We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
The harbour The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The cottage
The harbour
The lounge
The double bedroom
The lounge with well stocked book case
The kitchen with door leading to the shower room
The kitchen with seating for four
The bathroom
The lounge with gas effect log burner
The double bedroom
The twin room with two single beds
Sunset at the harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
Picturesque Findochty harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
Overlooking Findochty from the war memorial
The small beach by the cottage, called the Crooked Hythe
The beach a short walk from the cottage
Aerial view of Findochty harbour  ©Paul Brown Photography
The quirky colourful houses of Findochty  ©Paul Brown Photography
Findochty
The Crooked Hythe in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MattCaddy
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had such a great stay at Findochty Cottage. The whole process from booking to arrival was very straightforward. Clare & Steve made sure we were aware of everything we needed to be at every step of the way. The cottage itself is outstanding. Finished to a very very high standard and complete with everything you could need for a short break. As we stayed over Easter, Clare & Steve had even left an Easter egg for each of us!

We will definitely be rebooking this Cottage the next time we are visiting family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a lovely week at Duke Street in Findochty. We probably experienced one of the coldest weeks in August with rain showers every day, although this I was assured, was unusual, but the warm, cosy cottage made up for it. Although small it was tastefully decorated and very comfy with an excellent shower and well equipped kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and we felt at home straight away. There is a small cove almost on the doorstep and another larger beach at the end of the short street. We enjoyed walking on the beach after dinner and climbing over the rocks and rock-pooling. The village is very small but everyone we met was very warm and friendly. We didn't travel far but did go to the Baxters visitor centre, Dolphin centre, Elgin, Fyvie Castle. The very best day though was the 4 mile cliff top and beach walk to Cullen, which is a lovely seaside village full of little antiques/collectors shops. A truly memorable week and highly recommended place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaCamb...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage in a very pretty village. We had excellent service from Clare and Steve when we were arranging our holiday and arrived in Findochty to find a beautifully presented, clean and comfortable house.
The cottage is just across the road from the beach, and you can walk for miles along the coast line - it's a beautiful, quiet and unspoilt part of the world. I would say you would need a car though to make the most of the area, and to get to some bigger shops ( although there is a small store in the village for the essentials ).
The cottage has everything you could want and was very cosy, just the right size for the four of us. A really nice touch was that the central heating had been set to come on a couple of times a day. We didn't need it as it wasn't cold at all while we were there, but it was lovely to get up to warm towels in the morning.
We weren't lucky enough to see any dolphins while we were there, although they had been spotted the week before. We hope to go back Findochty again soon so fingers crossed for next time. A visit to this coastline is highly recommended, as is a stay in this cottage in Duke Street.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfy home from home”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Fabulous wee cottage in a lovely location near two sandy beaches and great coast walks. Clare & Steve have provided all sorts of little extras that really make staying at Duke Street a home from home. The welcome pack is outstanding! The cottage is small but adequate and was fine for me, my husband and our 25 year old daughter. The only slight downside is the downstairs toilet but it's not a big problem. The decor is lovely and the cottage was beautifully clean. There is a great selection of books and wifi is available (essential nowadays!) though mobile phone signals were variable to say the least! A car is vital. If we go back to this area in future we will definitely stay at this cottage again. Thank you for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely quiet location
Liked least: Downstairs toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CNinFife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Had a great holiday in a home from home cottage. Everything has been thought of for a wonderful stay. Location is great for the beach and lots of coastal walks. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing