We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a transit-stop over.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katunayake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Good Wood Plaza
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Katunayake
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We transited through Goodwood Plaza for about 12 hrs on our way to Malaysia for our holiday in December. I must say, we find the hotel ok as a transit port, but maybe not for a long holiday stay as such.
I will however, agreed with other reviewers before me that the hotel is a bit run-down, but to our experience, the basic facilities at the hotel work alright. In our room, the bedding was good, the tv was functioning and the hot water was running fine.
We also find the food at the Indian restaurant to our satisfaction.
Maybe, the best advantage of the hotel is that is it within the approximate (5 t0 10 minutes) to the airport and thus facilitate the quick access to your outbound journey.
We find it ok.

Room Tip: It is a airport hotel also close to the main road. Noise is inevitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lereduit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

To begin with, the sofa's.
Arms are black with dirt and wear.

The pool looks like a pond, and looks fitter for fish to swim in.

Food, blande as ever.

Plug points with lose sockets VERY dangerous for children

In need of SERIOUS refurbishment.

Sad to see that if it were maintained better, it would be a top spot for foreigners being so close to the airport.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Maneesha97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

It could be a nice place if they would invest just a few pennies on upkeep.
Peeling wallpaper, stained sheets, broken TV, broken everything really.
Hot water did work in the shower. The airport shuttle cost 500LKH, should have been free for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank skientropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Stayed at the hotel for half day while transiting through Colombo. Very big hotel but is old and dated. Exterior looks shabby and run down. Rooms are strictly Ok. A/C was working fine in our room. Old TV with very few channels and those too had bad reception. Bathroom was also OK with hot & cold shower. Towels and toiletries were provided. Beds were comfortable to sleep in. Lodging and restaurant charges are very high. Would recommend this hotel only for transiting if you need a place to rest, since its close to the airport. Would not recommend if staying longer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shafern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Pros:
Close to the airport (under 1km).
Airport transfer available (500LKR in June 2016).
Rooms are kind of ok with hot water available.
You get what you pay for.
Good at Indian restaurant is decent.

Cons:
Road leading upto the airport is not safe even for a causal walk (especially for women). Didn't have a good experience.

Use hotel transport or call taxi till the hotel reception.
Hotel is deserted at night.


Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank iinfi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
0.9 km away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
0 km away
No photo provided
3.5 km away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#5 of 8 in Katunayake
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#14 of 44 in Negombo
327 reviews
1.9 km away
Ared Villa
Ared Villa
#1 of 2 in Katunayaka
6 reviews
8.9 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 44 in Negombo
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Good Wood Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Good Wood Plaza

Address: Canada Friendship Road, Katunayake 11450, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Katunayake
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Hotel Good Wood Plaza Sri Lanka/Katunayake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing