We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
chan93012014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Back to almost basics

Review of Mulu Village
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jul 2017via mobile
Opportunities to meet with many others nationals nature loving tourists. A short RM5 taxi to the airport or Mulu cave Nationak Park HQ. A fair price accommodation and very friendly and resourcesful owners.Thumps up. Hope the solar power system is up n running when i return in the near future. Cheers
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 750
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Mulu Village
Pool
Restaurant
RM 212
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 212
0.6 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Mulu Village
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Mulu Village
B & B with the mulu mountains in the background
    0.3 km from Mulu Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • eDreams
    • Trip.com
    9.2 km from Mulu Village
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 210
    getlstd_property_photo
    • Agoda.com
    1.8 km from Mulu Village
      12.7 km from Mulu Village
      View more hotels in Gunung Mulu National Park
      Reviews (102)
      Filter reviews
      102 results
      Traveller rating
      59
      30
      7
      4
      2
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      59
      30
      7
      4
      2
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews rooms are basic after a long day friendly homestay airport guide caves tours
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      17 - 22 of 102 reviews
      Reviewed 28 May 2017

      Run by friendly couple, the longhouse is a great option to stay at if you are on a budget. They do a great and varied breakfast, something different every day.
      The bike ride to the park in the morning is pleasant and only takes about 5 minutes.
      It has a good common area for the evenings and a few restaurants close by selling yummy food in the evenings!
      Would stay again!

      Only downside - power only between 6pm-12pm, so cannot shower until 6pm.

      Date of stay: May 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank TravellingTwenties
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      MuluVillage, Owner at Mulu Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

      Shower is available throughout the day. Gravity pressure when there is no power. It might be weak when everyone is using the shower or toilet. Pressure pump is on after 6pm but on occassion, we off it after 11pm to reduce the noise. Kindly inform us if one needs to shower n the electric pump is off.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

      Welcome with a smile by the host Brenda.
      She explained briefly well on the activities we should b able to accomplish in with 3 days 2nights.
      James was accommodating and assist in maintaining the handy work around the homestay-style guesthouse.
      My friend n myself had a chance to mingled with a Dutch sibling, played scrabble on the final night we were there.
      Pro: River few steps away to chill yourself during the day heat, excellent customer service, light breakfast included, may borrow 🚲 with a small fee, etc.
      Cons: electricity 6pm-12midnight by electric generator,low water presssure during the day,no hot water.

      Date of stay: April 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Lysa_lovelygoofdc
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 March 2017

      This is basic accommodation with all you need in the middle of rain forest - clean and tidy room without any bugs for good sleeping after all day in forest, refreshing shower and toilet :) (anyway all day you will spend in park). As advantage modern age, you can rent a bike (RM5/person), manage car transport and also have electricity till midnight (still time to charge all your devices after a long day trips).
      On the top of it, there is great and nice staff who is willing to help you and feel pleasant (James borrowed us torch lights).
      Stay as couple in March 2017

      Note: all your planned trips / treks need to be booked direct in Mulu Park (for more of them is better to do it in advance).

      Room tip: better to choose room further from kitchen (noise from engine)
      Date of stay: March 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Martin18_SK
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

      For budget travellers, a must stay. Clean, good host.standard double room at rm55.00 Simple breakfast of bread,jam n eggs at rm10.00 Bicycle daily rent at rm5.00 Please take note Mulu is in a remote area n electricity is from a generator, so......lights out by midnight.Anyway u do not need aircon or fan after midnight, the weather is cool enough.Er.......bathroom n toilet shared by 2 rooms. Host James n Brenda are great .Alternatively, if u want super comfort......go to The Marriot Resort across the road n pay rm500.00 a night.

      Date of stay: March 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank mohzan h
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 23 February 2017

      We made a last minute decision to visit Mulu and all of the accommodation in the park was taken which ended up working out very well for us after finding Mulu Village on Trip Advisor. Brenda and James were incredibly welcoming and amazing hosts.

      Mulu Village is located about a 30 minute walk from the park entrance next to The Marriott hotel. James insisted on taking us both to the park on the back of his scooter (felt like Tom Cruise!) on account of my inability to cycle (there are bicycles available).

      They both entertained us with their stories of the history of the area and the indigenous nomadic tribal cultures under threat by global warming and national politics. To this end they arranged a tour guided by the Chief of the local Iman tribe to visit their 36 door longhouse who invited us into his family home and provided us with a delicious meal of chicken, jungle fern, tapioca and boiled rice in banana leaf.

      The accommodation at Mulu Village is self-sufficient and electricity is turned off from midnight through to 6pm each day. The rooms are basic but clean and the only disturbance was from the tropical storm surrounding us and encouraging the frogs and cicadas to test each others volume levels. All in all we had an amazing stay and would thoroughly recommend this place for an authentic Sarawakian experience.

      Date of stay: February 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Service
      1  Thank David M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews