We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$179
Hotels.comUS$179
Westin.comUS$179
TravelocityUS$179
eDreamsUS$179
CheapTicketsUS$179
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,270)
Filter reviews
2,270 results
Traveller rating
993
777
291
122
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
993
777
291
122
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal beach club heavenly bed marina area breakfast buffet the club lounge swim up bar close to the airport time share main restaurant tennis courts convenience store beautiful property jacuzzi on the balcony ocean view tacos spring break pool side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,792 - 1,797 of 2,270 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2005

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful one-year anniversary stay at the Westin. I love TripAdvisor, and I thought I'd post a review that I hope will prove helpful to fellow travelers. I've included information specific to the hotel as well as some insights into the marina area and, also, a bit about PV in general.

The Hotel: Beautiful, open-air lobby, vivid colors, lovely artwork.

The Rooms: Again, beautiful. They are large and decorated with bright colors, furnished with a table and chairs as well as a lounge chair and another small cocktail table. The beds are extremely comfortable. The air-conditioning is perfect for returning to the room after the HOT PV days, and the ceiling fans add to the ambience. We stayed on the sixth floor, just above the palm trees with a view of downtown PV, the ocean and the pool. The table and chairs on the balcony are perfect for watching the sunset as well as the fireworks, which are let off over the water from the deck of one of the pirate ship boats nightly. If you’re the kind of person who likes long showers or baths, you’ll love the bathroom. Large marble shower, separate bathtub, marble countertops, lots and lots of towels.

The Pools: Gorgeous. There are kids, but you can find a quiet area if you don’t want to be near them. Palm trees are everywhere. We went to the pool in the AM, and then went out and enjoyed the day and came back around six or seven to swim and relax before dinner.

The Hotel Food/Drinks: The prices are not bad, particularly if you’re from a big city. The hotel bar is beautiful, perched above the pool area, and with nightly happy hour from 6pm-7pm. Two for one drinks on everything. We ate at El Palmar one night, but you can also eat a terrific meal in the marina or downtown for less money (see comments below). The food at the pool is fine, and it’s fun to get a tropical drink at least once.

Hotel Advice: Don’t loose a room key or a towel. They will charge you. This didn’t happen to us, but we read it in the fine print. If you want to be on a floor with ice, get a room on the odd numbers. We had to go up a flight. It didn’t bother us, but just in case…Also, regarding Nikki Beach—We heard music Saturday night, but it wasn’t bad. You might request a room away from Nikki, though, if you’re worried.

Nearby Restaurants:
Across from the hotel—Tacos and Beer…good, cheap, exactly what you’d think from the name.

The Marina—Ask at the front desk how to get there. It’s just a few blocks (a path cuts through just past the Tacos and Beer restaurant) and really worth the trip, particularly if you’re not going all inclusive (which you shouldn’t because PV has terrific restaurants, very inexpensive to expensive, and you’ll meet wonderful people eating out). Nearly all the restaurants in the marina have outdoor seating. We ate Mexican food most of the time, but if you want a change, there are a lot of other options. We ate at two Italian restaurants there, at Victors (great for drinks), at the Chinese restaurant, and at the Pancake House (a big menu, everything we tried was delicious), which is at the far end of the marina from the hotel. Keep walking and you’ll get there. There is also a coffee shop if you just want a light breakfast and coffee. In the marina, you should also go to the top of the Lighthouse and get a drink at sunset. A beautiful view in every direction.

General PV Info: This was our first trip, and we didn’t want to come home. We took the bus into town (forty cents/four pesos) as well as cabs (four to six dollars). There are wonderful beachfront bars on the south side of the Rio Cuale. Pick any and sit outside. Three Coronas for 35 pesos is a bargain. Watch the sun set over the ocean, the fishermen, the kids, the families…it’s really fun. Free local magazines and city guides will also give you endless choices for dining out in town. If you want to shop, there are all kinds of stores, art galleries, and a cute street of boutiques downtown is Badillo-- walk from Insurgentes down Badillo to the ocean (which will lead you to many of the above mentioned cute beachfront bars and restaurants.) And, finally, you’ll be asked (in addition to timeshares, which we didn’t do) if you want to do any excursions. We booked a Sierra Madre tour through our FunJet representative, and it was amazing, so much fun. If you can handle a bumpy ride, I can’t recommend this tour enough. We heard the other tours were good too, so perhaps you can’t go wrong.

Hope this helps. Happy travels!

Date of stay: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank CCJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2005

We were here over the July 4th week, and we loved this property. The room was nice and clean, the service was awesome, and the pools were great. We didn't like all the time share sales people around town, but they mostly left us alone at the resort. JUst tell them you are leaving tomorrow, and they leave you alone. Unless you are too tired to go out, I wouldn't plan on eating at the resort. Its pretty overpriced, and not the best food. We enjoyed PiPi's for Mexican food, and loved La Dolce Vita, for italian. Both are located down town with great food and service, at reasonable prices. We walked down to the MArriot one night, and were glad to be staying at the Westin. We did eat at the Japanese steakhouse (Makaido) and enjoyed it. We did the Dolphin Swim and Canopy Tour, and thoroughly enjoyed both of them. I would highly recommend, as they are both once in a lifetime adventures.

Date of stay: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2005

(in outline form to save you time)

* We are: Mom, Dad, 11-yr old daughter and 14-yr old son
* Stayed on 11th floor in adjoining rooms with balconies - perfecto!!
* Booked through Classic Vacations...they were exceptional.
* No noise problems (Sunday-Friday checkout) except the occasional room-service table being rolled down the cobbled hallway. Sheeesh!
* LOVED the activity pool. Catch Adriana's water aerobics class - she's a kick! Also offered: volleyball, "name that tune", bingo. It's so fun, and the swim up bar is right there - drinks, snacks, full meals!
* Lobby bar with billiards was a great diversion for the sullen teen who felt swimming was "boring". Big screen TV, snacks and drinks signed to the room. Nice breeze, very pleasant spot to hang.
* Staff - VERY nice, VERY accomodating.
* Spa - eh. The only less-than-glorious experience, but still not bad.
* Gym - hubby liked it. Very air-conditioned, and nicely laid out.
* Nikki's - WOW. Dinner on tables or big white beds, impressive food artistically arranged. The lobster sushi roll...yummmm, and a beautiful sunset around 8:30-9pm.
* Dune buggy excursion was rockin! The sullen teen smiled all the way through, and we have pictures to prove it!
* Maid service was wonderful. They left a towel swan sculpture on our bed! With little eye stickers! Daily laundry service can't be beat. Drop off by noon, your stuff is fresh and hung in your closet 'tween 2 and 4pm. TLC was obvious.
* My best tip: Unplug your room phone during sleep hours. The "welcome staff" aka time-share people call around 9am THEIR time to see "how your room is". Bummer after a long day of travel!! Unplug and they'll just leave notes under your door - no bother.
* One more....going to town is warm and humid by day with little relief. For kids or elderly, go at sundown. Everything's open, lots to enjoy, and no keeling over from the heat. My kids loved the live band at Hard Rock....started at 11pm and we couldn't drag them out until after midnight. It was great to see families enjoying live music together in a safe, friendly environment. Very memorable.

Go for it. Sink into the Mexican vibe. Dust off your high school espanol, and be a nice American.

Date of stay: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank OCDetailed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2005

We stayed at the Westin for our Honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay. We had a club level room that was spacious and offered a great view. Maid service was good, and really enjoyed the Club Level room that offers complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour for those on that floor. All was going well until we had two nights in a room of blasting music until 2 AM. Our room was literally rocking back and forth. We attempted to call down to the front desk numerous times, but no one answered (as everyone else was calling at the same time). Eventually, went down there at 12:00 and asked when it would stop, they said within 30 minutes, which was not true. Music went until 2AM for both of the nights. This would have been fine if we were 10 years younger and on Spring Break, not what one would expect at the Westin. We complained and actually were given 2 nights free for the inconvience. That was a plus and nice way to compensate us, however we did ask if that was a regular thing and were told no. The front desk person said it was a "special party", obviously from reading others reviews this happens almost every week. We would love to stay here again if we knew we would not be up until 2AM, however next time we will try the Marriott Resort down the street to compare.

Date of stay: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Passport10175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2005

Although Puerto Vallarta was not on my list of "must-see" destinations, we enjoyed our 10-day vacation in February in celebration of our 25th anniversary. The Westin was great - clean, comfortable, friendly staff. We travelled with another couple and, although we were a bit disappointed at the lack of a view in our ground floor rooms, we came to appreciate the large patio area where we could visit and have easy access to the pool area without having to stake out a deck chair in the a.m. We generally stayed near the pool during the day, but the beach area was almost deserted in the evenings - pleasant and relaxing. The most annoying noise we heard came from another establishment farther down the beach - glad we weren't staying there! Food was pricey, but there are many choices at the Marina, both in types of food and price. Also, there is a great little convenience store just across the street from the hotel where we got snack foods, water, beer, coffee, etc. If you plan your route, you only have to pass one set of timeshare guys on the way to the Marina and if you want info, go to the hotel concierge (next to the check-in desk), not to the information counter (i.e. timeshare salesmen) in the center of the lobby.

Date of stay: February 2005
7  Thank MarKen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews