We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 95
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Priceline
RM 95
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
RM 95
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Michaela F
Melbourne, Australia
A quiet oasis
Review of Mulu Village
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jun 2018via mobile
We stayed here for 3 nights using this as our base while discovering Mulu. Location is a bit outside the park but with a bike it takes about 10 mins to the park entrance. Owners James and Brenda are lovely and are happy to give you tips and ideas of what to do in the area. Worth mentioning it is very basic. The electricity is just on for a couple of hours in the evening so it gets extremely hot at night. With that said, you will not spend much time there as you will be in the park most of the day. Very affordable compared to other accommodation and you have Marriott Hotel next door if you wish to experience some luxury.
Date of stay: May 2018
Nearby Hotels
Marriott Hotels
RM 560
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    RM 560
  • Priceline
    RM 560
  • Hotels.com
    RM 560
0.1 km from Mulu Village
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 193
  • Agoda.com
    RM 132
  • Hotels.com
    RM 169
0.6 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 144
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
RM 180
  • eDreams
    RM 180
  • Trip.com
9.2 km from Mulu Village
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
RM 120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Mulu Village
Priceline
RM 180
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
Agoda.com
RM 1,120
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Mulu D Cave Homestay
Booking.com
RM 130
  • Agoda.com
12.7 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
RM 95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 95
  • Agoda.com
    RM 95
0.0 km from Mulu Village
Booking.com
RM 171
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    RM 97
  • Trip.com
    RM 122
  • Vio.com
    RM 97
83.8 km from Mulu Village
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Gunung Mulu National Park
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
59
30
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
30
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are basic after a long day friendly homestay airport guide caves tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Nice accommodation situated not far from the national park, staff were really friendly and gave plenty of advice on what to do, breakfast was basic but ok. Rooms were basic but just what you needed as spent most of time in national park.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gavpnf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Brenda & James...nice place to stay,good place,nature and view especially Batu Bungan (Penan Village)Clear water cave wind cave deer cave and lang cave .....Promise to come again..Long Litud and Pinnacle...

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PakDinAkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The room at Mulu Village was basic, but we were expecting that as it is one of the cheapest stays in Mulu and its basically in the rainforest. One downside is that there is no electricity and thus fan at night, its pretty hot sleeping that way. But for a few days you will survive :) As I said before everything is very basic, but it works fine. I think they did some upgrading because I dont recognize the struggles some people wrote about here a few years ago.

We had dan amazing stay, Brenda and James helped us with everything and even booked our Headhunters trail trip super last minute with a local guide who took us on an adventure! Also we can reccommend the tour they can organize to the waterfall in the neighborhood, but outside the park. It was beautiful and the swim after the short jungletrek was very rewarding! Brenda and James told us much about the local history, info you wont find on the internet, super interesting!

We would definetely go there again and can recommend a stay for people who don't mind a little less luxury when they are in the middle of the rainforest.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marjolein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Very basic accommodation with no frills. It is cheap but I'm not convinced it is good value for what you get. The plus is the owners are helpful & friendly. Great opportunity to meet other travellers. The cafe opposite served good food & the owners were lovely and the Marriott is next door for a bit of sneaked luxury with their pool & sitting areas. And of course Mulu Park itself which was fabulous.
The down points- super basic rooms with tiny single beds & a thin mattress, bathroom with concrete floor & very painful plastic slip resistant matting. Bicycles for hire at 5 MYR a day were very rickety (no brakes, buckled wheels) and had definitely seen better days, although it was a convenient way to reach the park itself.

Date of stay: September 2017
3  Thank Quimbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night because the accommodation in the park was fully booked, for the price which is almost nothing, you get your value. But it is all basic, except for the swimmingpol from the Marriott next door which we visited:-) The restaurant across the street, not on TripAdvisor, is fine, don't expect to much, but it is ok and we didn't get sick. Regarding Mulu village, we didn't meet the owners, but were helped by Stanley, very friendly and helpfull. Conclusion: when you are on low budget, you will love this place.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 171hansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews