We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wxcellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Kitchen

Jungle Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 259 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wxcellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We read the reviews and wanted to go but didn't realize we were there till we pulled over in a rain storm. Staff were so sweet and friendly. The food was excellent!! Great prices and very friendly staff. Quaint little family restaurant. Highly reccomend!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank lougheedsinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    181
    52
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
454 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
“I Agree: Best in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Enthusiastic TA Reviewers have made this the number one rated restaurant in Ao Nang Beach. I concur. We weren't able to get a reservation easily--all the normal ways, phone, e-mail, website, didn't work or weren't available--but walked to the place our first night in town and were able to get a 7:00 pm reservation for our last night in town. A few tables are just inside this open-air restaurant, and overlook the busy road, but the better places are further inside near or in the back garden. The two of us ordered three entrees: Jungle Curry Chicken, Stir-fried Ginger Chicken, and Stir-fried Kale. All three were excellent. We also shared large Leo's. The tab was about 500 baht, an incredible bargain, particularly given the quality of the food. I should mention that my companion is a Thai from Isaan, and like Cajuns in my part of the world, the Isaan take their food very, very seriously. She was tremendously impressed by the chow, and ate far more than she usually would (rather like a Frenchwoman who rarely drinks more than a single glass of wine if you pull the cork on three Gevrey-Chambertins). I did notice that the crowd thinned out considerably after a while, so my recommendation is that you head over to Jungle Kitchen lunchtime your first day in town, and see whether you can book a table for 8:30 or so that night. Better to eat here at a less-convenient time, than anywhere else at 7:00. The restaurant is on the main highway leading into town, on the same side of the street as the mosque, but several blocks inland from it--perhaps 1 kilometer, but no more than that; it's easy to miss, since the sign in small, but it's on the same side of the street as the mosque, and if you look for the small open-air restaurant with the thatched roof on a platform two or three feet above the sidewalk, you'll spot it on your left.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We absolutely loved this family run restaurant. The family that run jungle kitchen are incredibly friendly and welcoming. The food was one of the best places we ate in Thailand. We ate here day after day we enjoyed the food that much. Highly recommend!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank ElishaGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Outstanding food in an usual surroundings. Arguably the best restaurant in town!
Good live music in the evening and clean facilities.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bubblesandspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We tried our luck for the first time on Sunday but they were closed yet adviced us to return on next day. We came there before dinner peak, at 18:00 expecting to get a place without reservation. There already was a queue ahead of us :o and i heard that closest reservations are available like two days ahead only. Anyhow we managed to get a table with a promise to leave at 19:00 as there was a booking on our table.
As we had little time we skipped any appertizers and went for two main courses only.
Food was amazing with millions of matching flavours. You soon can understand why it is so hard to get in there-but it is well worth it-our best food experience in AoNang for sure!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Deividas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jungle Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing