We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hurb
US$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Booking.com
US$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Priceline
US$105
US$73
View deal
SAVE US$32
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Hotels.comUS$91
FindHotelUS$105
eDreamsUS$85
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,839)
Filter reviews
4,839 results
Traveller rating
2,546
879
565
423
426
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,546
879
565
423
426
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool entertainment staff water aerobics beach vendors soriana marina vallarta enrique malecon antonio waves velas volleyball
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 4,839 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

Highly recommend.

My partner and I went right after Christmas for New Years. The resort was quite busy, but it’s mostly Mexicans from other places around the country. They really appreciate North American tourism, so you’re treated like royalty.

We had a great week full of sun, sand and much needed relaxation.

So close to the airport!

Everything is clean and sanitized and the staff are always wearing masks. You have to wear a mask in common spaces - walking from place to place - but not while at at the beach, pool or seated eating.

Talk to Alex in the lobby about excursions. He was honest and helped up book 3 days trips, and we had a blast.

Food was just ok. No bacon for breakfast. And the dinners lean towards more local Mexican cuisine, but the snack bar has amazing burgers.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lizastinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Gamerdinger, Otro at Hotel Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Dear Guest
we thank you for having chosen Krystal Puerto Vallarta to spend your vacation, I also appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments. We appreciate your positives comments, all of them are very important for us.
We were sure that the Krystal hotel is one of the beautiful places that México can bring to our visitors our Mexican classic style is something that makes us special and different.
One of the best satisfaction in the hospitality industry is to learn from guests we made you feel special and achieve your expectations; our unique goal is to create great stories that will remain in your mind forever.

All of us here at Krystal Puerto Vallarta look forward to pampering you again in the warm and sunny shores of Puerto Vallarta.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

The food was really bad, it seems like the best years were a long time ago and is barely surviving, not well kept, even the furniture was older and cheap quality. The staff only tried to help but did not make much effort. They would not accept cash, neither exchange money. We only ate there once and once was more than enough. Bedding hasn't been change in years.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Rafael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Gamerdinger, Otro at Hotel Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

We thank you for having chosen Krystal Puerto Vallarta to spend your vacation, we would like to thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to know that your visit here was not as enjoyable and that we did not meet your expectations.
Please be assured that we are taking action so this will not happen again. Our goal is to have all of our guests leave here completely satisfied.
I thank you for taking the time to share this information and hope to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

Where should I started, when we got there no one received us. We unload our luggage from our Uber and went to the reception. After waiting for several minutes (3 agents behind the desk all looking at their computer) one of them acknowledge us and waive us down.

He assigned us a room and offer us to have dinner at the restaurant. We got to the room and found it in not the best condition. Furniture is old and stained smells funny. Bed is one of the worst beds I have slept in. Tv has a bad connection not able to watch anything. Safety box is locked and not bolted down. There is dirt on walls just not well kept.

Our first night at the restaurant was very disappointed food is the worst I have had in a long time.

Over all this is just not worth it.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank migueladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Gamerdinger, Otro at Hotel Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your experience of your last visit to our hotel, for us it is very important to know our areas of opportunity.
We will take your comments into consideration and they will be passed on to the departments' managers in order to improve our services and be better day by day.
We hope to have you back with us soon.
Regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

2 bedroom mini kitchen with nothing bring all your own stuff. Had to fight just to get a coffee pot and not one thing in this mini kitchen would not stay there again. On a positive side the market is close and has great cheap food ready for you.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank brucecapeloto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020

We did an RCI weeks exchange for a 2 BR, 2 bath unit with partial kitchen & max occupancy of six individuals, eight weeks out from our scheduled arrival on 30 October 2020. We needed to accommodate my wife and I, our 25 year old unmarried daughter and her boyfriend. Eight days before we left, we received an email from RCI saying that the resort contacted them and the Krystal was not placing anyone in any units with a kitchen counter and they are limiting all units to a maximum of two occupants. We were therefore getting three separate hotel type rooms with no kitchen instead of the 2 BR unit we had a reservation for. We were FURIOUS!

After some calls to both RCI (they said there was nothing they could do and the resort could do what-ever they wanted) and the Krystal, we leaned that it was this particular resort’s decision as a Covid mitigation effort. We investigated possibly switching resorts that did not have such a policy but, decided to suck it up and stay with the Krystal. We are glad we did!

The Krystal is one of the oldest hotels in Vallarta, but they work hard at making it look great. The tower we stayed in was fairly new and beautiful. All the grounds are impeccably kept. Didn’t see many Americans there. Lots of Mexican families having fun together. Great place for family. Movies outside several nights a week.

Two of our three adjacent hotel rooms, all located on the third floor of the tower, had a single King bed and the other had two double beds. Each was nice, with a bathroom, a closet, two tables, three chairs, a small counter / cabinet with separate sink, mini-frig and small microwave in addition to a TV, ceiling fan and small balcony with two chairs. The photo is the view from our balcony. The room as well as the entire resort was impeccably clean and beautiful! In retrospect the three separate rooms worked out well because we each had our own bathroom and separate space when we were not together outside of the rooms.

Free WiFi was available all around the resort but, response was at times a bit slow uploading / downloading files and sharing photos on social media. Additionally, if you were inactive for five minutes on any one connected device, it automatically disconnected you and you then had to reconnect the next time you wished to use it – was annoying! Beach towel service is provided complementary for registered guests so you do not have to pack them. If you have a vehicle – we had a rental for half the week - it costs 50 pesos / day to park it in the lot. The lot is cobblestone and gravel with angled parking. It sometimes fills up and is difficult to both find a space and then get turned around to get back out.

One of the great things about the Krystal is its location. You are close to everything including the Marina and the airport. There is a city bus stop out front and the beach was only ~120 meter walk across the property from our hotel. Local eateries and shops are only a short walk away. We frequented an OutBack Steak House, for dinner, that was across the street next to the Hyundai / Ford car dealerships. The resort required us to wear our masks everywhere except the beach and pool. The Mexican state of Jalisco where the Krystal is located pushed the Covid Emergency Button the day we arrived. Even in Vallarta, all non-essential business to include restaurants, etc. shut down at 8 pm every evening and all swimmers and boats were required to clear the ocean water at 3 pm. Dumb but, the local government makes those rules that the Krystal is obligated to follow. Good news is that because of the pandemic and the Krystal’s policy, there was not as many guests (people) around and getting lounge chairs and an umbrella on the beach was not a problem.

Food in the main dining area was buffet style and decent, not outstanding. We ate there every morning for breakfast but, only a couple nights for dinner. It’s buffet style with covered selections on the other side of a glass partition. You were required to wear you mask when in line at the buffet but, of course could remove them when seated at your table. There was a reasonable selection to include made to order omelets at breakfast. It is, however, difficult to see what you’re requesting before the server puts it on a plate and hands it to you. Each evening’s dinner buffet had a different theme, Mexican, Oriental, BBQ, etc. Lines were much longer at the buffet after 8:30 am than if you go to breakfast at 7:15 when you can pick your table’s location and have no waiting at the buffet line. Breakfast definitely out classed dinner and the main dining area was 100% better than the dinner buffet at the beach restaurant.

The best thing about the Krystal is its friendly and helpful staff. At check-in we were encouraged to give up an hour of our time in addition to enjoying a free breakfast in exchange for a guided tour of the property. After making it clear we were NOT doing it, they left us alone the rest of the week. They were otherwise attentive and very friendly but, not a bother. The main dining hall servers of Gladis, Hugo, Noe, Juan and Cap. Enrique were excellent, learning our names, room number and beverage preferences after the second morning. They are all very attentive and hard working. In addition to the usual generous gratuity placed on each meal’s tab, I placed 20 pesos in the omelet chef’s tip jar. In addition, Georgina at RCI check in, was the BEST!

We would return to the Krystal when the Pandemic is over and would recommend it to any family for a nice Vallarta stay!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews