We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stylish cottage - great for a peaceful...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stylish cottage - great for a peaceful getaway.”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 5 nights staying in your Rock Mill Cottage over February Half Term. The cottage was a great base to explore Northumberland. Nice walks from the cottage - close to Embleton Bay and the fantastic Ship Inn and Pilgrim's Arms pubs. The accommodation was perfect for our family (2 adults / 2 children) stylishly decorated, really clean, warm and comfortable - a great place to relax and unwind. Jeremy and Elaine did a great job of making us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this kind review. We're glad that you and your family had such a good time. We look forward to helping you book your next holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage to explore Northumberland coast”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a wonderful week in this lovely cottage. So peaceful waking up to nothing but birdsong! The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped . The wood burning stove made for cosy evenings after exploring the beautiful Northumberland coastline. Plenty of lovely walks on this stunning coastline, and there are plenty of places to visit. Spoiled for choice on where to eat. We were joined for a couple of nights by our sons, both in their 20's who said the bunk beds were comfy!
The owner Jeremy welcomed us he was really friendly and very helpful - and no need for a good food guide as his recommendations were spot on. We look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: nothing it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pixiedew
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful, peaceful and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very clean, comfortable and charming character cottage in a brilliant location for exploring the Northumberland coast. The owner was very friendly and gave us loads of tips about local places to eat and drink (accurate tips, too!). The quiet location meant we slept extremely well and had total privacy too. Great place and we have already recommended it to family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't choose - everything was spot on
Liked least: Nothing was wrong with this property at all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick R
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, welcoming, friendly . . . just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was an excellent choice by my wife. We travelled with an 18 month old baby and wanted to have all the comforts of home to make our stay relaxing. The cottage provided everything as advertised with no surprises. Take a look at the pictures. It really is that pretty and well appointed. As for location, it was excellent. Out in the country yet only a couple of miles from the A1 for easy access to Alnick and the surrounding area.
The hosts Jeremy and Elaine were equally pleasing. Very friendly and certainly gave the impression they were there to help with any requests. We never made any requests because we were very satisfied with things as we found them. Well done!
Would not hesitate to recommend this cottage.
If your needs are for a bigger cottage there is another larger one on site also. Well worth a phone call to check it out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall package of an old cottage with a log burner. Loved it.
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsley
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing