We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fido88
penang

Great little place, needs some fix to be better

Review of Ben's House
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2012
Great big rooms, very clean, aircon was great, water needs fix (fast/slow),ordered breakfast was ok but the same everyday. Location was not too far out, was on a quiet street but within 5 min walking to the main street. Rooms on split level but no lift.

Only one setback that needs fix. Front desk receptionist was like a dead wood, very poor service.
Needs free wi-fi in rooms. Please check as we couldn't connect.
Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 152
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 131
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Ben's House
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 475
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    RM 392
  • Agoda.com
    RM 357
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Ben's House
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 743
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 700
  • Expedia.com
    RM 793
29.7 km from Ben's House
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 529
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 498
  • Vio.com
31.5 km from Ben's House
Pool
Beachfront
RM 248
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 216
  • Expedia.com
    RM 425
34.0 km from Ben's House
Pool
Beachfront
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a dream location for any visitor looking for either an eventful or relaxing holiday. Situated on the quiet Long Beach, which overlooks the stunning Maya bay island, our hillside villa views are unbeatable.
RM 323
RM 284
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 285
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 285
34.9 km from Ben's House
Pool
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 217
  • Agoda.com
    RM 173
  • Expedia.com
    RM 208
1.2 km from Ben's House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 126
  • Agoda.com
    RM 103
  • Expedia.com
    RM 127
1.4 km from Ben's House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Site
    RM 709
  • eDreams
    RM 392
  • Booking.com
    RM 569
2.2 km from Ben's House
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Ao Nang
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
52
75
33
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
75
33
12
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

i really enjoy my 2nights stay at ben's.the friendly staff,the nice ambience,the cozy room,most of all the salted jacuzzi pool.everything is just perfect.worth my 10hrs driving journey from kuala lumpur.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SvonderPf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was originally booked to stay here for 2 nights but my plans changed whilst in Ao Nang and was happy to extend my stay at Bens House for an additional 2 nights.
The place is clean and seems to be well maintained. It is located a 10 minute easy walk from the beach and is located behind other buildings on the roadside. It is on a hillside so the rooms on one side have reasonable views but the ones on the other side only look out onto the alleyway between the buildings. The Wifi is free and a reasonable speed (by Thai standards).

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2012

i must that the experience staying in Ben's house is marvellous.. Clean environment. Friendly staffs. Breakfast is simple yet good. Cheap and good.. so if you are looking for a place that is cheap. you can choose Ben's house.

The rooms are clean. All the essential things are there. TV, Towel, bed... basically the essential things. So you cant expect like a 5 star hotel.. but still its good!

However, please be aware that the location might be abit far from the main shops and restaurants. You can try to walk about 15 mins to the main street.. That if you dont mind walking.

A must try place to stay.... :))

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spidey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was a lovely hostel/hotel located about a 10 minute walk from the shops and restaurants of Ao Nang in Krabi. The hotel was very clean as it was mandatory to take shoes off before entering the reception and it was not permitted to wear them anywhere inside the hotel. I was told this was because some people use the hotel as long-term accommodation so they keep it clean as it is “home” for those people. There were no lifts in the hotel which made it tricky to take luggage to the room if on upper floors.

Our room was huge and full of light, with a lovely balcony looking out onto another resort with a beautiful pool. There was plenty of storage space in the room including a cupboard, shelves, and a table. The air conditioning worked very well. The bathroom was clean, spacious and bright. Towels were provided.

The breakfast area was a small section located off the reception area. The buffet breakfast, priced at 150 Baht, was served until 10:30am and consisted of eggs, cereals, noodles, fruit, toast, tea and coffee. The hotel pool was in an odd location: squashed between two buildings with hardly any space around. It could be viewed from the sides of both buildings and the reception, so I did not feel comfortable using it. The hotel can do laundry for a very reasonable price. There were computers on the ground floor where one could pay to use the internet.

The beach was about a 15 minutes walk away. There was a very good Thai massage place a 2 minute walk from the hotel (come out of reception and walk to your right) which was open until 10pm; you can get a 1 hour massage for only 250 Baht.

I would highly recommend this place for budget travellers who are looking for cleanliness and comfort.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the resort nearby.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is the cheapet hotel we stayed in on our 4 week treck in thailand and by far the best value for money! £17 for one night including breakfast was extremly good value. The location is a little far from the beach / action but very walkable. we used the pool brefily just to cool off - where else could you stay for that kind of money and get a pool and breakfast!?
Very clean with good sized room and bathroom - i would def stay here again for 1 or two nights - maybe not so good for a weeks holiday :)

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teckiegirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews