We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Hotel One La Paz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel One La Paz
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was perfect. Although we only stayed one night as we stayed with family the rest of our visit, this hotel met our needs. It was very clean and had a tasty breakfast! Staff was also friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando H, Gerente at Hotel One La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017
Google Translation

Buenos dias Srita. Margaret

Que gusto haberlos tenido en esta su casa One La Paz!

Esperamos tenerlo de vuelto pero por mas tiempo para que conozcan lo hermoso que es este destino Turistico y todas sus bellezas naturales.

Le deseamos que tenga un excelente día!

Saludos cordiales y quedo a sus ordenes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Great place if you are not looking for anything else than a good place to sleep and shower. This is our third visit to this place since every time we go to La Paz we only need somewhere clean to spend the night. It is close to the malecon and has very easy access, private parking and is a relatively new place which provides with simple rooms with a clean line design. Definitively great value.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelmiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando H, Gerente at Hotel One La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Buenos dias

Muchas gracias por su visita a esta su casa One La Paz! Nos da gusto saber que su estancia fue de su total agrado!

Esperamos tenerlo de vuelta y le deseamos que tenga un excelente día!

Saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This is a clean, modern, basic hotel away from the tourist area but within a healthy walk of it. The room is fairly small with no luggage shelf or rack. The shower was very nice. Only 2 English channels: Edge (movies) and CNN news makes TV pretty limited unless your Spanish is fluent. The only mild breakfast items were fruit & cold cereal. A coffee maker in the room would have been delightful. I tried to bring a cup back to my room from the lobby but the elevator (which we nicknamed "QuickDraw") closed on my arm & knocked the cup out of my hands. Parking was not explained well and we drove around for 15 minutes before realizing it was not an interior garage as the receptionist told us over the phone, but the outdoor lot in the shopping center off the side street (no signage for the hotel). I will return for short stays for business or dental work (Cosmident is right across the street).

Room Tip: Ok but pretty spartan.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The place is generally good, the location is good. The room was on the small side but clean and modern enough. It has a plastic chair to sit on if you don't want to sit on the bed. The pool is nice upstairs, although an attendant stands watch just feet from the pool (it's a small pool so he's right next to you). I don't know, maybe someone drowned recently. Breakfast was good, although my native friend thought otherwise. But it was definitely better than an average American continental breakfast.

A few things I think are worth mentioning:

Elevator is slow and small. It packs 3 people with luggage, so be prepared to wait about 10-15 minutes each time you need to leave. We didn't realize the stairs were an alternative because the sign on the stairwell says "use only in case of emergency." We finally asked one of the maids and she nodded that we could use it.

The bathroom is shaped in a way that you have to move around the door if you want to go from the sink to the toilet. Neither the towels nor bathmat were replaced for us.

More or less no closet or drawer space. You have to live out of the suitcase.

And the late checkout fee. We checked out late (but before the check-in hour), earning our well-deserved fee. However, the fee is a half night's fare at the current night's rate. I paid double the rate at which I made my reservation because the rate was higher on my checkout day. I realize why a hotel might want to do this, but that's a poor policy and here's why: (1) there is realistically no way for me to have known what the fee would fee since I wasn't aware of rates for nights I wasn't staying and (2) what if the next night's rate were an exorbitant rate? What if the rate were whatever the manager decided in that moment? Do I have to pay 50 percent of that for my late checkout? The fee should be based on the rate that I paid, or, at the least, this detail should be disclosed ahead of time. It wasn't.

When I mentioned this to the manager he repeatedly pointed at the checkout time is 12pm sign, which was his best point: you violated the contract, so deal with it. He was pleasant about it at first, but became uncomfortable and agitated after I suggested the policy was a bit unfair.

He asked me if I needed another night, suggesting that he had availability, and also that the discussion was over. So a final comment on it: if the hotel wasn't at capacity, and if they had not been forced to re-accommodate the next guests (seems there were none), the manager could have shown so leniency on the fee (we were not bad guests and had had pleasant exchanges with the front desk prior to that). Of course he doesn't have to, but now you know.

Spent the next two nights at Hotel Mediterrane. Charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeledesousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

just like big hotels are... if you like it it is okay. However - if you are not last minute - there are various places which offer more individualized rooms. However, the view - in particular from the roof (where the pool is) is great!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FERNANDO H, Gerente at Hotel One La Paz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Good afternoon

Thank you very much for your visit to this One La Paz Hotel. It is true that our view from the pool to the bay is spectacular and the best in the city.

We hope to have them back and wish you a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
7.2 km away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#3 of 39 in La Paz
587 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel HBlue
Hotel HBlue
#2 of 39 in La Paz
219 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Catedral La Paz
Hotel Catedral La Paz
#1 of 39 in La Paz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
City Express La Paz
City Express La Paz
#17 of 39 in La Paz
141 reviews
1.4 km away
Posada LunaSol Hotel
Posada LunaSol Hotel
#6 of 39 in La Paz
347 reviews
2.7 km away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel One La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One La Paz

Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo No. 590 | Altamirano, Col. Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: RM174 - RM253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One La Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One La Paz is located within Plaza DownTown La Paz. Hotel One La Paz has 126 rooms, with Air Conditioning, Desk, Screen LCD 32 inches with Service Sky. Rate includes: Breakfast American Buffet, Wireless Internet, Business corner, Pool, Laundry Center self-service 24 hours, Safes at reception, Parking, Local Calls, Coffee, Iced and Tea service 24 hrs, all of the above without extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel One La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing