We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gerard's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gerard's Place
Ranked #2 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are clean and the toast/jam/tea/coffee in the morning is helpful. Cameron Highlands doesn't have the most luxurious accommodations and most of the 'nicer' hotels are overpriced and out dated. Gerard's is modern, basic, and will meet all of needs for a few day visit to the Highlands. We didn't see staff other than when we checked in, but would have loved to chat a bit. 5-10 minutes walking into town depending on where you're going.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    120
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
337
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable clean rooms with shared facilities. The landlady and son are very helpful in planning your various hiking trips and are genuinely concerned about the safety of their guests.

The only complaint I would make is that the showers did not heat up when I stayed there. To be honest after 10 years of budget travel in SE Asia I can't actually recall a time when the showers did work. However the cooler temperature in the Hill Station mean that a warm shower would be nice.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobM503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Jay, the landlady, is super friendly. She gave us a warm welcone, good tips and ride back to the bus station as my friend twisted her ankle. We would def go back there. Rooms are big and clean. Nice garden outsite.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Gerard's place has a very comfortable room and welcoming staff. It is 10 min. walk from the city center and the owner is lovely! We wish we could have more time getting to know her. She dropped us off at the station when we left.

Only issues were the wifi, but I understand internet is not so great in Tanah Rata, and the shower, which was only warm.

That said, it is very good value and an excellent stay.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

I'm staying there on 9th Feb. The room is full of moldy smell, i even found black mold spots on the bed sheet. I'm trying to keep the windows open for fresh air to come in, but it is too cold to do so the whole time.
The hot water for bath isn't hot enough, it is just slightly warm. Also, the water pressure for toilet is a bit weak, there is always tissue not flushed inside. Good thing is you rarely need to queue for bathroom, since there are only 3 rooms sharing one bathroom.
There is no drinking water supply, so you have to pay RM2 per bottle of drinking water, or you can cook the tape water.
The room is very noisy at day time, but luckily night time it is quiet. So having a good night sleep is not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.1 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.1 km away
Do Chic In
Do Chic In
#1 of 27 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.4 km away
Cameronian Inn
Cameronian Inn
#8 of 27 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerard's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerard's Place

Property: Gerard's Place
Address: C9, C10 & C17 Block Carnation, Greenhill Resort, Opposite Heritage Hotel, Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price range (per night): RM75 - RM111
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gerard's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gerard’s Place has been created with that homely ambiance in mind, offering the kind of peace and tranquility that one will seek for after travelling for days with a big heavy pack on the back in blistering lowlands’ daytime 35 Celsius heat. Gerard’s Place offers 8 tidy, comfortable, and spanking rooms for two, and a room for three. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gerard's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerard`s Place Hotel Tanah Rata
Gerard's Place Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing