6pm.
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MuluVillage, Owner at Mulu Village, responded to this review
Responded 2 Jul 2017
Shower is available throughout the day. Gravity pressure when there is no power. It might be weak when everyone is using the shower or toilet. Pressure pump is on after 6pm but on occassion, we off it after 11pm to reduce the noise. Kindly inform us if one needs to shower n the electric pump is off.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 750
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    RM 750
  • Expedia.com
    RM 750
  • Priceline
    RM 750
0.1 km from Mulu Village
Pool
Restaurant
RM 273
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 212
  • Trip.com
    RM 190
  • Hotels.com
    RM 191
0.6 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
RM 212
RM 162
  • Trip.com
    RM 212
9.2 km from Mulu Village
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
RM 210
RM 156
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    RM 158
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 210
getlstd_property_photo
RM 107
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Mulu Village
RM 95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 95
  • Agoda.com
    RM 95
0.0 km from Mulu Village
RM 206
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
82.4 km from Mulu Village
RM 184
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    RM 142
  • Agoda.com
    RM 139
  • Vio.com
    RM 145
83.8 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
view from the street
RM 59
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    RM 57
  • Priceline
83.9 km from Mulu Village
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 1,304
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,291
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
89.4 km from Mulu Village
Restaurant
View more hotels in Gunung Mulu National Park
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
59
30
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
30
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are basic after a long day friendly homestay airport guide caves tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Welcome with a smile by the host Brenda.
She explained briefly well on the activities we should b able to accomplish in with 3 days 2nights.
James was accommodating and assist in maintaining the handy work around the homestay-style guesthouse.
My friend n myself had a chance to mingled with a Dutch sibling, played scrabble on the final night we were there.
Pro: River few steps away to chill yourself during the day heat, excellent customer service, light breakfast included, may borrow 🚲 with a small fee, etc.
Cons: electricity 6pm-12midnight by electric generator,low water presssure during the day,no hot water.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lysa_lovelygoofdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This is basic accommodation with all you need in the middle of rain forest - clean and tidy room without any bugs for good sleeping after all day in forest, refreshing shower and toilet :) (anyway all day you will spend in park). As advantage modern age, you can rent a bike (RM5/person), manage car transport and also have electricity till midnight (still time to charge all your devices after a long day trips).
On the top of it, there is great and nice staff who is willing to help you and feel pleasant (James borrowed us torch lights).
Stay as couple in March 2017

Note: all your planned trips / treks need to be booked direct in Mulu Park (for more of them is better to do it in advance).

Room tip: better to choose room further from kitchen (noise from engine)
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin18_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

For budget travellers, a must stay. Clean, good host.standard double room at rm55.00 Simple breakfast of bread,jam n eggs at rm10.00 Bicycle daily rent at rm5.00 Please take note Mulu is in a remote area n electricity is from a generator, so......lights out by midnight.Anyway u do not need aircon or fan after midnight, the weather is cool enough.Er.......bathroom n toilet shared by 2 rooms. Host James n Brenda are great .Alternatively, if u want super comfort......go to The Marriot Resort across the road n pay rm500.00 a night.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mohzan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We made a last minute decision to visit Mulu and all of the accommodation in the park was taken which ended up working out very well for us after finding Mulu Village on Trip Advisor. Brenda and James were incredibly welcoming and amazing hosts.

Mulu Village is located about a 30 minute walk from the park entrance next to The Marriott hotel. James insisted on taking us both to the park on the back of his scooter (felt like Tom Cruise!) on account of my inability to cycle (there are bicycles available).

They both entertained us with their stories of the history of the area and the indigenous nomadic tribal cultures under threat by global warming and national politics. To this end they arranged a tour guided by the Chief of the local Iman tribe to visit their 36 door longhouse who invited us into his family home and provided us with a delicious meal of chicken, jungle fern, tapioca and boiled rice in banana leaf.

The accommodation at Mulu Village is self-sufficient and electricity is turned off from midnight through to 6pm each day. The rooms are basic but clean and the only disturbance was from the tropical storm surrounding us and encouraging the frogs and cicadas to test each others volume levels. All in all we had an amazing stay and would thoroughly recommend this place for an authentic Sarawakian experience.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2017

A great way to learn about the local history and hidden features of Mulu is to stay with Brenda and James at Mulu Village. Their friendliness, willingness to help and extensive knowledge of the area will ensure that you enjoy your time in this wonderful place!

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank Khoa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews