We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid Granada Country Club(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$195
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$431
US$421
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$550/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$537
US$525
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$656/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Emerald Estates(Mazatlan)
US$1,681
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
119
53
23
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
53
23
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle sanctuaryrobert trent jonespiece of paradisesurf fishingcasa clubgolden zonebedroom condostone islandsecluded beachfull kitchenbeautiful propertyper dayshrimpedmoceanresortvacation
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed in the condos not at the hotel.They were very well furbished,all the amenities of home.Everything you need for a great vacation.Full kitchen,big bathrooms,bbq outside.
The grounds, the large infinity pool were all meticulously kept.
On the beach and beautiful sunset viewing.
Private and secluded
Golf course is a thing of beauty.Clubhouse is a great place to sit on the patio for a beverage and a bite
Lovely patio area of the condo
You have to have a vehicle I think if you want to get out and about
You are quite away from Mazatlan proper but you can drive to Stone Island (aprox 15 min)and take a panga over to Mazatlan and get a cab where you want to go(cost is 90 pesos each)
I would stay here again for sure
Also I would rent a condo facing the south so you get the morning sun

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is part of a 5 km front beach resort, so since the minute you get in, you feel surrounded by nature. The golf course is very nice and on the weekend a lot of people enjoying it. The Casa Club has amazing views and great kitchen. The Hotel had a very ample room with a nice bathroom (loved the separated wc/shower/tub areas) a very nice balcony with superb views. The menu at the restaurant at the hotel is kind of limited, I assume that for a week wouldn't be nice and kind of boring. Breakfasts are better than lunch and dinner. The staff is super attentive and kind. The resort is secluded so its great not to be in a touristy and noisy place. You can really relax. If going with children you are not as usually nervous. Part of my party used the spa and said it was great. Prices are moderate. I look forward to another weekend there

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank TRAVMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Several of us came to this resort for a buffet lunch and afternoon at the pool/beach. This place is very remote, barren and isolated. There appeared to be no-one in the whole resort. Never saw another guest while we were there. The hotel buildings look unfinished and most of the resort is compromised of empty lots for sale. The restaurant was a cavernous room and the food choices were limited. The beef was so tough it was inedible. On the beach, there were about 8 hammocks. At least 3 of them were broken and couldn't be used. My husband (who is not a heavy man) climbed onto another and it collapsed. Turned out the broken frame had been taped together! There were no chaises in the garden area where we all wanted to sit. They were only around the pool and we had to ask the 1 staff person we could find to help move the chairs so we could sit under the trees. I didn't see any hotel rooms but if the rest of the property is any indication of the hotel services, I would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our round of golf at Estrella Del Mar! This is the best course near Mazatlan hands down. Tees, fairways, and greens are well-kept. And there must be 5 or 6 holes right near the ocean surf! Remote, yes, but worth the 45 minute trip from the Golden Zone. Lunch on the terrace was delicious, the margueritas were strong and flavorful, and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Go!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I stayed at the Estrella del Mar (EDM as they call it) for 6 nights in early November on a first ever visit to Mazatlan. EDM is just a short drive/cab ride (15 minutes) from the airport at the end of the paved road off of highway 15. EDM is actually a large compound dominated by a well maintained golf course, a club house, a resort hotel (where I stayed) and currently 3 phases of 3 story condominiums along with some single family dwellings. The eastern side of the compound is delineated by a roughly 10 ft high stone wall with a single entrance gate that is manned 24/7. The western side is open to the beach. The place is well maintained by the small army of locals who work there. English was not a problem during my stay as everyone there seems to have at least a working level of English. Everyone I ran into was friendly and helpful.

My room was quite spacious made up of essentially two rooms: one large room with the closets, TV and 2 queen sized beds, and a large bathroom with separate sections for a full size bathtub, shower, sink and vanity and toilet. Like is typical in Mexico, stone tile was in abundance throughout. The room was air conditioned as was the hotel and clubhouse.

I ate a lunch and a breakfast at the hotel and a lunch at the clubhouse. I was informed that the cuisine and service had been improved recently due to feedback from the snowbird residents. All of my meals were good and the menu was extensive - so there were many entrees to choose from.

When I was there the place was essentially deserted. Apparently the snowbirds from the northern US and Canada show up later in November and stay through the early part of the next year. No doubt the place would have felt very different had there been other people there.

Because of a very favorable peso to dollar exchange rate (20:1), the cost of the hotel and the restaurants were very reasonable.

Overall: This is a place to go to to get away from it all. On site you can golf, hang out at the pool, wander up and down the long beautiful beach, eat and sleep. Sunsets were truly exceptional. Mazatlan is about a 35 minute drive away. The weather while I was there was apparently unseasonably warm for the first week in November - which meant it was very hot and very humid from 9am to 10pm. I would estimate it was 95 degrees and around 95% humidity. A generous sized hat was mandatory for me as was sunscreen. I was told the weather cools off dramatically in mid to late November.

Room Tip: top floor facing west
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews