We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booking Necessary ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Kitchen

Jungle Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 259 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Booking Necessary ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

This lovely little restaurant is very popular. But note at the moment you need to book a few days ahead to be sure of a table. Last night we saw several groups being turned away as they did not have a reservation. It is well worth the extra effort!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank JSGARTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    181
    52
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best meals i've tasted..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

Visited here on our second to last night in Krabi and it really made the whole trip worth it.
Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere once you arrive, seating is spaced out and secluded which is always nice!
You think once you've been eating at so many different places you wouldn't be surprised by an average Thai meal. This place is on a different level! Food was by far the best we had during the whole three month visit to Thailand. The massaman curry is unbelievable as well as the Tom Yum soup.
Staff & the owners are also very friendly. Will definitely be here again God willing!

  • Visited August 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MegLorc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe not the best in Ao Nong, but a great restaurant none the less.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

A wonderful, tourist friendly, restaurant with authentic Thai food.

This place is great, easy to find, and the menu is both fairly broad and absolutely reliable. It is also incredibly popular. You absolutely need a reservation--even during the low season and midweek. They put bug spray on all the tables to fight off the inevitable mosquito swarm.

Personally I think Ton Ma Yom is more interesting and authentic, but that's a personal thing.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank hasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
“Best restaurant in Aonang ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

The jungle is highly recommended.
It's a simple place with humble people who serves the magnificent food from the kitchen. We stayed in Aonang for two weeks and went to The Jungle three times. It would have been more if it wasn't fully booked day after day.

The food in Aonang is very good totally said. But The Jungle kitchen stands out as number one for us.

Don't miss it, be shure to book a table otherwise you may miss out on a great meal.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mladen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved it so much... went back the next night too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

Can't say enough about this restaurant... had to wait to write my review to make sure I could get reservations when we needed too :)

It's a mini hike from the main area of Ao Nang, but well worth it. You'll pass by other restaurants along the way, but please wait it out until you get to Jungle Kitchen! Everything on the menu was great and the service was awesome! I'm a foodie so this place is well worth every bhat.

- Yellow curry crab - to die for! I miss it so much
- Sangsom buckets - can't forget this... well worth it
- Any curry - tried the panang and red and they were both really good

My advice is call ahead or just stop by and secure your reservations because you don't want to go to Thailand without trying this place! (think they're closed on Sunday's though)

  • Visited December 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jungle Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing