We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on the island!”
Review of La Macina

La Macina
Reserve with
La Macina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: If you have ever been tempted by “slow food”, gourmet cuisine based on fresh local and non-industrial ingredients, you must pay a visit to the restaurant “La Macina” . Housed in San Marco D’ Alunzio, a small village with an amazing 3000-year history, this family restaurant is located in an ancient oil mill restored about 10 years ago which retains many ancient elements testifying its origins. Everything you’ll taste is local, home-made or grown in the owner’s gardens and local farms. From olive oil, to bread, from locally-raised beef, chicken or pork to all sort of fruits and vegetables ... not to forget grappa, limoncello and other local spirits. The rich list of wines includes some of the best Sicilian and Italian wines. The ambition of the owners is to preserve and promote local and traditional food products which in this valley are considered as part of the cultural heritage along with the 22 churches, 3 museums and its numerous archaeological sites.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My boyfriend and I have lived in Sicily for one year, Italy for five, and this is the first time I have ever written a trip advisor review - I couldn't not! Before our meal arrived (which was for Easter lunch) we discussed what our best meals on the island had been, little did we know we were just about to have it! And it's not often we have a bad one either! This meal really was next level!!! As a massive lover of antipasto this was definitely what won me over here, absolutely delicious and with a little bit of creativity! Delicious pasta and nothing like I'd ever bad before or would even ever have chosen with a nettle cream! And as someone who rarely eats meat but went for an easter lamb treat i was blown away! The sheer quality of the meat was impeccable. All in all I'd say that's the beauty of this place. Albeit a little pricey for Sicily standards, I couldn't complain in consideration of naming it my best meal in Sicily!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

La Mancina are nice place to relax, taste great wine and excellent food! Restoran are friendly for all visitor, there are vegetarian and traditional foods- various dishes.
We like it, very like it! Recommend to choice this place.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Elīna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We had lunch in this typical Sicilian restaurant and the owners were just so nice with us. It was a sunday and there was two tables with Sicilian families, sign that it is a great place to eat. By the way the food was great, typical meal with fresh products.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank GabinS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect when we entered the restaurant, but the warm approach of the owner made us feel comfortable right away.
We were served delicious antipasti. Every dish had something special and the ingredients are home grown. The owner was very interested in us and enjoyed the company.
All in all a great experience!

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Daniel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

First class cuisine made with local ingredients, very traditional, wonderfully cooked food. We just trusted the antipasti without a menu and it was perfectly presented with as much food as you could eat, plus chilled local red wine.
The host and his wife, plus chef son were very welcoming and chatted to us throughout our meal, explaining the different dishes.
Would highly recommend and San Marco is an amazing high hilltop village with outstanding views

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Fafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Macina also viewed

San Marco D'Alunzio, Province of Messina
Capo d'Orlando, Province of Messina
 
Capri Leone, Province of Messina
San Marco D'Alunzio, Province of Messina
 
Ficarra, Province of Messina
Sant'Agata di Militello, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Macina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing