We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 95
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
RM 95
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Marjolein L

Great stay, hosts are incredibly nice!

Review of Mulu Village
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Oct 2017via mobile
The room at Mulu Village was basic, but we were expecting that as it is one of the cheapest stays in Mulu and its basically in the rainforest. One downside is that there is no electricity and thus fan at night, its pretty hot sleeping that way. But for a few days you will survive :) As I said before everything is very basic, but it works fine. I think they did some upgrading because I dont recognize the struggles some people wrote about here a few years ago.

We had dan amazing stay, Brenda and James helped us with everything and even booked our Headhunters trail trip super last minute with a local guide who took us on an adventure! Also we can reccommend the tour they can organize to the waterfall in the neighborhood, but outside the park. It was beautiful and the swim after the short jungletrek was very rewarding! Brenda and James told us much about the local history, info you wont find on the internet, super interesting!

We would definetely go there again and can recommend a stay for people who don't mind a little less luxury when they are in the middle of the rainforest.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 560
Fully refundable
  • Marriott Hotels
    RM 560
  • Hotels.com
    RM 560
  • Priceline
    RM 560
0.1 km from Mulu Village
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 212
  • Agoda.com
    RM 132
  • Hotels.com
    RM 191
0.6 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 144
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
RM 180
  • Trip.com
9.2 km from Mulu Village
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
RM 120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Mulu Village
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    RM 116
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 149
Mulu D Cave Homestay
Booking.com
RM 50
  • Agoda.com
12.7 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
RM 95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 95
0.0 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
RM 226
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
82.4 km from Mulu Village
View more hotels in Gunung Mulu National Park
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
59
30
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
30
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are basic after a long day friendly homestay airport guide caves tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Very basic accommodation with no frills. It is cheap but I'm not convinced it is good value for what you get. The plus is the owners are helpful & friendly. Great opportunity to meet other travellers. The cafe opposite served good food & the owners were lovely and the Marriott is next door for a bit of sneaked luxury with their pool & sitting areas. And of course Mulu Park itself which was fabulous.
The down points- super basic rooms with tiny single beds & a thin mattress, bathroom with concrete floor & very painful plastic slip resistant matting. Bicycles for hire at 5 MYR a day were very rickety (no brakes, buckled wheels) and had definitely seen better days, although it was a convenient way to reach the park itself.

Date of stay: September 2017
3  Thank Quimbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night because the accommodation in the park was fully booked, for the price which is almost nothing, you get your value. But it is all basic, except for the swimmingpol from the Marriott next door which we visited:-) The restaurant across the street, not on TripAdvisor, is fine, don't expect to much, but it is ok and we didn't get sick. Regarding Mulu village, we didn't meet the owners, but were helped by Stanley, very friendly and helpfull. Conclusion: when you are on low budget, you will love this place.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 171hansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely home stay about 2km from the national park. Although the rooms are very basic once you hear the owners stories of flooding you understand why.
What the home stay lacks in luxury it makes up for in kindness from the owners. When my partner was ill they couldn't do enough to help her and provided medicine and advice on how to get better.
Yes there is only electricity in the evening and no wi-fi but in a way that is part of the charm of the place- experiencing life in a similar way to the locals.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daisycat1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This place gave the feel of Jurassic Park the minute we landed. It was amazing and beautiful. We stayed in one of the longhouses and it was awesome, very comfortable bed and pillow and just a great room with a beautiful outlook. The trails are well maintained and the caves are awesome. The food at the cafe was not bad either.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Fantastic place with the best people and atmosphere! It is a bit further, but definitely worth to walk the little extra distance. We had a great time here. Brenda and James (the landlords with a great sense of humor) took us to a local spa and the whole stay was a great adventure.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vierakovacikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews