We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly Appartment in the Highlands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gerard's Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gerard's Place
Ranked #2 of 26 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly Appartment in the Highlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our room was one of several in a spacious apartment which had satellite tv and a kitchen. Gerard's is a couple of minutes walk away from the main Father's Guest House building where we had some nice inexpensive breakfasts and dinners. We also booked a tour to trek to see the Rafflesia flowers in the forest which was a great day. Our double room was very nice, although it did feel a bit damp, probably due to the location in the highlands. We were offered a free pickup from the bus station and also able to book onward bus tickets through the hostel. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and think that it is a great place to stay in the Cameron Highlands.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    115
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
318
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

friends recommended Fathers Guesthouse but when checking its website we read about the owners new place; gerald's place (btw the owners name).

we arrived at fathers guesthouse where you have to check in and then the relocated us to geralds place. fathers guesthouse is located on a hill and it looks lovely. Whereas geralds place is a groundfloor apartment in a big building where only locals live. Saying that the apartment is all modern and well furnished. so don't judge from the outside... it's very intimate like staying at a friends place. :)

the only downside... due to the rather "cold" climate in the cameron highlands the rooms do smell slightly mouldy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashpackhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed there together with the previous reviewer, Tuslingen, and I can confirm what he wrote. This place is way better than Father's Place, owned by the same owner. Father's Place will be closed for renovation soon, so maybe the two will be similar in the future.

We really felt like home at Gerards Place, in fact, as we are traveling for a long time, we needed a break and stayed in at Gerards Place quite often. We just liked hanging around in the living room and just reading a book or browsing the internet. Indeed, the WiFi was crap, we asked the owner why it was. Apparently they had a lightning strike nearby a week earlier, and since then they had problems with their WiFi, so these problems might be fixed by now.

The only real downside to us was that it's not centrally located,and on a hill, so you have to do a walk every time you go to town or to Father's Place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_Peeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Gerards Place is a briliant place to stay in Tanah Ratah, basically it is two apartments put together forming a small guesthouse. Staying here feels like being in a private apartment and you feel at home.

The owners are the same as those of Fathers Guesthouse, the prices in two places are the same but you get so much more for your money in Gerards place. Everything here is new, there is a tv in the living room with cable enabling you to watch the premier league if you are into that.
The rooms are nicely decorated and has a feel to them, there is a kitchen and a fridge allowing you to do your own breakfast.
Most rooms have shared bathroom, but is really seems less of an issue than normally since your really feel like being in a private home.

Only a couple of things could be improved, the rooms are not cleaned every day, only in between guests, the WIFI is really poor. And a minor thing - which is only relevant if travelling with children, it would just be perfect if the place also had a kids chair.

Room Tip: The three person room has a private balcony and some of the other rooms has private bathroom if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuslingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We originally wanted to stay at Father's Guesthouse of which Gerards is attached to, but it was full due to holiday period in Malaysia, so we happily took an offered room at Gerards. It was great. Although Gerard's doesn't have the ambiance of Father's, it's clean, comfortable, relaxing, has a small kitchen area for preparing coffee and tea and non-cooking related food (there is no stove), it was a great atmosphere and easy to meet the other travellers. A good TV in the lounge area, free internet. - Our room didn't have a bathroom - we had to share, but that didn't bother us as we were sharing with only one other room. We had full access to any of the services and facilities at Father's if we needed. All in all a very good spot to stay at a reasonable price. Also our hosts - Jay and Gerard were wonderful - Jay was one of the most helpful people I had ever come across - she is lovely.

I would recommend Gerard's as a place to stay and the services of Father's. Should I ever return to Cameron Highlands, I'd like to try Father's but won't hesitate to bunk down at Gerard's again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.5 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 26 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.1 km away
Do Chic In
Do Chic In
#1 of 26 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.8 km away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 20 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerard's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerard's Place

Property: Gerard's Place
Address: C9, C10 & C17 Block Carnation, Greenhill Resort, Opposite Heritage Hotel, Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price range (per night): RM80 - RM116
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gerard's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard’s Place has been created with that homely ambiance in mind, offering the kind of peace and tranquility that one will seek for after travelling for days with a big heavy pack on the back in blistering lowlands’ daytime 35 Celsius heat. Gerard’s Place offers 8 tidy, comfortable, and spanking rooms for two, and a room for three. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Gerard's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerard`s Place Hotel Tanah Rata
Gerard's Place Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing