We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and I just returned from Krabi where we stayed at this Resort. This was our first trip to Krabi and to celebrate our second honeymoon. Our last trip without the children was 17 years ago. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously and thought the hotel was very good. We stayed for 3 nights from Boxing Day.

As we went after Christmas it is really the high season so we thought the rooms were a little expensive. I had booked via Booking.Com but no issue or trouble when checking in.

Our room was the cliff view, so we had an outdoor tub. 2 bottles of water were given each day; they provided 2 pairs of slippers that was handy when we went kayaking, and took the boat trips out; a basket together with a picnic mat was also provided in the room.

The beds were comfortable. We brought some DVDs but could only watch one which happen to be a region 3 code.

We would say that breakfast was good but not fantastic. We did not eat in the hotel for other meals as the location of the hotel was great. Just outside the hotel are street hawkers, restaurants, fast food joints and other shops. Yet, the hotel itself is very quiet - as if far away from it all.

The pool is not big and got quite crowded almost immediately after breakfast. A nicer and less crowded time would be late afternoon as we noticed the crowd thinned out by then.

We also decided to book two day activities via the tour agency based in the hotel (lobby area). To be honest, we don't know if it was more expensive than the ones outside. However, in terms of the quality of the tours (especially in terms of safety), we were very happy with the tours that the agency recommended to us.

The hotel lobby has a small selection of books and novels for borrowing and two computers if you need to check your emails.

I was surpised though that when I requested for a small bucket of ice I was charged around 45baht even though I mentioned that this charge was not reflected in the inroom dining menu. We also witnessed a somewhat unpleasant incident whereby the man at the receptionist one morning went into a long argument with a guest about a lost card key. He insisted that the hotel would charge 100baht, even though the guest argued that they were not informed nor were there any signs on lost cards. We too were not informed, and we felt that the man at the receptionist could have been more flexible. He also wanted to charge for a missing laundry bag, which the couple again refuted.

We did not have any massages in the hotel spa. There are plenty around the area. However, on the last day we found one known as Let's Sea: Let's Relax. It is just opposite the hotel, but the adveristing is minimal. Once you find it, you take a short flight of steps down. Although just slightly more expensive than the others, we thought it was worth it. The place was nice and the rooms quieter, airconditioned, and had a nicer ambience than the others.

All in we thought the hotel was great, and made enquiries about their family rooms for future trips with the children. If you want a hotel that is quiet yet near enough to the action and food, this one is for you.

Room Tip: The new block would be better as it is not over the row of shops (McDonalds, Starbucks etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meesiamrebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    767
    208
    64
    31
See reviews for
346
876
75
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our honeymoon and loved it.
The staff are super friendly and the hotel is the biggest in ao nang. We had awesome views Of the beach and the cliff and a spa on our balcony which was awesome.

It's away from the hustle and bustle of the seedy area, but still very central. We recommend Oasis restaurant for a huge variety of meals - decent value.

The beach isn't that amazing - so we went on a long tail boat down at the beach to tub, chicken and Poda islands. Though our favourite was phranang - cave island. Serene and beautiful.

Definitely recommend this place highly to everyone. Will suit honeymooners, families and partygoers alike. There was a mix Of all these people and it worked for everyone :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGandCANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Pros: Infinity pool, large head showers in rooms, hot tub on balconies, great buffet food.

Cons: Everything is over prices, Thai massages are 500 baht when down the road for same length of time they are 300 baht which is quite a substantial saving. Drinks at the bar are expensive and they markup a tax when purchased (not mentioned in the book), and they dont give correct change back. Saw a rat around and for a 4 star hotel I think thats pretty unhygienic.

Verdict: Good place to stay but only for a room and pool, if you like your overall cleanliness (despite the rat!!), if budget is an issue find somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausdaz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Having read the reviews about Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, I was positive that I made a right choice in booking a stay at this hotel. My family and I were hence pleased that the resort did not disappoint, and we really had an enjoyable time for the entire 4 days that we were there.

An important thing to note is that airport transfer can be arranged with the hotel at a price of 800baht per minivan that can seat 6-7 people. Though we suspect that we could have flagged down a tuk tuk and got a slightly better price, the airport transfer service was good, the minivan was very comfortable such that we booked it again when we were leaving Krabi.

Upon reaching the hotel (located on a slightly elevated area) one can immediately see the cliffs of Aonang from the hotel lobby; the view is truly fantastic! There's a bar beside the pool, which is beautiful but unfortunately pretty small and the only one in the resort. However it is still large enough for quite a number of people to take a swim in before it starts to feel crowded.

The resort has sufficient amenities, a gym that my brother and I visit everyday, massage services etc, and a tour organiser who will gladly sit down with you to help you arrange any day tours or trips to other parts of Krabi for sightseeing/shopping.

The room was very spacious to our delight, very clean, comfortable and they also gave us connecting rooms. The beds are huge, there is a large balcony outside each room, a large sofa with a little movable table that is perfect for placing a laptop on. The toilet is clean and big, and not one drop of water from the showering area wets the toilet floor.

The service is definitely commendable - the staff at the lobby answers our queries and provide us with much needed help/advice, especially with directions and things to do/eat. The room service is amazing; replacing two glass bottles of water daily, folding the towels in amusing shapes, and cleaning and packing the room beautifully.

The buffet breakfast in the morning has a sufficient spread (fruits, salad, western dishes and asian dishes that varies from day to day and a person to cook your eggs for you)

The location of the hotel was perfect to me (500-600m from the beach), located right in the heart of the area of Aonang, with all the roadside stalls selling snacks/food from 7 plus in the morning till night, and all the stalls that sells souvenirs/clothes/bags/accessories at night!
Taking a morning jog at the beach every morning, the walk to the beach serves as a good opportunity to warm up and cool down before and after the jog.

Turning to the right from the hotel and walking straight down will bring you to beach while just few steps to the left is a convenience store (beside a restaurant). There is a macdonalds and starbucks just beside the hotel for those who cant part with such food, and a terrific indian restaurant (Taj palace) just across the road to the right, and fantastic western food (Del Rocks) just next to Starbucks. Divers Inn that is across the road to the left is also great!

A little complain would be weird unknown noises coming from above but it was not severe enough for us to ring up the reception (noises from the corridor can also be pretty loud)

Overall the resort satisfied us in every way: good service, facilities, location, rooms etc.

Another thing to note is that wifi is 150 baht for the whole stay!

Aonang Cliff Beach Resort is really worth a stay, I'll definitely return here if I come to Krabi again!

Room Tip: Rooms that are on higher floors will probably suffer less from noises at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmainesgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel is not bad, but it is also far from being excellent. First, disclaimers: I am a single traveller, booked a discounted no-view room through Agoda.com ($315 total cost for 4 nights, no breakfast), and it has rained all afternoon on the first full day of my visit. On the positive side, the staff is friendly and competent, the room is clean and new, and the physical look of the hotel is quite good. But the location is in-town, that is directly above the busy main street of Aonang. If you want walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, beach trip rental agencies, etc. directly outside, this is for you. All of the trappings of a tourist area are at your fingertips. Yet if you want peace, quiet, idyllic views, interaction with Thais and their culture rather than hordes of Europeans on holiday-- that is, what Krabi really is all about and what makes it so seductive-- then, this hotel is definitely not for you. I came here to do some work, writing in my room, and find myself consigned to a dark cave in a place that is essentially like Bangkok but without the scale. I do have an outside sitting area, quite large, but the main part of the hotel looks down into it, thus there is no privacy. And like many Thai hotels, there is an appalling lack of adequate lighting in the room-- the few in-place ceiling bulbs must be the lowest wattage available, and the standing lamps are just as weak. Once it's dark, or like today when it was gray and rainy for much of the time, reading is very difficult.

The beach, only five minutes walk, is unattractive, with a very narrow strip of sand and the water line itself littered with dozens of long-tail boats waiting, I assume, to take the tourists to the beaches that many (like me) thought were here. And to get to it, one walks down the main street crowded inch-to-inch with the shops, restaurants, tour touts, etc. Not picturesque by any means.

So, conclusion: know what you want before booking this hotel! It is fine it and of itself, but it is not Krabi and what most, I think, are looking for when visiting this otherwise beautiful part of Thailand.

Room Tip: I think the higher-up-the-hill west facing rooms have decent views; I am in a cave with no view what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiffanypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.9 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
1.1 km away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#16 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 km away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Cliff Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Cliff Beach Resort

Property: Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Address: 328, Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price range (per night): RM209 - RM749
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Cliff Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort is Krabi's 4 star boutique resort with spectacular views of the cliff and Andaman Sea. Located in the center of Aonang, with easy access to the beach, shopping, Dining and night life. 97 Newly refurbished, spacious guest rooms offer comfortable accommodation in Superior , Deluxe and Ocean View categories. The Ocean wing features sunset balcony for romantics and honeymooners. The resort offers a unique Thai restaurant and a boulevard cafe in Aonang's most versatile and lively shopping plaza. Around the resort pool you will find a Bar & Bistro, wellness center complete with Thai Spa, Gym, Muay Thai, Yoga and Tai Chi classes. Social and business events are celebrated in style for up to 180 guests in the new event center and on the Cliff Panorama Terrace. Coupled with grace of our Thai service memories are made of this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Cliff Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Cliff Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing