We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent in all areas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“excellent in all areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

we arrived on schedule no problem with check in .We had hoped for an oceanview room but what we recieved was beyond our expectations ..room 231 ...wow what a view for 7 glorious days.THANK YOU ELVIRA !
Food was very good in buffets. Plenty of salad,cheese,cold cuts,pasta, pork,chicken ,fish ....etc ,all well tempered and prepared.We only did one Ala carte [seafood]which was not very impressive ,very hot upstairs and the meal was hurried .I would suggest sticking to the buffets.
Drinks and bar service were exceptional , very fast with or without tipping .
Hostesses were always smiling and very helpful ,especially Sofia.
Room maid service was consistantly thorough [ Claudia].
Grounds were immaculate.
Pool was clean and busy,we spend 90 % @beach.
Beach was very clean but so hot on your feet if not careful.
Ocean was clear and crisp with lots of waves .
Mostly Canadians and Mexicans with a few Americans. All were well behaved.
trip to La Crema one night for pizza and to Senor Puck to watch Jets game.
We had heard for years about this place and it did not dissapoint. Go enjoy , relax and let them pamper you . You will be back as i know we are already planning for next year.
Thank you Barcelo for a truly memorable 25th Anniversary celebration.
See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,038
    347
    118
    71
See reviews for
1,235
951
36
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Barcelo's outside arena is where the attraction is! Enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo which ended too quickly on Mar 6th, 2012. The outside resort area is beautiful and the staff are friendly, this makes up for the older rooms. The 4 of us spent most of our time on the beach snorkeling and bouncing in the warm ocean waves. There is plenty to do, with water aerobics, kayaks, jet skis and catamarans to use. The evening entertainment is great fun, especially the Mexican Fiesta night. The bay at the end of the beach is great for feeding fish and snorkeling. We booked a bay tour with a Mexican Guide on the beach, his nickname is Starfish, he has a large fish hook hanging form his hat, You can contact him right out front on the Barcelo Beach, he had a new Toyota truck to take you to Santa Cruz. the boat had some shade, lifejackets, radio, he even had extra snorkeling equipment. as well as sodas and beer! Starfish gave us a great bay tour, the day is yours to pick where and what you want to do. We chose several beaches to snorkel at and we were blessed to see two whales up close, we also got to shop at the market in Santa Cruz. Starfish was very frendly, safe and reasonably priced. There are many vendors on the Barcelo Beach so if you can find one recommended then you can feel alot better about booking with them. I can forward contact info. We would go back to this area again, the evenings were still warm, no sweaters needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popeyesolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port alberni
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Feb.21 to the 28 the weather in Huatulco is just wonderful.Sunny and hot every day.The Barcelo is a older hotel which is showing its age.We were put in a room which was right by the air conditioning units.It was so noisy we asked for another room.They then put us in room 554 which was a lot quieter and nicer.
The pools and gardens a very beautiful but if you like swimming in the ocean it is not the place for you.It is very rough when we were there. We tried to snorkel but was to rough.
The buffets and ala cartes were great and the service was very fast and the staff there were very friendly.
There is a fridge in the room with Sol beer,pop and peanuts.I think every room has a balcony which is nice.There are some rooms that dont have a ocean view but I dont think to many.
In closing it is a nice hotel but since we are ocean swimming travelers we would next time go to a resort that has better swimming.Huatulco is a nice area and the people there are very friendly and really want the Canadian business.They try really hard.

Room Tip: stay away from third floor even number rooms a/c near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank merrit girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was my 4th time to Huatulco and second to the Barcelo. Was there from January 24 to February 1. It is so beautiful, the weather is perfect and the Barcelo is never disappointing.
I travelled with my mom and aunt and they had a great vacation as well, many great memories were made. The staff at the resort is wonderful, always smiling and ready to serve you, answer any of your questions, and make your holiday one to remember. Yes it does need a little updating, but it is very clean and you really have everything you need. We had a 5th floor room and the view was wonderful. Food was good and there was always plenty of it. Overall it was another wonderful vacation and the staff at the Barcelo work so hard to please the guests and keep the hotel clean. I can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotsunsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooretown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Four of us travelled and had a wonderful time at the Barcelo. Good food, good times, great people. A very homey feeling - yes the rooms are a little dated but they are clean and very comfortable. All rooms seem to have a good view of the ocean/bay without paying for an upgrade. Staff are excellent and very accommodating. You even get service for drinks on the beach or around the pool. Grounds are very clean and well maintained. A-la-cartes are excellent with no room for complaints at all. If in need you can get free wifi from the Italian Cafe directly across from the entrance of Barcelo but be a sport and buy a drink to support the merchant. A few little shops around for some souveniers and a pharmacy if needed. Vendors on the beach are very polite and if you do not want to be approached, stay off the beach as they cannot come on to the Barcelo grounds but no reason to avoid them as they are quite polite. Dino was a tour guide we used from these beach services for the 7 bay tour and the Magic Falls tour. He was excellent, good English and great to work with on pricing. We would highly recommend him - as well his wife made excellent lunches for us on the tours and the cervesas were abundant. His driver for land tours was Pilo and he as well was wonderful, a good driver and very respectful. Miguel was his boat operator and as well no complaints.

To other travellers we would like to send greetings and thanks for the new friends from BC (Cindy, Cheryl, Joan and the Princess Kim), Lori and Joe from Winnipeg and the gang of 10 from Parry Sound/Barrie for all the lessons in pool volleyball - great times guys.

All in all this resort is a great BANG FOR YOUR BUCK and if you want hot, clear skies and relaxation, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: third floor or higher will get you an excellent view of the ocean without paying for an upgrade. Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dadzferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
1.0 km away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.2 km away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.4 km away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#9 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price range (per night): RM740 - RM2,010
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing