We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
9
18
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
18
8
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Visited Selbusjøen for the first time. Really nice and sunny weather and we felt very welcome when we arrived. Room was quite and cosy with all standard equipment. We had booked wine tasting and three course menu. We were guided by the CEO through several nice wines from Piemonte Italy. All of them with interesting and fun facts from the region. The menu was put together with many local specialties with good taste. Specially the blue cheese «Selbu- Blå» and dry salted meat was very good. We really enjoyed our visit and will highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 706kyrrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selbusjoen_Hotell, Salgssjef at Selbusjoen Hotell & Gjestegard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi.
Thank you for your nice feedback.
We are happy to hear that the winetasting was to your liking.
Welcome back, anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had an extra small room. The bathroom was even smaller with a corner shower. When you took a shower the entire room was wet. The hotel is a former sanitarium so I know from talking to others that the rooms vary a great deal in size and functionality. It is out in the country by itself on a lake and has very few amenities and sits alone without other things to do around it. The breakfast was only adequate. Our evening meal of Norwegian meatballs, however, was delicious. Go for a walk down to the lake.

Room tip: Ask for a larger room/bathroom.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbc7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Stayed here two nights for a seminar. The conference facilities were ok, slightly cramped meeting rooms, but otherwise good standard. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners were phenomenal. The ambience of the place is full of traditions and former splendor (the bar, for instance, really had a phenomenal atmosphere), the rooms, however, did suffer from not being upgraded in a while. All in all it was well worth the extra driving distance. The place really set the mood for effective teambuilding in a stress-free environment.

Date of stay: March 2016
Thank 0Eirik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located in beautiful Selbu - and was our company' choice to have the Julebord (Christmas dinner with colleagues). It has cozy common areas that were nicely decorated. The friendly host explained the interesting history of the hotel. The 5 courses diner was excellent. The rooms were clean, but fairly outdated including the bathroom. But the beds were comfortable. Friendly personnel.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MauriceAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We went for the weekend offer of a "Romantic Weekend" and were welcomed by friendly and competent staff and a big room with a canopied bed, a nice bathroom and a sitting group with room for 4. And fresh fruit, chocolate and sparkling wine. And roses, even though they are out of season.

We went for a walk in the nice area around the hotel and returned for the complimentary 3-course dinner. A table with a wonderful view of the lake and the farmland (and the rather wild weather playing out). The starter was a mushroom soup and the main fillet of pork. Both with nice red Italian wine. The dessert was an exceptional crème caramel ("karamellpudding").

The breakfast had a good selection of food with all you expect on a Norwegian breakfast table (Eggs and bacon, bread, cereals, milk, juice, jam, sausages, local cheese, herring, salads etc.)

They even provided a indoor parking for our Tandem bike in the barn over night.

All in all a close to perfect weekend at a very nice hotel. The only thing they couldn't fix was the rainy weather.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews