We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
PakDinAkon

Mulu The Best Place To Visit

Review of Mulu Village
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2017via mobile
Brenda & James...nice place to stay,good place,nature and view especially Batu Bungan (Penan Village)Clear water cave wind cave deer cave and lang cave .....Promise to come again..Long Litud and Pinnacle...
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 557
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Mulu Village
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Mulu Village
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
B & B with the mulu mountains in the background
Booking.com
    0.3 km from Mulu Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Trip.com
    9.2 km from Mulu Village
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    getlstd_property_photo
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.8 km from Mulu Village
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 149
    eDreams
      12.7 km from Mulu Village
      View more hotels in Gunung Mulu National Park
      Reviews (102)
      Filter reviews
      102 results
      Traveller rating
      59
      30
      7
      4
      2
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      59
      30
      7
      4
      2
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews rooms are basic after a long day friendly homestay airport guide caves tours
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      10 - 15 of 102 reviews
      Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

      The room at Mulu Village was basic, but we were expecting that as it is one of the cheapest stays in Mulu and its basically in the rainforest. One downside is that there is no electricity and thus fan at night, its pretty hot sleeping that way. But for a few days you will survive :) As I said before everything is very basic, but it works fine. I think they did some upgrading because I dont recognize the struggles some people wrote about here a few years ago.

      We had dan amazing stay, Brenda and James helped us with everything and even booked our Headhunters trail trip super last minute with a local guide who took us on an adventure! Also we can reccommend the tour they can organize to the waterfall in the neighborhood, but outside the park. It was beautiful and the swim after the short jungletrek was very rewarding! Brenda and James told us much about the local history, info you wont find on the internet, super interesting!

      We would definetely go there again and can recommend a stay for people who don't mind a little less luxury when they are in the middle of the rainforest.

      Date of stay: October 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Marjolein L
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

      Very basic accommodation with no frills. It is cheap but I'm not convinced it is good value for what you get. The plus is the owners are helpful & friendly. Great opportunity to meet other travellers. The cafe opposite served good food & the owners were lovely and the Marriott is next door for a bit of sneaked luxury with their pool & sitting areas. And of course Mulu Park itself which was fabulous.
      The down points- super basic rooms with tiny single beds & a thin mattress, bathroom with concrete floor & very painful plastic slip resistant matting. Bicycles for hire at 5 MYR a day were very rickety (no brakes, buckled wheels) and had definitely seen better days, although it was a convenient way to reach the park itself.

      Date of stay: September 2017
      3  Thank Quimbey
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

      We stayed here for 1 night because the accommodation in the park was fully booked, for the price which is almost nothing, you get your value. But it is all basic, except for the swimmingpol from the Marriott next door which we visited:-) The restaurant across the street, not on TripAdvisor, is fine, don't expect to much, but it is ok and we didn't get sick. Regarding Mulu village, we didn't meet the owners, but were helped by Stanley, very friendly and helpfull. Conclusion: when you are on low budget, you will love this place.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank 171hansg
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

      A lovely home stay about 2km from the national park. Although the rooms are very basic once you hear the owners stories of flooding you understand why.
      What the home stay lacks in luxury it makes up for in kindness from the owners. When my partner was ill they couldn't do enough to help her and provided medicine and advice on how to get better.
      Yes there is only electricity in the evening and no wi-fi but in a way that is part of the charm of the place- experiencing life in a similar way to the locals.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Daisycat1UK
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

      This place gave the feel of Jurassic Park the minute we landed. It was amazing and beautiful. We stayed in one of the longhouses and it was awesome, very comfortable bed and pillow and just a great room with a beautiful outlook. The trails are well maintained and the caves are awesome. The food at the cafe was not bad either.

      Date of stay: July 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Linda B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews